We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Montania Sagrada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Marylena, Myrka and Hari have found a magical way to show Ometepe's beauty. The best views of both volcanoes, the respect for nature, the horses, parrots, dogs, cats, the garden - and their guests of course!
This was our second stay-and we'll be back. Each time we made a great trip on the horses under Hari's guidance. Both were great experiences. Go visit this beautiful place for relaxation, inspiration and friendship!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were going to stay elsewhere but because of the very good reviews decided to change plans. Our expectations were high but all of them were exceeded. We spent 4 nights on the Finca Montania Sagrada and after 5 months of travelling that was one of our highlights. The place is really nice, spacious and well maintained. The rooms are spotless and were cleaned every day. But what made it really special were our hosts, Marilena, Mirka, Hari and the 11 dogs, 10 horses, a few Cats and 3 Parrots which really made us feel like home right from the beginning. The rest of the staff was also really nice and the breakfast was amazing. As they grow a lot of fruit, vegetables and herbs on their finca, everything was fresh and tasted great. Also, after months of Asian and central American Food we really enjoyed the pasta every night. We also spent a couple of hours horse back riding with Hari, which was great, too. We were really sad that we had to leave and would have stayed longer for sure if we hadn’t had a plane to catch. Thanks Marilena, Mirka and Hari for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian_Backo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This place was a good value at 37 dollars per night.

One caveat this is NOT for upscale travelers. We knew what we were getting ourselves into but still felt we should review this against expectations.

There are three things they could do to improve the rating to very good immediately.

1- the bedding was not acceptable. There was no mattress cover and the sheets felt like they were decades old and came off the mattress all night.Not sure why there would be no mattress pad to protect the mattress and give the guests a bit more comfort. We have had better sleeping experiences decades ago in hostels.
2- add screens to the windows. The room was very warm and there were enough windows to take advantage of the breeze but with no screens it was not possible.
3-fix the 400 meter road to the guest rooms . We cannot stress enough travel to ANY hotel in Merida is a very rough ride. We have never experienced roads like this 16km stretch. It would be a tough off roading experince in the US. We had a flat in our new four wheel SUV. The last 400 meters to the house off the main road was not even passable.
Other reviews had mentioned this place had Internet and it did not. In fairness ,the hotel website made no such claim.
The folks that run the place mean well and they are very nice. They offer breakfast and a short walk away are nearbye hotels with meals and internet.
We are expecting and five months along so many of the activities in the immediate area were out of scope, horseback riding, seven hour volcano hike ect. This would be a pleasant place to relax and if they made these very simple changes, it would be a good place to stay.
For someone looking to chill and experience nature and if you do like working up a sweat sleeping this is a good spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComfortCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirkas_12, Proprietario at Finca Montania Sagrada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Our b&b is only 1 year old and of course our bedding cannot be older. We try to buy everything on the island to improve it's commerce but the choice is very scarce and the quality poor. We bought all our construction material in Ometepe and Merida in particular. We will go to Managua to get better bedding, towels etc. Thank you for pointing it out,
Regarding screens on the windows, we don't think they are necessary, here one goes to bed early and get's up early and morning light is very soothing, also it would prevent people to watch the outside nature.
Our guests are right regarding the state of the little road that takes you the finca. We have repaired it a couple of times (it is not our private road) and the heavy rains always washes away the work.
We are still trying to find a way that will not involve cement.
The road that comes to Merida is not paved and a little driving experience on these kind of roads is necessary.
We would like to point out that taxis in Ometepe are mostly mini-buses not SUV and everyday they come and go from merida, taxis will take you up to our finca and in front of our rancho.
We have had guests that had normal cars like Toyota yaris and they all made it to the finca.
Regarding internet, we offer our modem stick to our guest so they can check their mail etc. It is free of charge but the use cannot be all day. This guest in particular needed to work in the early morning hours. We do not offer this kind of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

You'll never know how much you missed if you don't book a room here. We planned on 2 nights and stayed for 5. There is plenty to do here and you can't ask for better hosts. It's a beautiful place, it is warm and friendly, and there are lots of wonderful pets to keep you company. We are also glad we asked Marilena to cook one of her wonderful Italian meals. It was fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 of the 3 and both were great rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Beautiful room, astounding views. Beautiful and kind hosts. Everything was as advertised and then some. Hari and Marilena and their staff and animals were all so fun to be around. We also really appreciated the way they arranged our transportation direct from the airport to San Jorge and from Moyogalpa to their place. I hope to return to Ometepe and would love to have a chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: Papacito room likely has the best view on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent four nights at the Finca earlier in the month and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The folks running the place are real characters and a lot of fun in the bargain. We had our best sleeps yet on our visit to Nicaragua on account of the ample ventilation afforded by the many windows and the adjustable ceiling fan. Our casita was nicely situated in a vibrant garden of fruit trees and decorative plants with views of the lake, darkly-vegetated Volcan Maderas and faraway Volcan Concepcion. The parrots were a hoot along with their bizarre cohort of odd dogs, both large and small. Definitely make a point of joining Hari for a horse ride whether new to it or not; it was a real treat.

The Finca Montania Sagrada is a little further from the main ferry terminal, but well worth a visit. Things seem to be a bit simpler and less pretentious on the Maderas side of the island. And if you don't mind straying from the beaten path, this place might well be for you.

Room Tip: Although the casita was nicely set apart from the other buildings, we were intrigued by the look of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at Finca Montana Sagrada for two brief days and were very sorry to leave. This Finca is paradise! The people, vegetation, breathtaking views, horseback riding (my first time on horseback ever)lovely casita with hot water shower, and... the parrots!!! I fell in love with them, especially Olgher.
Real tranquility is difficult to find; fortunately, we discovered it here. Muchas gracias Mirca, Marielena y Harry para una experiencia inolvidable.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JacquelineBenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
4.1 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#2 of 61 in Isla de Ometepe
247 reviews
4.7 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#2 of 7 in Balgue
19 reviews
6.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Montania Sagrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Montania Sagrada

Address: Merida, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: £39 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Montania Sagrada is on a open plain at the foot of volcan Madera at 200 mt above lake level. Coming here is not for everyone. The short road (400mts) to reach our gate is very stony and bumpy. Not all vehicles make it up. In the rainy seasons, May, June, September and October it becomes worst. Exploring the neighbourhood is best done walking. Accommodations are all new and confortable, all have ensuite bathroom with hot water, private balcony/porch with rocking chairs and hammock. All are fitted with ceiling fan and electric kettle with a selection of herbal teas and coffee. The finca has many resident animals, horses, dogs, cats and parrots. Kindness towards animals and nature is a must! If you love Nature,Animals and to relax, the Finca is the right place for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Montania Sagrada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing