We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Brione sopra Minusio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights.
Everything was good, room, restaurant, staff and nice beach.
Some improvement work could be done, but overall a pleasant experience.
The town doesn't offer much to do, but the hotel is perfect for a good relaxing time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank churchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    129
    65
    43
    18
See reviews for
85
150
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely hotel with great facilities right on the lake. Easy access to the beach where you can walk along and see many beautiful birds. The hotel itself has its own small pool which is kept clean and as you swim you can see parrots and monkeys in the trees surrounding the pool. The rooms were spacious and clean with great bathrooms and each cabin as a balcony with a hammock. The food in the restaurant was good and varied and the breakfast was wonderful. You can take a walk to the Eye of the Water spring which is well worth a couple of hours visit and the hotel was able to arrange a tour of the petraglyphs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UP NORTH
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is situated above an idyllic beach on the shores of Ometepe Island situated in fresh water Lake Nicaragua. The island is relatively remote and is reached by ferries from Granada or San Jorge (the shortest crossings). It is a peaceful, safe and very relaxed island, with very little development at all, which is the context for the hotel. Accomodation is in quite roomy cabins which we found to be very pleasant and comfortable. Some have sea (lake) views.
The grounds of the hotel descend past the small but attractive swimming pool directly down onto the beach. The restaurant and bar look out through the palms to the beach and lake - quite an idyllic setting. The restaurant serves meals and snacks throughout the day from breakfast through to about 9.00 pm at night - we found the standard of the food (and wine) to be really good throughout our 4 day stay. Service was prompt, attentive and very friendly at all times, and reception staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night, very disappointing. Room ok, but beds are very hard and short. A cockroach welcomed us. Staff very rude and unwilling to help. Breakfast not included in the price, which was already way too much for the hotel. Would recommend looking elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JorisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in cabin 23 with a view of the beach. And exposed to the constant hard wind. This is a windy place! That's good because there are lots of chironomids (midges, they don't bite) in sheltered places. These are a minor annoyance really but the wind kept them from being even that. On one afternoon a squall came across the lake and the wind about doubled for half an hour. Rain drove right into the room through the open door even though there is a roof over the deck.

The room was clean and well appointed and the A/C worked well. There was plenty of hot water and the room was professionally cleaned. There were ants inside. There are always ants in the tropics. Not to worry though as we also had several geckos that squeezed in up where the wall met the ceiling. The geckos took care of the ants each night - none visible in the morning. Sleeping to gecko calls is one of my faves.

We ate breakfasts and a couple of meals here as well. The food was good but not memorable. They take your room number and square up at the end of your stay, but they don't show you the bill and get a signature each time you eat. This system is open to error. Sure enough, our bill included a couple of lobster meals and drinks that were not ours. When we pointed this out our bill was corrected with no quibbles. The manager thanked me when I pointed out (after the meal mixup was corrected) that she had forgotten to charge us $30 for a tour transfer service we used.

The location is central for activities and worked perfectly well for us. On another visit I think we would look for a place with more character, and also a little less of that constant wind. Isla Ometepe is a great place and we weren't able to see it all in our time there. We would like to return someday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 days last week and both really enjoyed our stay there. For $35/night for a private room with bathroom and AC, this lodging was excellent value. There was a great restaurant on site, fast internet (relative to location), and plenty of staff around for help. Also able to book tours here which was convenient.

Located in Santo Domingo, it's fairly conveniently located considering how sparse the island is overall. Excellent views of the beach and plenty of places to enjoy a good book with the ocean breeze and waves crashing nearby. Beach access and even has a mini bar along the beach. Rooms were fairly clean and cozy. Overall, a perfect spot to stay on Ometepe.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently organized a group of 10 people to stay at Villa Paraiso (although I myself did not stay there). Prior to the group's arrival, I tried to contact the group on a number of occasions to sort out the logistics. Every time I phoned to speak with someone there, I was told 'we can't answer you now, but someone will phone you back right away'. I never received a phone call!

I al received a complaint from a group member, of, upon entering his room, finding a scorpion and centipede in his bed! This is not something to be expected from somewhere regarded to be one of the best hotels on the island.

I certainly hope the hotel is able to improve its service for guests and tour organizers.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon_M_Walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
#4 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 6 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.5 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 42 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#10 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paraiso

Property: Hotel Villa Paraiso
Address: Playa Santo Domingo | Altagracia, Rivas, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing