We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real review of the Welcome Center Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Centre Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Welcome Centre Hotels
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A real review of the Welcome Center Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Welcome Center Hotel is poorly managed. We experienced slow service in resolving our problems, very long waits to receive meals which were usually served cold, several episodes of food poisoning, slow or inoperative internet, a laundry service which shrinks or melts your laundry, housekeeping staff who smell so bad we had to leave the windows open and vacate the room after they left, and power interruptions so frequent they became commonplace.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary_Bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeCentre, Director of Sales at Welcome Centre Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay at the Welcome Centre Hotel was less than desirable but your review is highly out of sync with the majority of our guests. I'm surprised you stayed so long with us considering you felt the service was this bad or that you did not contact anyone in hotel management with your complaints. I'll assume it's a genuine review and not a competitor effort as our internet is 3mbps/3mbps dedicated, we have 3 stand by generators onsite, ultra modern laundry service, award winning kitchen and excellent neat and courteous staff. I can see from your review profile that all of your previous 22 reviews were based in Florida, USA and this is your first trip to Lagos, Nigeria and I wonder if you are not taking out a bad trip in Lagos on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
9
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I checked in on Friday and checked out on Sunday. It was a memorable stay, the standard is international, I enjoyed the breakfast, the environment is so inviting, the staffs are very friendly, it was a perfect experience, I will surely come back. I

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeCentre, Director of Sales at Welcome Centre Hotels, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant time and we look forward to your return. We will continue to do our best but please promise when you come back do let us know what we can do to turn our hotel from a 4 star rating to a 5 star rating in your eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
423 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here recently for three nights while attending a seminar held in the hotel. My room was OK. It was quite dark with very little natural light. Facilities in the room were adequate, though the bed was very hard with a very thin mattress. The bathroom was also quite basic, through water temperature and pressure in the shower were good. Periodic power outages, but those are common in Lagos.

I tried room service once and ate in the hotel restaurant on a few occasions. The food is just about OK with a selection of Western and NIgerian dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeCentre, Director of Sales at Welcome Centre Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for your patronage and your feedback. We will work on your feedback and hope to move from just good to great in your perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I had an excellent stay at Welcome Centre Hotel from August 16 to August 18 while attending a friend’s wedding. I stayed in room 407 on the 4th floor.

Positives included:
– Spacious room with air conditioning and comfortable king-size bed
– Modern bathroom with fantastic shower (great pressure; no interruption of hot water)
– Excellent restaurant in the building (wonderful Nigerian and foreign dishes; good breakfast)
– Nice banquet facility on the premises (400-person wedding was easily accommodated)
– Very safe with security visible but tactful (no “fortress” feel; secure but relaxed)
– Short drive from airport, so no need to deal with traffic jams on way in and out
– Super friendly and responsive staff

The only small issue was that my Wi-Fi access disconnected a few times; the staff quickly provided me a new password and I was back online within moments.

I was very impressed and I look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Lagos.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mwenenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeCentre, Director of Sales at Welcome Centre Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks Mwenenzi for your feedback and kind words. We have taken on your feedback and simplified the internet log in protocols to make it even more robust with tablets and smart phones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I enjoyed a pleasant stay at Welcome Centre Hotel in Aug 2013. I found the hotel conveniently located near the airport. My room was comfortably clean, spacious and air conditioned. The food was top notch and I found the staff very friendly. I would definitely stay here again next time I visit Lagos.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KunleAdetona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding trip to Lagos. It was a very convenient and safe location. The room was a very good size, clean and with nice air conditioning which was quite essential. I was also quite impressed with the service provided by room service and at breakfast every morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Lagos.

Austin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Only stayed in the hotel for one night after a gorgeous wedding, but found the rooms and service to be great. The room was nice, clean and spacious with a cozy bed and the bathroom was good. Also had dinner which was a chicken burger with fries which was scrumptious and If you stay at the Welcome Centre I highly recommended it. If i travel to Lagos I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yinka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#30 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stop Over Motel
Stop Over Motel
#21 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
9.9 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
10.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
10.7 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 131 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Centre Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Centre Hotels

Property: Welcome Centre Hotels
Address: 70 International Airport Road | Ikeja, Lagos PMB 4147, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Centre Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Centre Hotels is a magnificent new hotel, conference and events complex located near the airport in Lagos, Nigeria. Welcome Centre has a range of facilities for every meeting and travel requirements a visitor could ever want. Welcome has a variety of conference halls for every function ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Welcome Centre Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing