We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tranquil place with the best pool of the island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil place with the best pool of the island”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Excellent place to stay a few days, beautifull views, excellent pool, nice restaurant overlooing the lake, cosy and spacious bungalows which easily sleep up to four people, nicely decorated bathroom. In all we consider it the best non eco lodge place in Ometepe. Normal flush toilets, lights that work if there is no sun, television, good cabins that keep insects out and well maintained grounds. The food is okay but nothing special. Very friendly staff that do their utmost to cater for your needs. The road is rough but it only takes you max. 30 minutes from Santa Cruz empalme. We would definitly go back again if we visit Ometepe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLindhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves and would love to have you back should you ever find yourselves on Ometepe again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    53
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
121
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Overall, a good hotel, one of the nicer ones on the island. The views are beautiful and it was quiet and relaxing there. The road to the hotel is quite bumpy, so be prepared for that. They had recently built a pool, which was nice. The room we stayed in was spacious. The food was good, but not outstanding, and often took more than an hour to prepare. Our porch had a lovely view with rocking chairs and a hammock.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you very much for you comments we are making conscious efforts to improve the efficiency of our kitchen and a new menu is in the works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at La Omaja and had a fantastic experience. Our casita was very comfortable and fit our family of 5 (kids 9,11,12) very nicely. The AC was a plus!! The food was very tasty as well. The pool was an especially nice bonus after our fun excursions around the island. They also provided us with transport anywhere we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Be sure to zip your bags so you don't take home any unwanted island critters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlmaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you comments and are glad that you and your family enjoyed your time on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Ometepe.

La Omaja is a nature resort with the most amazing view of Concepcion volcano. The resort has a pool that overlooks the lake and volcano.

We stayed in a casita with A/C, cable TV and its very comfortable and clean.

The owner, Jamie is very nice and helpful. The rest of the staff is great! They will arrange tours for you too.

The pool is a great asset to the resort and mixed with the view of the volcano and lake, it makes it almost surreal.

I would definitely recommend La Omaja to anyone looking for a little place of paradise.

They also have a restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you Kristen from staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you and your sister had a good time and would love to have you back some day. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Merida area was further out than we thought. However, once we got to La Omaja and saw the pool with its spectacular view, we knew we made the right choice. In fact, with the many things to do on Ometepe, it was sometimes hard to leave the really nice pool; just grab a beer and soak in the lake and volcano views. But, there are things to do, such as kayaking, a few different volcano hikes, and, more. The owner, Jaime, is very nice and will set you up with whatever activities you want.
The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty cool with the shower that was "tiled" in natural pebble. The grounds are nicely kept as well.
While it might seem isolated when you first arrive, you can get a change of scenery as there are a few other restaurants within walking distance.
La Omaja is the spot on Ometepe if you're looking for a quiet place to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
It is a bit of a trek out here which has always been part of the adventure, however, that seems to be changing as they are working on the road and sometime within the next year or two our what has many times been referred to as the worst road in the world will all be paved. I have mixed emotions on that one but I am sure it will me less time with at the mechanic's shop.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and are glad you had a good experience. Thank you for your comments and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is idyllic, the view at the lago und the volcano is a dream, especially from the swimming pool. The resort is quite new and modern. There could be more meals availible at the restaurant, but it is okay for a couple oft days. Prices are fair. A lot of activities are offered. The trip to the volcano maderas is a gerät experience. The way to the hotel takes about 1-1,5h by taxi from moyogalpa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uh6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments are very helpful. Glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our time in Ometepe was the highlight of our trip to Nicaragua. La Omaja has a spectacular location, with views over the lake and volcano. We had Cabin #5 with a great view from the porch hammock or chairs. The restaurant has great views also and the food is really good. And the infinity pool . . .well, you'll never want to leave. Jamie and his staff are very accommodating--he made our ferry reservations, and gave us lots of info on local attractions, and helped us book horseback riding.

The road out here is very rough, but the isolation and beauty are worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I am glad you here you enjoyed your stay and got in a little R and R. Appreciate you taking the time to comment and wish all the best to you and your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
6.7 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Finca del Sol
Finca del Sol
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
118 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant

Property: La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Maderas Volcano, Meridia, Isla de Ometepe, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant on Ometepe. Situated in the foothills of the Volcano Maderas on the majestic island of Ometepe, La Omaja offers breathtaking views of Lake Nicaragua and the volcanoes Concepción and Maderas. Strategically located in the middle of the Maderas Nature Reserve, La Omaja enjoys easy access to the most intriguing attractions on this hidden Nicaraguan treasure. La Omaja´s cabañas and full service bar and restaurant provide a comfortable, secure, and above all else, friendly environment from which to headquarter your stay on Ometepe. Whether you come to relax and enjoy a quiet, romantic getaway or are looking for more adventurous opportunities to hike, kayak, bike or horseback through the Maderas Nature Reserve, La Omaja provides the perfect setting for a memorable vacation.La Omaja is family operated and an active stakeholder in the local island community. Our specially trained staff and guides provide professional and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Omaja Hotel
La Omaja Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing