We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Montania Sagrada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Montania Sagrada
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was a tad heartbroken after our weeklong stay at Finca Montania Sagrada came to an end. This was our first time on Ometepe island, and I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. Although a little way off the beaten path, Merida felt less touristy than other parts of the island. Marilena, Mrika, and Hari will be quick to make you feel at home, share stories of the island and give you space to explore (biking, hiking, swimming, kayaking, horse back riding, spending time with animals and nature, resting in a hammock, etc). The rooms are private, quiet and clean, and the beds are comfortable. Although the rooms are a bit hot, having a ceiling fan makes a big difference. The community space is a nice place to spend time in the evenings. And if you're an animal lover, you'll feel right at home with all the pets and horses. You really get the sense that the owners of Finca Montania Sagrada care about your well being and comfort. I would highly recommend this B&B and would have likely paid 5 to 7 more per night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmadd928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
58
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The whole experience was wonderful, to the people there, the animals, the location, the food and the housing. I really loved being away from the crowds, to get the lovely location and the slower pace. The people there are so warm and welcoming, they bend over backwards to help you and make you feel right at home. The animals and landscaping makes everything so peaceful. We could have stayed for months. There are restaurants all around, I recommend Yessica's around the corner, or Margarites. We went on Hari's horse adventure, he took us to a special place to see the petroglyphes. Check out a write up about Hari's horses, the best treated horses on the island, it makes a difference.

The memories are something that will always be cherished and I so happy that I had the opportunity to visit, a real highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windham, me
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Mamacita room during our visit to Merida. Harri, one of the owners, was very friendly and helpful with arranging tours and dinners. We ate one night and one morning in at the Finca, the pasta dinner was AMAZING (1/2 pesto 1/2 marinara with fresh bruchetta) and breakfast was great too with lots of fresh fruit and real coffee! The room was beautiful, the only down fall was early morning window attacks from local birds which kept us up in the morning hours. We opened the windows and they stopped. We didn't ride horses because we had an infant, but Hari's horses were healthy, happy, and I would highly recommend riding with him.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

From the beautiful grounds, the horses, the dogs, parrots and attentive staff, you really are missing out if you stay anywhere else! Harris and his staff took wonderful care of us. He set us up with a guide to hike the volcano and horses to ride as well. The rooms were incredibly clean and comfortable to sleep in. The balconies have hammocks to swing in as you watch the sun dip down while enjoying a nice glass of Flor de Cana rum. It was a highlight of Nicaragua to stay in such a serene and beautiful setting. I wish we could have stayed longer than 3 days!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Finca Montania Sagrada with our two children, 11 and 8. We rented the mamacita and papacita lodging--the kids were upstairs in twin beds, and we were downstairs. Stairs to the top room are outdoors (albeit well-lighted,) so if your children are smaller and likely to need anything in the night, this might be a consideration. The view from the upstairs balcony is very nice. We left all windows wide open at night and generally got a good breeze. This place was warm of course but seemed several degrees cooler than San Juan del Sur, and with the breeze, we all slept well. They have mosquito nets for the beds (the downstairs one is maybe more decorative than functional, and we felt it obstructed the breeze anyway, so decided not to use it,) but we were for the most part not troubled by insects because of the breezes and occasional prophylaxis with repellent. Sleeping under the stars on the balcony in the hammock provided is also an option. The rooms are attractive and clean, quiet and secluded-feeling, and surrounded by tropical plants and flowers. They have free filtered water available from the kitchen whenever you want, and there is a kettle with teas and coffee in each room. Each bedroom had its own bathroom with hot water (though by that point in the trip, we mostly preferred cool showers.)

The breakfasts were wonderful: great bread, eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, fresh juice, delicious yogurt from the cow next door, really good coffee. We ate a pasta dinner there too one night, which was excellent. Our kids loved playing with the many chihuahuas, and the parrots made for some comedy.

The 3 hosts are very helpful and interesting people. We went on a wonderful horseback ride with Hari--he is knowledgeable about horses and invested in their well-being, and it was such a fun way to explore the area. The horses seemed calm and reliable. I had not ridden a horse in about 25 years, but quickly went from being a little nervous to thoroughly enjoying myself. The kids, who have done just a bit of riding in the past, absolutely loved it. Hari gave us a bit of instruction as needed, and it all worked out well. Seasoned horse riders will probably laugh at this, but I was impressed that we all actually got to do some trotting on the trail--it was not just plodding along nose-to- butt like with some trail rides.

This area of Ometepe is a great place to be, in my opinion, because it is (I've heard) less busy than the area around Moyogalpa but close (i.e. walking distance!) to so many interesting things to do: the horseback riding, kayaking on the Rio Istian (highly recommended,) and swimming in the lago. You can swim at the place that rents kayaks and has a small restaurant, or you can walk down the road to Hacienda Merida and swim there. (They also have fantastic milkshakes.) There are reportedly other good lake beaches just a bit further walking down the road. There are also a few restaurants within walking distance. The finca is right on a trail going up the volcano--my husband ran that one morning. We could easily have spent a few more days there.

Regarding transportation to/from: we took the (largest) ferry from San Jorge to San Jose del Sur and arrived in the evening. It was a pleasant trip even though the lake was windy. We were very glad to have arranged (through the finca) for a taxi to be waiting for us. Marielena had kindly thought to order a great dinner to be sent up from a local comedor on that first night. On the way back to San Jose to catch the ferry back to San Jorge, we stopped at El Ojo de Agua to cool off for a half hour or so.

Visiting Ometepe was a highlight of our trip to Nicaragua. We'd love to go back to this finca in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nm_mom_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Of all the places we stayed over 3 weeks in Nicaragua this place was one of the most special.
Nestled under the volcano, hidden away up a treacherously bumpy road, is a real gem. With only three cabanas set amongst gorgeous gardens it's a lovely escape from the backpacking crowds. But you won't be alone - there's the 12 horses, 3 parrots, 2 cats, plus the countless dogs including a suitcase full of gorgeous chihuahuas. You'll meet them all (minus the horses) in the communal kitchen/deck area
. Say hi to DeeDee the tiniest of all the dogs who I almost put in my handbag and Isabella the gregarious parrot who won't be left out.
The rooms are clean and beautifully crafted.
The dinners are simple homemade homegrown pasta dishes cooked in front of you and just delicious.
Hari arranges the best horse riding tours on the island and knows all there is about volcano hiking and kayak rentals.
Stay here you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent three wonderful days on Ometepe and stayed two nights with Hari, Merka and Marilena. These multilingual hosts made us feel right at home. The cabin was spotless, the breakfasts were excellent (fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, eggs and locally roasted coffee) and the location was very close to a number of must-see sights on the island such as the San Ramon waterfall and the Rio Istian where we took a kayak tour.

Our only regret was that we did not go on a horseback tour with Hari. We definitely plan to return. Muy tranquillo!

We did rent a dirt bike for our tour of Ometepe and thought that was the best way to explore the island although there are both buses and taxis available and there are a number of restaurants and sights within walking distance of the finca.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Ometepe
24.5 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 4 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 3 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 11 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Montania Sagrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Montania Sagrada

Property: Finca Montania Sagrada
Address: Merida, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Montania Sagrada is on a open plain at the foot of volcan Madera at 200 mt above lake level. Accommodations are all new and confortable, all have ensuite bathroom with hot water, private balcony/porch with rocking chairs and hammock. All are fitted with ceiling fan and electric kettle with a selection of herbal teas and coffee. The finca has many resident animals, horses, dogs, cats and parrots. Kindness towards animals and nature is a must! If you love Nature,Animals and to relax, the Finca is the right place for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Montania Sagrada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing