We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't wish for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You couldn't wish for more!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were first hesitant to book this place because it seemed a bit off and we didn't want to be stuck in just one place. Luckily we took the risk and it was absolutely worth it.
The little guesthouse is situated in a lush garden of fruit trees about 50m away from the street. The house only accomodates two rooms with a shared bathroom on the top-floor, a common space with a table and a fantastic view of volcano conception on the other Island. The rooms are small but clean, beautifully furnished and have each a private veranda with hammocks.
Eileen, the owner, is very helpful and knowledgable and provided us with tips on tours and restaurants (several restaurants within 15-20min walking distance). The breakfast was the best we got on our trip in central america! you can definitely taste that eileen and darren run an organic farm - yummy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
122
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What an incredibly beautiful and peaceful place. My friend and I rented both rooms and fell in love with this special B & B. Via Verde was the perfect place to return to after our adventures for the day. It felt like we were in a treehouse with spectacular views of the volcano, surrounded by a canopy of trees. We were even delighted by a visit from howler monkeys on our first afternoon. Eileen and Darren, took special care to make sure we were well taken care of and arranged all the activities for us that we wanted to experience on the island. The breakfasts were amazing and fresh coffee awaited us every morning which we each enjoyed in our hammocks on our own private verandas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Eileen and Darren have created a spectacular, secluded paradise that everyone should experience at least once in their life! La Viva Verde is a small, two bedroom + casita guesthouse that offers beauty, comfort, and a delicious home-grown, breakfast. The rooms, although small, are so well appointed you will barely notice especially considering that there are so many wonderful outside spaces at your disposal. Each room has a large, private balcony and a shared balcony with a priceless view of Conception. The bathrooms are not en suite but are large and immaculately clean. Breakfast is served at a communal, outside table on the first floor and you have several options to choose from which will be prepared fresh upon your arrival.

What struck me the most about La Viva Verde was that Eileen and Darren have literally thought of everything - whether it be the arrangement of the rooms, or the bins to store your shoes, or the stocked "honesty fridge," you literally will find that they have put immense effort into making your stay completely stress free. Eileen is an invaluable tool and can and will arrange anything you request. She is truly amazing and has found her calling on Ometepe.

We loved every minute of our stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeone03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't believe it has taken me this long to write a review. I stayed here over Christmas, travelling solo. Eileen and Darrin were the most gracious hosts, making sure my stay was absolutely perfect. They organised some fantastic tours/activities including hiking and kayaking and loaned me a hat, bag and some sun screen and medical supplies. We had some lovely conversations with the other guests and the breakfast was incredible (possibly the best I have ever had). The farm is beautiful, I stayed in the little cabin in the woods which was decorated with fairy lights. Christmas Day, Eileen made myself and the other guests some tamales, ordered in some local food and made THE most amazing orange cake and banana bread ever. It was so good I even asked for the recipe. Urgh, I want to go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nacre11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

WOW - Eileen was an unbelievably amazing host for a two night trip for myself and my boyfriend! The room was beautiful and clean and the view from the deck is stunning. Each room had a private deck with two hammocks. The fridge was always stocked with beer, water and soda, and the bathrooms were spotless and comfortable. I can't emphasize enough how fantastic our stay was - Eileen arranged for full transportation from the Managua airport to the B&B, a guide to hike Maderas Volcano, a scooter rental, and had fantastic dinner recommendations (El Zapilote for pizza is a must). The breakfast was delicious - I'm dreaming about that granola with homemade yogurt!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at La Via Verde on our Honeymoon in July 2013 and had an absolutely amazing time! 


Darrin and Eileen were wonderful hosts. We stayed in the casita- which we highly recommend. It was very secluded and extremely romantic! We enjoyed all the space. When it rained (which happens daily during that time of year!), it was as if we were the only two people on earth. 


We loved ordering in dinner. The window by the dining table in the casita perfectly framed the other volcano. Eileen was so helpful with making our dinner order arrangements! There was even one night where we got stranded in our casita because of the torrential rain. Well, we could have gone out, but Eileen was able to find someone to deliver food to us so we stayed dry and were well fed too! The very small delivery fee was well worth the luxury of ordering in! There were plenty of wonderful restaurants within walking distance, especially Cafe Campestre, but sometimes it was even better to have that same food delivered! Oh, and the best part was that we didn't have to wash any of the dishes and containers--Via Verde took care of it!


Eileen also helped arrange our activities and transportation to and from Ometepe.   She even knew a local woman who would come to La Via Verde and give massages for $20 for the hour! After all the hiking and horseback riding this was absolutely the best.


Breakfast was fantastic every morning. The fridge in our casita always had cold beer, soda, and water. AND their water comes from a natural spring so you can drink it right out of the tap!


There is no air conditioning, but I did not miss having it. And I do not generally tolerate heat at night well. The breeze coming through the screens, as well as the fan, kept me very comfortable. If you're nervous about a lack of ac in a tropical country, don't be. If I was fine, you will be too!



I want to add that Martin, (cell- 8664 0085), the driver Eileen arranged, was great. My husband and I ended up hiring him to take us from Ometepe to San Juan del sur, and from San Juan del Sur back to Managua, with many stops for shopping on the way! He was very patient with my rusty Spanish. 

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JenEyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, incredible breakfast, spotless rooms that far surpassed anything we could have expected. The pictures do not do this place justice. Darrin and Eileen were amazingly gracious hosts. They were incredible helping us arrange tours and transportation. The farm is beautiful and they are great people who helped make our trip absolutely amazing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Property: La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing