We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path...”
Review of Totoco Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Totoco Ecolodge
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path...”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Totoco is a wonderful place to experience. It is about 1 hour away from the main port- Moyogalpa, the San Jose port is slightly closer about 40 mins. The staff is wonderful and very willing to help with transportation and/or adventures around the island. It is a very rough road going up to the lodge but in my opinion well worth it. The lodge itself is a true eco-lodge- they have composting toilets and solar-power electricity. It is surrounded by the jungle and with that be warned of lots of nature- bugs, spiders and even snakes had entered into the rooms during our stay (none of which were poisonous, but a little nerve racking at first until you surrender to the beauty around you). You will go to sleep with sounds of howler monkeys and wake up to them plus all the wonderful birds that surround the grounds around the lodge. There is an organic farm that is part of the grounds as well. Overall, we had a wonderful and peaceful time here and were happy we got to experience this wonderful spot on earth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alihastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've travelled a lot and stayed in many beds around the world. Yet, I think sleeping at Totocco lodge was a once in a lifetime experience. It felt so peaceful to Sleep beneath a net canopy, in a beautifully situated hut, beneath a starlit sky After days filled with kayaking or horseback riding, followed by a great dinner and a beer, shut eye came fast. (No chance of insomnia here). The treat was hearing the howler monkeys a bit after dawn. They aren't loud, but sounded a bit like owls and lulled me back to sleep. I felt the sense of relaxation that comes with being outside.
Other reviewers have commented on how the ecolodge is this place is the real deal; solar power, recycling water and waste.....and they've shared the magnificence of the location.
Our family of 4 (all adults) used two huts and were really impressed with how the people at Totoco were so helpful arranging things for us to do while we were in Ometepe. They had a taxi meet us at the ferry and the driver was so nice and helpful (and spoke English) that we used him two other days when we were in Ometepe.
We would have stayed longer, but Totoco was full. I can certainly understand why so many people want to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyguestohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent three nights at Totoco in December. The trip to get to Ometepe and then to the ecolodge from Managua takes quite a while but it's worth it. Totoco is situated halfway up a volcano with unbelievable views of Lake Nicaragua and Volcan Concepcion. The ecolodge itself is charming and feels a little bit like summer camp for adults - it's not exactly easy to leave for meals - so plan on spending a lot of time at the lodge.

Meals are served in the main area (a big porch with a bar and chairs) and there are a lot of opportunities to get to know the other guests (most were very interesting and social). Each night there is a different meat and vegetarian option for dinner - both were pretty good.

The staff did an excellent job of setting us up on different excursions - we kayaked Lake Nicaragua and saw monkeys and crocodiles. We rode horses through the jungle to a coffee plantation. We visited El Ojo de Agua for a dip in the springs. We also spent time sitting at the pool and hanging around the bar area. Ask for Victor for your driver and guide. He was charming and knowledgeable about the island. We were always excited when he came to take us down the volcano.

If you come, bring reading material and a head lamp - it gets quite dark and you'll need a flashlight to get from the lodge to your cabin!

I would absolutely recommend Totoco as a place to rest and relax - but make sure you come for more than a day or two. It's too far out of the way to do as an overnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 4 incredible nights at Totoco Ecolodge on Ometepe. The Lodge is amazing, with stunning views of the volcano and sunset. Our family of five stayed in one of the cabanas, each with it's own porch and hammock overlooking the volcano.
We loved the eco experience and everything at Totoco was perfect: hearing the howler monkeys every morning, kayaking, hiking the waterfall close by. And the meals provided by the lodge are reasonably priced and consistently delicious.
Lastly, the staff is wonderful: helpful, friendly. I can't recommend Totoco enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent three nights at this most amazing and genuine eco lodge. If you really want an eco experience this is the place. You get a fabulous volcanic view from the swimming pool and most of the rooms. The lodge is off the electricity grid and generates power from solar panels. Hot water comes from heat generated from compost. They are very efficient in storing rain water and have an amazing method for recycling kitchen water to use on the grounds. They have planted thousands of trees and flowers on site. Recycling is spilt into 7 categories! The food is really good.
Most of all is a really relaxing and inspiring place to stay and there are lots of interesting things to do on the island- medicinal lagoon, bike rides, walking and a tour of the lodges grounds is highly recommended. We are well travelled but have never stayed anywhere like this.
The worst thing about the lodge is the bumpy single track road up to the lodge but the rewards are well worth it

Room Tip: The bamboo room is a lot cheaper then other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 6 in Balgue
348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totoco Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totoco Ecolodge

Property: Totoco Ecolodge
Address: Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing