We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.”
Review of Hotel Ometepetl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ometepetl
Ranked #26 of 42 Isla de Ometepe B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great find.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

To be honest I dont know what everyones complaining about. This hotel was lovely. Compared to other places in nicaragua it was clean and good value. Other places on this island im sure arent any better. I feel as though a few of the reviews are a bit fake. Im happy to clear up a few things.
Really close to the ferry terminal. And on the main street. Surprisingly quiet at night. We paid 30 dollars a night for air con and had 2 fans clean bathroom (cool water but you need it in the heat) no bugs at all and a little tv. Wifi works. Hammocks outside and chairs to sit on.
No theres no handle on the door but there is a latch if u need it. People need to stop nit picking when on vacation to a remote island. Also the lights outside were left on until a reasonable time so people could get back to the hotel.
It wad perfect and the people were lovely . I hope that this review will allow more people to come and stay ! We stayed in room 4 and there were absolutely no issues. Paid for 1 night and ended up staying 3 ! Thank you

From canada :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merpcicl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
2
25
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We (couple 41 & 50) stayed at Hotel Ometepetl for two nights in February 2014. We paid $35 a night for a room with a private bathroom. The first room we saw had no inside bathroom door knob and couldn't be closed from inside and the sink was falling off the wall. We were moved to an identical room. Both rooms were small and average clean. Neither shower had a shower head, just a pipe coming from the wall. The water was cold only but hot water isn't necessary in this climate. There was televison. Air-conditioning was $10 extra but we got it for $5 one night and free the second night. The bed was saggy. There were many chairs and hammocks outside the room for relaxing. There was good wi-fi. The hotel is very central, within 1 minute walk of the ferry, restaurants, shops & ATMs. The hotel has a restaurant with a large menu. The staff was friendly and helpful. We also stayed at sister hotel Casa Istiam on the otherside of the island. I reviewed that hotel, too. Casa Istiam is more isolated but breezy and right on a beach. Hotel Ometepetl is more centrally located and a better value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This place is in a great location and has a nice porch. Also has wifi, which is good. But the rooms are ok and management doesn't have a very good attitude. If you pay the ridiculous extra $10 or $15 per night for air con- it may not be worth it. We had a 4 people in a room and paid for the aircon and it wouldn't work. Told the management, he just insisted it was working, but it wasn't. Finally when we left he admitted it wasn't working.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
svendborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

As the title indicates I´m fond of this drowsy island in the sun-I´m an older guy-and this may well influence my general view.Anyway I can´t recognize the somewhat negative impressions of other visitors,bearing in mind that this is one of the least developed parts of this poor undeveloped country with a most unhappy immediate past,and the darling receptionist girl will do anything (almost) to help You feel comfortable-with her natural kindness.So:food is good and priceworthy-location excellent-it´s the Hilton of the island,but for further exploration of the island You should try out some of the-incredibly even cheaper- hotels directly on the shoreline.
If You insist on order and impeccable cleanliness:try Hotel Central and its friendly staff in Altagracia.
Enjoy. The old Dane

Room Tip: I would recommend a short row of secluded rooms behind the main building(walk to the left from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jornpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The good:

- Super cheap
- "AC" for $15/night
- Super super close to the dock
- WiFi
- Friendly staff
- Hammocks!

The bad:

- Incredibly dirty
- AC is really just another fan

Stayed here two nights before and after our hike up Concepcion (the larger volcano on Isla de Ometepe). It's nice because it's so close to the fairy dock but don't expect to sleep here comfortably -- it's very dingy and there's quite a few bugs. Staff was great for setting up a guide to summit the volcano (required by law) and getting us sandwiches for the hike!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla de Ometepe hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

The place was recommended by the lonely planet - usually they are dead on - not for this hotel

We were a couple and two girlfrienda traveling. The manager showed us 2 rooms that werent next to each other - we thought it was cause the place was full - NOPE

One room was infested with ants so we switched the other room was ok but ac not working. The 3 rd room must have had a dead animal in the bathroom cause it smell AWFUL

We couldnt wait for the morning to get out of there

Check out the corner house up the hill - same price and what a difference!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My boyfriend and I were going to stay here because the Lonely Planet guidebook recommended it. The room had no ventilation at all. There was only 1 window, which did not let a lot of light in and didn't let much air in. The one light in the room didn't really brighten the room much. When we got there the bathroom door was closed. There is no ventilation in the bathroom and in smelled. The entire room smelled like mold. Also the hotel grounds looked like they could be nice, but everything was falling apart and in total disrepair. We initially said we would stay there, but I just couldn't spend any time in that smelly room. We stayed for an hour and then found a different hotel.

That being said, the next day we decided to rent a car and this place was recommended. They were nice about renting the car to us, even though it was the same guy from the day before. We took the car to a pretty remote part of the island where the road was non-existent. We brought it back covered in mud and they were totally comfortable with it and did not charge us extra.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
10.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nicaraus
Hotel Nicaraus
#9 of 14 in Moyogalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 14 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Gio
La Casa de Gio
#6 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Ibesa
Hostel Ibesa
#4 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Casa Ometepe
Hostal Casa Ometepe
#7 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ometepetl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ometepetl

Property: Hotel Ometepetl
Address: Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ometepetl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing