We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent business hotel”
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“decent business hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is a decent business hotel with lots of footfall. Conveniently located in the central place, it has decent room . The issue in the room is that it had a floor Ac unit with no digital temperature control and noise in the room. It even pulled in some smell from outside

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InstinctiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Gurgaon


Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience. My apology that your AC had issues; corrective measures have been put in place to avoid that reoccurring again in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Ikoyi.


Kind regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    272
    76
    18
    13
See reviews for
34
42
52
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2,435 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a well located and nicely run hotel in Ikoyi, Lagos. Good facilities, a decent bar and a good lounge on the 9th floor. The staff are friendly, helpful and caring. Getting around to the main business areas in Lagos from this hotel is quite easy. One of the better hotels to stay in in Ikoyi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Ibadanboy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Southern Sun Ikoyi and taking your time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that, the location, facilities and the Lounge were acceptable to you.

We appreciate your comment regarding the services rendered by our team members, we are also proud of their professionalism as they continue to deliver personalized service.

kind regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here while on a business trip. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a security guard on every floor. The rooms are large and spacious, good selection of Africa business magazines are provided in the room. The only issue is the electricity, which is a problem experienced by the whole city, the on-off can be quite disruptive, especially when the AC does not automatically switch on during the transition, not to mention the loud generator noise.
They have a wide variety of food selection at the buffet, with a touch of local cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Kairetu

Thank you for staying with us , we are glad that we were able to make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one.

Your comment about the staff has been passed on them and they are happy that their effort is recognized . We are committed to provide professional service to all our guests.Our culinary staff will always do their best to make your food selection is not limited one.

We looking forward to welcoming you to Southern Sun Ikoyi

Regards
Cliff Shiridziodya
Deputy General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Southern Sun Ikoyi is cossy, quiet, neat and warm place to be. The staff are very courteous, customer-friendly and very responsive. The visible security is quite assuring and gives visitors no cause for alarm. Of course, the restaurant is not only well laid-out, the foods is worth the experience. In all I give them a 4. thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jibby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jibby D,

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Ikoyi on your last visit to Lagos. We are delighted you enjoyed our warm hospitality. I am happy that the staff were courteous and helpful. Security is key in this business and we will make sure they are visible all the time.

I look forward to your next visit again

Best Regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lagos is not exactly awash with fantastic hotels. But I would return to this one. The Southern Sun is a little older than others and rooms are small and somewhat tired but location is good and staff relatively helpful. Don't expect to check out quickly at peak hours - I gave up after 20 minutes. But at least the generators are quiet (on 7th floor). Word of caution - the adjacent lot at the back, overlooked by even room numbers is under construction. All night.

Room Tip: Odd number won't overlook construction.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank S G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mr. S G P,

Thank you for making Southern Sun Ikoyi your hotel of choice, we are glad we were able to meet your expectations.

As you sustain your choice of staying with us, we want to assure you that quality in service delivery is our watch word for you.

We wish you well in your endeavors.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lebanon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

i had to chance to visit Nigeria during this week to attend IDC event, this is my first trip and we stayed at the Southern Sun Ikoyi.
We arrived on sunday lunch time, the buffet was huge and has lot of choices as well the restaurant was full with both hotel guests and visitors a big 10 for the food in Sourthern sun in specific and the food in general in Lagos.
I was given a room on the 5th floor which i didn't like the smell, but the staff was friendly and quickly gave an executive room on the 9th floor the last one and it has a nice view on the city.
the room are enough for business, bathrooms are cleans and service is good.

The location is perfect it is in Ikoyi as well very near to Victoria Island.

The gym is acceptable it has enough machines to manage your daily exercises, however the pool is outside and didn't seem safe/clean enough to use.

as a summary i highly recommend the hotel for business people staying for a short period since it provide all you need to make your trip successful

i hope my experience will add value.

cheers

Room Tip: take the high floors they have a nice view, as well central AC while the others have split AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandEid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear RonaldEid,

Thank you for making Southern Sun Ikoyi your hotel of choice. As a first timer, we are so glad your expectations were met and that you enjoyed the hospitality we displayed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and we set ourselves to ensure that your every experience is memorable.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Used the SS Ikoyi Hotel in Lagos for a business trip recently and the hotel is good for Nigeria ( but it is not 4 star level by international standards). The staff were both friendly and efficient. The breakfast restaurant's choice and quality of food was satisfactory. The rooms were small but well appointed (if a little threadbare) and room cleaning service was good. Well situated in Ikoyi. All in all, if one is going to Nigeria for business then this hotel is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper floors as this provides a better view of Ikoyi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastragnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mr. Gastragnome,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Southern SUn Ikoyi Hotel. You contrubution is of great value to us and we are glad you have experienced hosptality at its best.

We intend to maintain and improve on this level as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Wishing you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Property: Southern Sun Ikoyi
Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
#13 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing