We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Lagos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bogobiri House Lagos
Ranked #11 of 134 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 15 October 2013

First in Nigeria and was lucky enough to not only stay at Bogobiri but meet and connect with the owners and staff. Let's just say it's where I'll always stay when I come to Nigeria It's more than a hotel - more like home away from home, cultural center and so much more. I love Bogobiri.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful. Get one of the larger rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diallo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I will have to start by saying I didn't stay here so I can't assess it as a hotel, although I would happily stay there in future. As a bar and restaurant though I can't provide enough praise. The food is excellent, the drinks are ever flowing and the staff and management are phenomenal. It's a great place to meet new people, listen to good music and relax- which can be difficult in the hustle and bustle of Nigeria. I came here at least a few times a week while I was living in Nigeria and would recommend anyone visiting Lagos to definitely spend an evening there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have stayed in total probably 1,5 months in Bogobiri, extended in 3 or 4 periods of 2 weeks. I find Bogobiri difficult to rate, just because it's so different from a regular hotel. I a way, this is not a hotel but more a bar (with live music every evening) where you can rent some rooms.

Other reviewers have described well the interior. Some of the staff are friendly. Some I find are not. Some do not care and prefer watching the football matches broadcasted in the bar area. Breakfast is included in the hotel price but very very basic, and if you are in a hurry early morning do not expect breakfast to be ready to enjoy all of the time. Internet is also included but quite shaky in times. I like the food (basic, generous portions) but not all what is presented on the menu is available at all times.

If you are a business traveller who would like a bit more comfort, and hotel feeling, there are some other places around on VI and Ikoyi where you will feel more being in a hotel. You will have to search though, if you do not want to pay more than @ Bogobiri. I stay here from time to time, but sometimes switch hotel early when I want a better shower, bed and airconditioning.

I believe the potential is enormous to take Bogobiri's hotel proposition to the next level. The question is, can it keep its unique proposition which it offers now or will 'professionalization' of the hotel business mean that the bar/music proposition will be eroded? My advice: go check out Bogo in the evening for the live music and ask to see some of the rooms before you decide to book here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have to agree with an earlier review of this hotel and say it doesn't live up to its potential
It's a charming and eccentric guest house and I loved the art on the walls, plus compared to other places in Lagos, it's (relatively) well priced. It had free wireless which is always a bonus. The staff are helpful and friendly which provides a comforting haven after braving the Lagos traffic all day.

However, I didn't have warm water for a decent shower and the breakfast was hopeless. I tried to have dinner there 2 evenings, and none of my first choices were available. If you're looking for a place to stay that has charm, is clean and that isn't as high-priced as the chain hotels, I can certainly recommend it. If your expectations are higher, you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very African!the art and decor is great.the music.the drinks.not pricy at all.saw a few live performances here as well.its worth a visit.definite must!!i totally love this place.definite re visit.a couple nice things to buy from the gift shop as well.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Deji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I want to love this place and give it 5 stars because it has all the potential. The art and decor are really original and create a nice atmosphere and the staff are fairly good. But, like most hotels in Nigeria, it is a massive let down, especially considering it costs $200-a-night. Bad things: there was no hot water, the aircon didn't work, the breakfast consisted of some stale bread and cheap jam and instant coffee with condensed milk. Sorry, it's just not good enough! For the money you spend some quirky art and bohemian vibe just isn't enough if you can't provide the very basics given such a huge fee. If it was $50-a-night I'd accept all the faults.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahala-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I did not stay at the hotel. I had a lunch buffet during a bus tour of Lagos.

It seems to be a popular spot for the locals. They have free wireless throughout the property. It is a great spot for business meetings.

I thought the food was good. African buffets are different than American buffets. American buffets are more abundant. We ran out of food at our buffet lunch. I should have eaten first instead of taking photos. Is you snooze you lose.

I was most impressed by the African Art and creative of the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkychiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#15 of 134 in Lagos
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#28 of 134 in Lagos
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#24 of 134 in Lagos
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#29 of 134 in Lagos
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.7 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 134 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogobiri House Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogobiri House Lagos

Address: 9, Maitama Sule Street, off Awolowo Road,, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bogobiri House Lagos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Bogobiri House Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogobiri House Lagos Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing