We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Cochrane, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful island”
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We did a quick one night stay on Ometepe and are glad we went. Hotel Paraiso met all our needs, arranged for a driver to pick us up at the ferry and arranged for a tour of the island before we caught the ferry the next day. The fish lunch we had at the restaurant was the best we had in Nicaragua and the staff in the restaurant were very patient as we only have 5 words of spanish. Luckily when we were arranging our island tour at the front desk another couple who spoke spanish were also there otherwise we would have had problems but that is our fault for not speaking the language. The hotel is within an easy walk to Aqua de Ojo and should't be missed. It was far too windy to enjoy anything more than a walk on the beach but what a beautiful setting. We had 5 people in one cabana with two twin beds in the front room and a double bed in the bedroom. It was tight but managable. The kids didn't think the beds were very comfortable but we didn't have a problem. We walked to a different restaurant for supper which was not as good as the villa restaurant. You are definitely a little out of the way but for a night or two I would go back again. The island shouldn't be missed!

  • Liked — lovely setting
  • Disliked — the wind
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    129
    64
    43
    17
See reviews for
85
148
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaHave, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Reputed to be the best place to stay on the island we found the accommodation sub-standard for $58 a night. Good views, fresh breezes and an open-air restaurant are the high points. Hygiene, service and exorbitant prices (a cheap bottle of Chilean plonk fetches US $25) are the lows. I’m sure one could do better renting reasonable accommodation nearby and eating at Paraiso’s restaurant, as long as the stray dogs, begging cats and birds (which at first seem attractive but whose appeal diminishes in proportion to the excrement deposited on the tables) don’t put you off.

  • Liked — The views and cool breezes from the lake.
  • Disliked — Lack of hygiene
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tacklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We had cabin 22, which I recommend asking for because it had the best views, but keep in mind it’s also closest to the restaurant and gets some noise spill over as a result (not a big deal since they stop serving around 9:00 though) and some people try to use the patio as a walkway to the beach (we moved the table and chairs so as to block people from doing so).

We booked the island cultural tour through the hotel that including stops at the museum, stops at the Charco Verde reserve, the Finca Magdelena coffee plantation and the petrogliphs. While it was interesting to see everything, our guide was not very talkative and we felt that made it hard to learn much (Jose Antonio was his name…very nice, but not a great guide as you have to pull info out of him).

Defintely double check your bill when leaving as they added a couple things that weren’t legit and we had to challenge them on it.

Also, if you want calmer waters, stay on the west side of the island as it is very windy on the east side all the time.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SEANinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

This has the all the makings of a truly idyllic place to stay. The location is perfect, it benefits from the prettiest stretch of beach on the isthmus. The cabanas dotted around all have beautiful views of the lake, some with porches and hammocks. However, the level of hygiene is poor, the food at the restaurant is mixed - coffee sometimes instant which is inexcusable on the island that produces some of Nicaragua's finest! However, the fish dishes are excellent - particularly the lobster! Front of house were sullen and rude although the other staff were attentive. This is a place that with a little tweaking could be outstanding but is sadly let down by hygiene standards, large groups of tourist and front of house. Mixed feelings......

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — front of house
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank welshchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Villa Paraiso is certainly not perfect, but is probably the best place
to stay in the Playa Santo Domingo section of Ometepe, a very poor island, with limited lodging options. Our cabin - number 25 - was comfortable and relatively clean; request it specifically. Santo Domingo is a bare bones beach area - no retail district, nowhere to walk to for food alternatives, or entertainment, or shopping. You are essentially dependent upon your hotel in the evenings. That said, Paraiso's restaurant was decent, with a wide range of average to decent food. As one goes to Ometepe for the natural wonders, one should not expect the Ritz Carlton in terms of food & amenities. The staff, however, was super. They picked us up at the dock, helped us arrange tours, and were generally kind and polite. Antonio and Javier, especially, are gems. For its location, price and service, this is the place to stay in Santo Domingo; high-maintanence nitpickers, though, should avoid Ometepe altogether.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank EricLBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

This was a lovely place to stay, but there aren't many alternatives, especially when you book from the states and you are not sure of what you may find. The food was terrible, (egg salad sandwich came as scrambled eggs on bread), and you are actually a little captive, it's not like there are other places to eat. But swimming in the lake was amazing, and I hiked to San Ramon waterfalls - quite the experience with the best guide, Jose Maria. The path was out in many places and we had to cross fast moving water many times, but his mission was to get me to the top - and he did! If I go again, I will not stay at Pariaso but try another place.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tacomasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I have read the many reviews of the Villa Paraiso. Having traveled widely in Latin America - both the first and third worlds here are my reactions.

Location - spectacular. You walk down to the beach (its warm water and windy in march) and see volcanoes as borders, horsemen smiling going by, the occasional running tame dog. Pretty nice.
My cabana - nice clean space. great TV reception during march madness. more than ample and comfy hammock blowing in the wind.
Service - this is central america - what do you want?! Its a little removed (but Ometepe doesnt need to pander to tourists - it has authenticity) but give a smile, get a smile.
Food - above average - but sameness, weak coffee (a curse in the region since the good stuff heads north). fair prices for beer, water, rum.
Options: you can climb two volcanoes (I recommend them) do nothing ( recommend that!), horseback ride, hot springs, relax.

Bottom line - fair value, special island. quityourbitchin about the towels, linens, people not jumping high enough. If thats what travelers crave DONT go to places like this!!!! I will return.

  • Liked — Hammock
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
#4 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 5 in Altagracia
280 reviews
3.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
375 reviews
4.5 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 37 in Isla de Ometepe
118 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paraiso

Property: Hotel Villa Paraiso
Address: Playa Santo Domingo | Altagracia, Rivas, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing