We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Lagos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Federal Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Seriously, there is no other place like Federal Palace Hotel in Lagos. The environment is therapeutic: the space, lawn, trees, all the greenry in general. Now that is talking about the outside - let me take you inside the hotel.Come in and feel the fesh and clean air gush all over your body - this simply takes you to another world; and the music - heavenly!!!! The whole place works right for you.

Room Tip: Honestly, the rooms i have stayed in offered the same level of satisfaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Federal Palace hotel is truely a palace, I was at the Hotel during the arise fashion week and I must confess that the hotel has truely gone through lots of changes especially the pool, you need to see it, the rooms, The environment and the world class casino. What I really love about the hotel is the ambience its very quiet and the security network is excellent. You guys should keep it up. The only challenge is the rate I think they should do something in that regards.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Federal Palace. Your positive comments are welcome. At the Federal Palace we endeavour and constantly strive to keep to our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I travel to Africa on business frequently, although this was my first time in Nigeria. I stayed at the FPH for a full month, and during that time got to know the place pretty well.

Good aspects:
- The grounds are attractive and peaceful, especially for Lagos.
- The pool area is phenomenal, not just for Africa but for anywhere. Excellent pool area with a separate pool play area exclusively for kids, with their own two pools plus playground.
- The place feels very safe and secure, which is important even on Victoria Island.
- FHP has an excellent gym for an African hotel. A decent variety of equipment and machines, and all in working order. And it's kept clean.
- The breakfast buffet was excellent, with enough variety to keep people from being bored even after a month.

Not so great aspects:
- The staff is highly variable in efficiency and demeanor (this comment could apply anywhere in anglophone Africa to be honest); some, especially the breakfast staff, are charming, polite and very capable. Others range from clueless to relentlessly rude (some of the pool staff fall firmly in the latter catagory). Overall, the senior staff clearly knew what they were doing, but the rank-and-file local Nigerian employees seemed to mostly wander around surprised at how they ended up at the FHP dressed in a staff uniform yet again.
- The hotel's internet, whether via wi-fi or ethernet cable, is highly variable in reliability and connection speed. Given that the signal strength was always high, I strongly believe it was a provider problem and not FHP's problem, but FHP should lean on their provider to deliver consistent service.
- Food at the other restaurants in the hotel was more variable than the breakfast, generally good but not always, although a new menu introduced in late February really upped the game in terms of quality.
- Prices for food were high across the board. 8,000 to 9,000 Nira for a meal (50 to 56 USD) was not hard to achieve with one starter, one main and a beer.\

Overall a good place and I would stay there again, but I sympathise with the management's travails in trying to herd the staff all in one direction consistently.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor facing the bay unless you want a view of the FHP's air conditioning plant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK_Gator_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Federal Palace. Your positive comments are welcome. At the Federal Palace we endeavour and constantly strive to keep to our guests expectations, , and as a long stay guest it is appreciated that you have brought these concerns to our attention. Federal Palace embarks on constant training with the staff to constantly uplift there service and skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Thank God I am not staying here for too long. The food is absolutely terrible and super overpriced. Last night I had the Peppered Fillet of Beef 280g , now I swear it was 150g and was rubbery and did not even have garnish. Cost 5800 NGN or 39 US$. I travel a lot and am used to high prices and bad service in Lagos which the hotels seem to just accept but this is extreme. Tonight I ordered Slow Roasted Osso Bucco – cost 6300 NGN or 43 US$ it is as tough as my New Rock shoes. I posted a photo on FB it is unbelievable. As a South African I am ashamed at how Sun International rip off or accept this kind of standard. Nigerians are extremely enterprising and clever. It will not take long for people here to realize that you are ripping them off. Look around there are new hotels in Lagos – if this is your standard, customers will remember and never visit this establishment again. I will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHomeFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Federal Palace and we welcome your feedback.
We regret that we did not meet your expectations with our In Room Dining service,particulaly on the quality of the meal prepared for you.
Please be assured that this is not our normal standard.
We are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to have met you during your stay,and to have had the opportunity to make amends for our service breakdown.
We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to the Federal Palace in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have stayed at the Federal Palace Hotel twice, with my wife. Two things are striking about 'The Federal Palace'. One is the exquisite room, while the other is the serenity of the place. These features go along with the utmost cleanness maintained at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LagosPaul_A19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Federal Palace. Your positive comments are welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was there to see a friend and we stayed in the sea facing room.The Ancestors Bar had variety of drinks; I also had a chance to play in the las-vegas style casino. The food was good and the service was excellent. I'll definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Salubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Federal Palace. Your positive comments are welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My first visit to Federal Palace Hotel & Casino was a memorable one because it left me speechless. At first, i thought it was one of those regular hotels in Nigeria but was amazed to find a hotel as good as "The palace". My fiance (now husband)took me there to mark my birthday and peeps, i spent the time of my life. The room was exqusite and the food was sumptuous with several to choose. The beautiful swimming pool was a thing to behold and the casino was on point! the casino has several games but i spent most of my time on horse racing and slot games which i did enjoy. It's truely a palace in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnie_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Federal Palace. Your positive comments are welcome. As it has being some time since your last visit ,you will be pleased to see the changes in the cusine offering that we have introduced into the Explorers restaurant,we now have on offer three theme evenings during the week Mon/Wed and Fri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 134 in Lagos
307 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 134 in Lagos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.3 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 134 in Lagos
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#15 of 134 in Lagos
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £124 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing