We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spoils of an Adventurous Spirit!”
Review of Finca Mystica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Southeastern U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“The Spoils of an Adventurous Spirit!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

OK… If you have decided that Ometepe is a place you want to visit and that Finca Mystica might be a unique experience, I will assume that you have an adventurous spirit. If this is the case, you will not be disappointed. Yes, it is a long and adventurous journey to reach Finca Mystica. In some places, the road might be more easily walked than traversed by automobile. It is ROUGH! Take some video of the ride to enjoy later! The website and online reviews give you a good idea of the rustic elements that you will be able to enjoy. On the ferry ride to the island we met some people with a four-wheel drive who were going to that remote end of Ometepe, so we caught a ride. For the return trip, the folks at Finca Mystica arranged for a van to pick up several of us, which saved on cost. Our first evening, we bought a few large beers from Finca Mystica and then hiked down to the local beach and swam in the lake. The monkeys and wildlife were part of the experience. For our stay, we decided to drink beer in the water at sunset every day. The food was really good, as was the service. Our room and beds were comfortable and the mosquito netting worked very well. I was very pleased to see that the folks at Finca Mystica are well invested in their community. The locals who work there take great pride in their work, their community, and they very much enjoy the visitors to Finca Mystica. We did the waterfall hike one day and recommend this, highly. Keep in mind, you should be reasonably fit and take water and food. Another day, we went into the little town and rented kayaks to tour the river. We had a local guide go with us, but he was very flexible in allowing us to venture out on our own a bit. We definitely saw some Caiman up VERY close! When we got back, we had a few beers on the beach and then walked back through town around dark. We found a small little restaurant and let them suggest our dinner. It was a great experience. Make sure you bring flashlights! The folks at Finca Mystica will make certain that your adventurous spirit is well-rewarded!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirldWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
155
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at Mystica because of a review by friends that we trust - and we were definitely not disappointed. Ryan and Angela are great hosts. The staff is friendly, the property is very beautiful. While checking in we saw howler monkeys in the trees. One can see the Lake and the Volcan Maderas from the property.
Our cabin was excellent. They have private cabins and a dorm. One of the 2 beds in our cabin had mosquito netting! This is a great feature in the tropics. The comida and cerveza is reasonably priced - especially for a remote place like Mystica.
We found a beach nearby and went swimming in Lake Nicaragua. We took a walk into the small pueblo of Merida and met some of the friendly locals. There are some restaurants in Merida also.
A hint for future guests: Get the staff to arrange a cab for you. They have someone that will take you to/from Moyogalpa for $30. Considering the condition of the roads and the length of the trip, this is pretty good. There is also a chance that you could share with other guests which would save even more money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a charming place with great owners that draws very friendly guests. We stayed in a very cute cabin and were happy with the customer service and the food. They were very helpful arranging excursions and had a taxi on call. I know this is Nicaragua, and it happens a lot, but the power went out one day and didn't come back until that evening so I'm assuming they don't have a backup generator. If you want to see the main sights on Ometepe, you need to rent a motorcycle because you don't want to be waiting around for public transportation. We would have stayed somewhere closer to the sights if we had realized how far it really is and then gone for a night to Finca Mystica.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmoraca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Finca Mystica is the Paradise. It is in the middle of this magical small island called Ometepe which is a must if you travel to Nicaragua. They offer a lot of activities to do in the nature. I have never seen as many different beautiful birds than in the kayak trip we did. The environment is very pretty and relaxing.
The colorful and creative cabins are always very clean, all of them has a small terrace with hammocks.
I travelled with my boyfriend and our favourite part was the meal! They have many offers of fresh, locally grown, delicious and concious food for really good price! We tried everything from the menu and simply could never get bored of them!
The owners Ryan and Angie are the nicest people you can imagine, they are super helpful, flexible, they always smile and it is so easy to love them immediatelly.
If you want a perfect holiday in the nature, relaxing, eating well, doing excursions, visiting waterfalls and volcanos, this is the right place for you to choose!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZsofiaZsofiaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here at the hottest time of year (April) and the place is situated up on a hillside (which is a lovely remote location) but.. it also meant that it was stifling hot as there was no breeze at all. We spent a fairly unbearable day of not doing much except lying in hammocks, but it was so hot that even that wasn't very pleasant, and then we realised that just down the road where there was a breeze, was so much more pleasant, so we spent much of the rest of the time keeping away from Finca Mystica to keep cool - which was fairly difficult as it was so remote. It is around an hour and 20 mins drive from the port, and much of that is on a very rocky road. We hired bikes one day but after two hours of attempting to cycle and having to get off and walk every two minutes, we gave up, having not got very far. The rooms are nice (double beds a little small compared to what we had been used to) and the views lovely. The food is delicious, and lovely to be eating food grown on the site.
For us, we wanted to come to the island and be able to explore the life of locals a bit and as we were being driven back to the boat, we were gutted not to have stayed a bit closer to things where we could easily have cycled around and explored a bit. Having said that, this place is lovely and is great if what you want to do is get away from it all and climb the volcano. It is important to know just how remote it is though and had we known that we would have chosen to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_A72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Finca Mystica has been my favourite place to stay in 6 months of travelling around central America. Beautiful private cob houses, 100% clean, with very comfortable beds, brand new pillows, and very good quality bedding (a luxury for us backpackers!) The beds (and windows) also have mosquito nets, although the rooms are so well sealed it's unlikely you'd get bugs inside anyway, plus I haven't seen a single mosquito here anyway.

The hotel is on a huge piece of land, full of exotic flowers, plants, birds, lizards, geckos, cane toads, and other animals such as horses occasionally roaming. The howler monkeys with their babies in the trees by the main dining/hang out area were a particular joy to see, and you can walk the trails in the forest around the site. This is a nature lovers dream hideaway!

There are different (delicious) menu options for each evening, where everyone who opts in can sit together for dinner, and you can also choose from the breakfast/lunch/drinks menu throughout the day. In the dining area there is a small library of books, board games, and hammocks to chill out in.

Just down the dirt track you can swim in the lake, and a bit further on there is a waterfall to hike to, along with guided volcano hikes.

Last but not least, the staff are incredibly friendly and will do all they can to ensure you have a happy and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were 5 adults (family and friends), some of us in a cabin, some in the dorm. We all loved Finca Mystica -- the peaceful setting, the welcoming hosts (you, too, Jasmine), the fabulous food. We were comfortable and at ease right away. There are magnificent views from the cabins and from the dining area, and we spent time there playing cards, reading, relaxing in the hammocks. Other activities: listening to the howlers, walking to the beach, watching hummingbirds during the day and a lunar eclipse at night. We also did the waterfall hike. And, again, the food, the bread! What a pleasure to indicate "lemongrass pasta" as a choice for dinner, and then see one of the staff walk out to clip the lemongrass. It's clear that Angela and Ryan have worked hard to create a beautiful retreat for an everchanging community of travelers. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
402 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
6.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
346 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 4 in Merida
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Property: Finca Mystica
Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing