We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
160
153
73
48
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
153
73
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watersanto domingolake viewometepe islandoutdoor seatingnice poollasagnarestaurant staffstayed nightsrainy seasontour guidecentral americaparadisoferrywindnicaraguaac
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great location above playa santo Domingo. Had a spacious cabin. Staff provided crib for 2 year old. Nice terrace in front with hamac. Hotel has a great restaurant facing the like, with friendly staff.
The place is a bit dated and needs some paint and renovation. Cables hanging around, sink not fixed in wall properly, no bedlamps, noisy old qircon, for example....
Breakfast not included in rate. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Bring mosquito spirals if you plan to sit on terrace at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

we had not been to Ometepe in 14years,so you can imagine our surprise at the changes!Those of you with negative reviews evidently don't travel much in 3rd world countries!!!
All was great during our stay,the Guapote dinner was good enough to make a trip back just for that,the guacamole made by the staff was wonderful,had an a/c cabin that we did not need a/c,and the staff arranged a trip for the 5 of us the following day to the Falls.
the staff was a little overwhelmed at "cocktail"time,and at breakfast,but the owner pitched in,and all was great!
Would recommend this hotel to all,and to all who read the "negative"reviews,and are worried,I would tell you-THIS IS NICARAGUA!!Get over it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

beautiful long stretch of sand, very quiet area almost devoid of restaurants or shops.
hotel is nice, staff indifferent at best, restaurant ok. bit pricey by nicaraguan standards.
staff run a taxi SCAM, they won't call or confirm a taxi until the last minute when their own pickup becomes avail for a fixed $25usd price. i saw this happen day before to a couple waiting to leave. i went 1-2min down the road, a tour shop arranged a taxi immed for $20 for 5 people.
other hotels adjacent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparaiso, Propietario at Hotel Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you, all your comments are well received. We are working with our staff on customer attention. We want all of our clients to feel confortable in our hotel. Sorry about the tranfer situation. We hope the negative points you found didn´t affect your stay at Ometepe Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had read previous reviews about staff being less than helpful and I didn't think that would bother me so much but here it did. Trying to ask questions and get help from them was like pulling teeth. We asked for a tranfer to the dock and were quoted $25 but knew that was overpriced and they wouldn't negotiate. We walked across the street to talk to a local taxi driver and gladly paid him $20. Later at the dock we saw Villa Paraiso's van there anyway. Our room was clean, lots of windows, a fan and lots of space. The bathroom was good too and security box to use. Hammocks and rocking chairs just outside the room is a nice touch. Lots of little gnats flying around which was annoying but couldn't help that since we're right by the water. Great views from the rooms and the restaurant. Nice and breezy. Playa santo Domingo is nice and being on a few steps away was great. Restaurant is pricey but we had good dinners there. Had the curry chicken kabobs twice. Would not recommend breakfast at all - go elsewhere unless you like the idea of greasy overcooked and salty eggs, hot dog buns, cold coffee, and pitiful portions. Good walking distance from other restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simms327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparaiso, Propietario at Hotel Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion and critics, we take them in count to make changes and improve our service. About the tranfer to the dock, as a formal bussiness we have to pay taxes, and that increases the price. Local taxi drivers dont pay taxes and that allow them to charge less. We are training our staff on customer attention to improve our service.
We are very sorry about your experience with breakfast, usually we have good critics about restaurant and meals, but thank you for sharing it, because that way we can pay attention on these defects.
Hope you enjoyed Ometepe Island and you recomend it to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Ometepe Island is an expanding destination in Nic. They are building an airort so you don't have to take the "ferry from hell" to get there. Paraiso is located in the middle of the island on a nice beach. The Hotel is small, quiet and the food is very good! The night we stayed President Ortega's son was also there (with his security!). He chose well!

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the Lake
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparaiso, Propietario at Hotel Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed our food and your stay in the hotel. Hope you recommend the place to your friends and we expect your visit, these time through the new airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews