We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cabanas in the nice garden at the lake front”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very nice location by the lake, 100 m to the water. Cabanas with hammock and rocking chairs on the terraces, surrounding beautiful garden. Hot water, a/c. Just on the street you can observe monkeys and birds. Ok breakfast and restaurant. Quite a windy beach but the wind is warm. Hotel volcanos' Tours guide Douglas is nice person for hiking. From the negative side internet was available only in the morning when we were leaving hotel, not available in cabanas at all. We spent there 4 nights, during the stay you could find very weak and not permanent signal near 1 table in the restaurant. Also double check tour pirces if the minimum is 3 persons but you are going as a couple. We were not informed about higher price, but they were ready to correct it on our note afterwards.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went there looking for a room a few days in advance. What we were shown was not what we were given when we arrived. For $35 they gave us an upstairs prison cell that was so claustrophobic we could not stay. The alternatives were not much better and some over $70!!!
Apart from that Santo Domingo is very over rated.

The lady who tried to find us an alternative room was very helpful, the others not.

Cannot comment on the reataurants etc as we did not stay.

Room Tip: Probably find a cheaper alternative. I would go to Ometepe for a max of 3 nights and stay at Finca V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NigelJulie1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After two very unpleasant accommodation choices, it was a pleasure to find this hotel. A little more than our normal budget, it was well worth it. We had a good sized cassita with all the good things. It was spacious, had comfortable beds, a large bathroom and a hot shower, a decent sized mirror with lighting, good towels and a porch with our own table and chairs, plus a hammock. The staff were great and the restaurant served excellent food (except the pasta). There was a sheltered fresh water pool for relaxing around, if one didn't want to go the beach. Just down the road is a place that rents motorcycles and ATV's. The owner is a fair guy and also offers a cheaper option for taxis when one wants to leave.
If I were to go back I would stay there again

Room Tip: The wind can blow very heavily so pick a room that does not front right on the beach view. Take a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights.
Everything was good, room, restaurant, staff and nice beach.
Some improvement work could be done, but overall a pleasant experience.
The town doesn't offer much to do, but the hotel is perfect for a good relaxing time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank churchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely hotel with great facilities right on the lake. Easy access to the beach where you can walk along and see many beautiful birds. The hotel itself has its own small pool which is kept clean and as you swim you can see parrots and monkeys in the trees surrounding the pool. The rooms were spacious and clean with great bathrooms and each cabin as a balcony with a hammock. The food in the restaurant was good and varied and the breakfast was wonderful. You can take a walk to the Eye of the Water spring which is well worth a couple of hours visit and the hotel was able to arrange a tour of the petraglyphs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreaat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is situated above an idyllic beach on the shores of Ometepe Island situated in fresh water Lake Nicaragua. The island is relatively remote and is reached by ferries from Granada or San Jorge (the shortest crossings). It is a peaceful, safe and very relaxed island, with very little development at all, which is the context for the hotel. Accomodation is in quite roomy cabins which we found to be very pleasant and comfortable. Some have sea (lake) views.
The grounds of the hotel descend past the small but attractive swimming pool directly down onto the beach. The restaurant and bar look out through the palms to the beach and lake - quite an idyllic setting. The restaurant serves meals and snacks throughout the day from breakfast through to about 9.00 pm at night - we found the standard of the food (and wine) to be really good throughout our 4 day stay. Service was prompt, attentive and very friendly at all times, and reception staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night, very disappointing. Room ok, but beds are very hard and short. A cockroach welcomed us. Staff very rude and unwilling to help. Breakfast not included in the price, which was already way too much for the hotel. Would recommend looking elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank JorisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Altagracia
37 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
#4 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
318 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 67 in Isla de Ometepe
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paraiso

Address: Playa Santo Domingo | Altagracia, Rivas, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Villa Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing