We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIdden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Mystica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“HIdden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Finca Mystica is well located near the volcano & waterfall hikes. We walked off the property to each of these fun adventures. We also walked a little farther to the start of the Kayaking up the river. So we highly recommend this if you don't need to be in the tourist "strip". While it is a farther drive from the ferries, once you get there, you never had to leave.

The owners are US expats and are committed to sustainability. They are growing as much as they can on the property and their menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner was varied with plenty of choices (and snacks). It didn't look like any other place gave options. In fact, lots of people came to eat at Finca Mystica. The staff was accommodating and service oriented. They can help you with any and all arrangements (guides, transfers, etc.)

The common area has lots of hammocks and loungers to hang out and relax.

Note that this is an eco lodge, modest (but cute) with no hot water. You get use to no hot water after awhile especially when it is hot outside.

We loved it and really appreciated what the owners had created there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
152
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was there only for 1 night, but it was worth the trip there for sure! I will definitely recommend arranging a taxi to get there (Ryan will arrange it for you) for $30-40, depending on how many people are riding. I shared my rides with other people, so I paid total of $18 for the round trip. Although I was there for only 1 day, I still had enough time to kayak and hike to the waterfall! The dorm room was beautiful, and all the people who was staying there were extremely friendly. Food was great, and I really enjoyed the tranquility. In the early morning, you can hear the howler monkeys - I also saw them sleeping on the tree on my way out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkintrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

If your visiting Ometepe this is the place to be. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights on our Ometepe adventure. It was truly an amazing experience.

Ryan and Angela are the owners of this wonderful farm/cob cabin retreat. They are very caring and friendly people and will arrange anything you need. The cob cabins are absolutely beautiful, built by Ryan himself. The communal room is so affordable and nice and cool at night(something you don't always get in Nicaragua). The people you will meet here are all like-minded and friendly and really felt like a big family.

Ryan's and Angela's staff are so amazing! Always a big smile on their face, always happy to serve you. Can't say enough about them.
The food you will eat here is also amazing! All fresh ingredients either from their farm or from other local sources. The dinners are different every night and always delicious. The prices are very affordable as well for low budget travellers. You will basically be in heaven.
The activities are very affordable as well. We did pretty much everything. Maderas volcano, kayaking, san Ramon waterfall and more. It was all cheap and very fulfilling. Really cannot say enough about this place, it was soooo hard to leave.

Thank you Ryan and Angela!

From Brenden and Laurel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Finca Mystica is a truly unique place to stay, it is a delightful little oasis. The buildings are all so uniquely constructed, and you can tell an enormous amount of creative labor went into creating the place.

The food at Finca Mystica was some of the best food I've had in Nicaragua, it was all healthy, fresh and flavorful and used local ingredients in creative ways. The fruit juices were amazing, I highly recommend combining ginger and passionfruit or ginger and lime! The staff were all very friendly and considerate. Apart from Ryan and Angela, most of the staff speak only Spanish (which wasn't a problem for us, since we all spoke Spanish), but they are all so nice that a dose of good humor and a "por favor" or a "gracias" will get you a long way. It did seem like it would be a good idea to have a menu at the ordering window for non-Spanish speaking guests to point to.

We stayed in the larger dorm cabana, which was very clean and comfortable and well maintained. The lodge area was where we spent most of our time, which had plenty of hammock space for lounging and reading, as well as a great selection of board games and novels.

I highly recommend the waterfall hike, which was gorgeous.

One of our group did see a scorpion in the shower, so shower shoes are probably a good idea. This is obviously not the hotel's fault at all, just a recommendation when using the common showers.

The view from the lodge is gorgeous and the whole experience was just lovely and relaxing and perfect. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettsterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 3 nights in Finca Mystica and I have only to praise Angela and Ryan. They created really a quiet paradise away from the noise of the village. The Finca Mystica is a little bit far from the port, but if you are looking for peaceful and calm place, it is exacly the good choice! The cabins are situated in beautiful garden with lake view and it was clean, enough spacious and with large bathroom. The nature is just around you! The howler monkeys passed every day over the trees in the garden!
The restaurant is very good, the local staff is extremely friendly and prepares delicious meals during all the day! Try some of their refreshing juices or smoothies too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We loved our stay here. Ryan and Angela have created a delightful little world. The food is great. The cabanas are clean. They take the time to answer your questions and help you make arrangements for transportation to and from their mystical world as well as for any activities like kayaking that you want to do while there. They arranged a taxi direct from San Jorge to the airport in Managua for $60 which allowed us to be able to stay one more day. Delightful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Finca Mystica is an incredible place. Your hosts, Ryan and Angela, are friendly, warm and attentive. From the moment you arrive, you know that you are at a very special place. The grounds and location are picturesque. The cabanas are clean, spacious and very comfortable. If you want to experience a slice of paradise then look no further. The food is amazingly delicious. The location is good for starting any number of adventures from hiking, horseback riding, kayaking, or swimming at a small nearby beach. Whatever you want to do, your hosts will help you make it happen. Finca Mystica has a very warm and tranquil vibe. It is the type of place where people come as strangers and leave as friends. Whether you are looking for adventure, or you just want to relax in a serene environment, this is it. It is the perfect place to get away on Ometepe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CtheWorld779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
1.1 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 36 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 4 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 3 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
12.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 11 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Property: Finca Mystica
Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing