We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serendipity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Caballito's Mar
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fernando and his team created a small piece of paradise...the scenery is amazing...friendly and affordable service....and the most interesting characters you ll ever come across in central america....thank you my friends (yeah you too Sylvain :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manumanuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Amazing place, with amazing and very kind people. Very cool atmosphere and very relaxing.
The food is amazing and the kayak tours.

Directly on the lake, wonderful sunsets, amazing view on the volcano.

I recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

Prices per night are between 6 and 30 $.

Kayak tours are around 20 $.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Caballitos was a rustic yet comfortable place that really fit in with its surroundings, and one of the great things about Ometepe is how authentic and undeveloped it seems. In the morning the neighbors would be doing their laundry by hand in the lake and ther were chickens, horses and pigs just hanging out around the grounds. Didn't feel like a tourist in a hotel, but more like the experience of a home-stay.

The four-person dorm was simple, but very comfortable mattresses and the bathroom was clean. Fan and screened windows allowed enough breeze to sleep through the heat. Very good sleep quality for $5/night/person. The service in the restaurant was slow, but the food was good and cheap. It was a quiet and relaxing stay... we didn't have much interaction with other guests, of which there were only a few, as Cabillitos is a small hostel.

Also we really enjoyed the kayak tour to the rio. We saw monkeys and many birds, and really enjoyed the 3 hours paddling in the sun (but wear lots of sunscreen!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiscDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Had a 4 beds dorm only for me for 5$ !!! Shared bathroom with one other 4 beds dorm where only 2 persons where staying. The room is really basic but the sheets are clean. Fan and breeze from the lake.

Great location 5 minutes from centre of the "town" ! Rent bicycle, really great and cheap kayak tour to rio istiam and isle congo. Suggest renting bike to go to san ramon waterfall... huge !

Service for food is super slow (like 1h to get your food). Had supper there before I woke up at 1 am sick ! Lasted 2 days ... didn't drank their water or juice. I had a chicken plate with beer... who knows where it came from !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zosianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I spent one night here as a result of getting temporarily stranded. I wish I would have found this place earlier during my three week stay on Ometepe. The room was just a room, but this establishment has a tranquil location right on the lake. The food is excellent, and I will always carry the memory of two beautiful girls bathing on the lake's shore as I sipped a grande Tona...I hope my girlfriend didn't notice me being distracted. This hotel offers for rental some of the better kayaks I've seen in Nicaragua. Peace, beauty, beer, good food, and kayaks...what's not to like?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patmcgroyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We popped in on this gem during the slow season - which meant that there weren't many other people there. The dorms and bathrooms are super clean, and the staff welcome and accommodating. This is a super tranquillo place to come and relax. The food is fantastic - priced for the backpackers' budget and a dream - I second the reviewer who mentioned the whole tilapia from the lake. Cooked to perfection!

There are kayaks on site for rent for a low price, and a short walk up the road will take you to other small restaurants and a place to rent horses for the day - also for a low price. Plan to spend a few days here unwinding, exploring the sites, and dropping into the lovely rhythm of the place. I highly recommend this hospedaje!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lybsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We got off the local bus in Merida and locals pointed us the path down to Caballitos Mar. It is situated right on the lake's edge on the calmer, less windy side of Ometepe. One of the owners, Erik, was there to greet us and sat down to chat with us about our travels.

We loved this place but a word of warning, it is very basic accommodation and bathroom/shower. This is not luxury accommodation but they are gradually building up and improving and it has a simple, rustic feel. On top of that it is great value for money.. I think we paid $10 for a double room. The food is also all typical Nicaraguan and fantastic.. especially the fresh whole fish from the lake.

We took their kayak tour of the Istiam river which was great fun and we spotted monkeys, turtles, lots of birds and a caymen. We also used their contacts to get a great local guide form the cooperative who took us to climb Volcan Maderas.

We were unlucky enough to get sick on our return from the volcano, most likely exhaustion and dehydration and Erick and his staff did everything to look after us from preparing us a special tea from local tree bark to settle our stomachs to cooking us a simple soup. This is a fantastic, friendly and overall local place that I strongly recommend... thanks very much Caballitos Mar!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddietaylor87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#3 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
252 reviews
0 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
395 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#3 of 3 in Balgue
105 reviews
0 mi away
Hospedaje La Penita
Hospedaje La Penita
#1 of 1 in Sarren
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Caballito's Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Caballito's Mar

Address: Del Instituto 100 metros Norte, | 350 metros al Lago, Barrio Santa Maria, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: £16 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hospedaje Caballito's Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing