We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, incredible breakfast, spotless rooms that far surpassed anything we could have expected. The pictures do not do this place justice. Darrin and Eileen were amazingly gracious hosts. They were incredible helping us arrange tours and transportation. The farm is beautiful and they are great people who helped make our trip absolutely amazing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
122
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Via Verde for 2 nights and loved every moment. Eileen and Darren are so welcoming, and they truly go out of their way to make your experience on Ometepe as special as possible. From arranging a morning hike up Maderas to a sunset kayak through the wetlands and our transportation to and from the docks, they made our stay incredibly easy. Eileen's breakfasts were absolutely DELICIOUS! It's all true; La Via Verde is THE place to stay on Ometepe! Believe the reviews!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place was the highlight of our trip to Nicaragua. Making the reservations was simple and Eileen was incredibly helpful giving us tips before we even got there. Once we checked in, she gave us a tour and we went to bed. When we woke up and saw the view, we were in nirvana. The view of the volcano was stunning and the breakfasts each morning were incredible!!! It's easy to order more than you can eat. Eileen gave us tips each day on what to do and where to go. She and Darren were the impeccable hosts. We didn't want to leave on the final day and, if we hadn't given a deposit for the next hotel, I don't think we would've left. I'm already counting down the days until I head back to this paradise retreat. If you're on the fence about Ometepe, go!!! If you can't narrow down where to stay, stay at La Via Verde!! It's worth every penny and the ferry trip to Ometepe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoregirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very nice bed and breakfast in a good location to rent a bike and explore this part of the island. The hostess Eileen will go out of her way to help with everything. Nice rooms, splendid view of the volcano from the terrace. Good breakfast. Highly recommended. 

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nihilnisibene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent seven nights in this first class accommodation! We could reiterate all the wonderful comments made by others - but let us just say that everything you have read is 100% true. If you want a truly unforgettable experience - this is it!!! They continue to earn their high TripAdvisor rating - so book early and don't miss out!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend and loved it. The property is lovely, quiet and so clean. The view from the rooms is absolutely breathtaking. The lodge is located about fifteen minute walk from playa santo Domingo and bellgue the little town nearby. It's pretty easy to get around on the island and the owners will set up anything you want as far as activities. Eileen is thoughtful, attentive and passionate about their business. The breakfast is by far the best food I ate in Nicaragua- everything organic, local, homemade and amazing. Would rec this place to anyone traveling to ometepe!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Butlerk776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent 4 nights here in late January. Eileen was very helpful in responding to emails ahead of time and booking taxis and tours while I was there. She also ordered in dinner a couple of nights so if you feel like relaxing at the B & B you can eat any meal there. There is a fridge with beer for $1 and pop for $0.40 and free bottled water so very reasonable prices. The breakfast was amazing and included a choice of up to 3 items from a multiple item menu. I tried most of the items which included crepes, pancakes, omelets, toast, fresh home made yogurt from the farm, granola, and fresh fruit! The rooms are very clean and are screened with a hammock out on the balcony. There is a shared bathroom upstairs although I had it all to myself the first 3 nights. There is also another one downstairs if it is occupied. Eileen and Darrin also lent me a lantern for walking to restaurants at night time. Highly recommend the pizza place next door but go early to avoid the lineups! This would definitely be my first choice in Ometepe!

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally good. They also have a cabin if you want to be away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finca del Sol
Finca del Sol
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
3.8 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Property: La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing