We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could score this place higher” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Mystica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish I could score this place higher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here at the hottest time of year (April) and the place is situated up on a hillside (which is a lovely remote location) but.. it also meant that it was stifling hot as there was no breeze at all. We spent a fairly unbearable day of not doing much except lying in hammocks, but it was so hot that even that wasn't very pleasant, and then we realised that just down the road where there was a breeze, was so much more pleasant, so we spent much of the rest of the time keeping away from Finca Mystica to keep cool - which was fairly difficult as it was so remote. It is around an hour and 20 mins drive from the port, and much of that is on a very rocky road. We hired bikes one day but after two hours of attempting to cycle and having to get off and walk every two minutes, we gave up, having not got very far. The rooms are nice (double beds a little small compared to what we had been used to) and the views lovely. The food is delicious, and lovely to be eating food grown on the site.
For us, we wanted to come to the island and be able to explore the life of locals a bit and as we were being driven back to the boat, we were gutted not to have stayed a bit closer to things where we could easily have cycled around and explored a bit. Having said that, this place is lovely and is great if what you want to do is get away from it all and climb the volcano. It is important to know just how remote it is though and had we known that we would have chosen to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_A72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
152
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Finca Mystica has been my favourite place to stay in 6 months of travelling around central America. Beautiful private cob houses, 100% clean, with very comfortable beds, brand new pillows, and very good quality bedding (a luxury for us backpackers!) The beds (and windows) also have mosquito nets, although the rooms are so well sealed it's unlikely you'd get bugs inside anyway, plus I haven't seen a single mosquito here anyway.

The hotel is on a huge piece of land, full of exotic flowers, plants, birds, lizards, geckos, cane toads, and other animals such as horses occasionally roaming. The howler monkeys with their babies in the trees by the main dining/hang out area were a particular joy to see, and you can walk the trails in the forest around the site. This is a nature lovers dream hideaway!

There are different (delicious) menu options for each evening, where everyone who opts in can sit together for dinner, and you can also choose from the breakfast/lunch/drinks menu throughout the day. In the dining area there is a small library of books, board games, and hammocks to chill out in.

Just down the dirt track you can swim in the lake, and a bit further on there is a waterfall to hike to, along with guided volcano hikes.

Last but not least, the staff are incredibly friendly and will do all they can to ensure you have a happy and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were 5 adults (family and friends), some of us in a cabin, some in the dorm. We all loved Finca Mystica -- the peaceful setting, the welcoming hosts (you, too, Jasmine), the fabulous food. We were comfortable and at ease right away. There are magnificent views from the cabins and from the dining area, and we spent time there playing cards, reading, relaxing in the hammocks. Other activities: listening to the howlers, walking to the beach, watching hummingbirds during the day and a lunar eclipse at night. We also did the waterfall hike. And, again, the food, the bread! What a pleasure to indicate "lemongrass pasta" as a choice for dinner, and then see one of the staff walk out to clip the lemongrass. It's clear that Angela and Ryan have worked hard to create a beautiful retreat for an everchanging community of travelers. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My friend and I stayed here in March for several days. The road there is bumpy and it's somewhat remote but if you're looking for peace and tranquility and someplace off the beaten track,look no further. Angie and Ryan are such friendly and hospitable hosts and they have created a lovely retreat. The cob cabins are charming and the food is delicious, all home made. Prepare to hike ten minutes to the beach or a few hours to the waterfall...both well worth the effort. Relaxing in hammocks seemed to be the best way to beat the heat! :)))

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you are looking for a pleasant, friendly and calm place to hang out for a while, this is a great spot. Ryan and Angela and their new baby daughter are as welcoming as can be. The food is very good and high quality but it is expensive relative to street food and markets and will likely cost you as much as the room if there are two of you. The rooms are clean, although there is only maid service if you ask for it. The are spacious and uniquely made and creative with great hammocks on your private porches. There is a local groups of howler monkeys that you will likely see. We also very much loved the area as it is not developed and so it was easier to meet local people. This place is a real treat for sure.

Room Tip: The cabins are in a row so the cabin on the south side is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Went there with 4 friends for a week. We had a blast!!! Ryan, Angie and the cutie pie Jasmine were so good to us. Great food (everything is local), clean, and we even have our "own beach". Sleeping in a hammock and swimming was my fav activity. All the locals were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arleanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a fabulous place this is and lovely people (plus baby Jasmin) running it. It's got a communal sleeping area and some private cabins, brilliant chefs and interesting guests.
Great for a long trek to the top of the volcanoes or to the waterfall but it was too much like hard work for me. I planned on staying a week but left after a day.

Room Tip: Communal is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiler_Grogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 36 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 4 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 3 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Property: Finca Mystica
Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing