We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and improving all the time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Festac Lagos
Ranked #67 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and improving all the time”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Considering the fact that the hotel is in Lagos, Nigeria, I must say, it's very good. The rooms size is good, they clean it thoroughly everyday, the security is good, internet is more than good for the average, there are a couple of tennis courts as well as two for squash and a nice and clean pool as well as a spa.
All the staff working at the hotel is extremely amiable and helpful.
The restaurants as well as the pool service is good and they are changing menus constantly to keep customers from getting bored.
The pillows are no so good and the hotel is located far from the airport and no so close to Victoria Island and a bit in the middle of nowhere. This two are the only cons I can find. The last will disappear because they are building a big shopping mall next door and when finished the area will become one of the centers of the city.
The hotel is so good and improving due mainly to the Hotel Director. Since his arrival things are changing constantly to better.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the swimming pool although some days they are noisy during the early ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    30
    36
    10
    13
See reviews for
7
9
6
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed while on business. Clean and safe, friendly staff, good Nigerian food. Very very spotty Internet at best. Frequent power outages. Nice bar and pool area. Not too far from airport. DO NOT LEAVE HOTEL WITHOUT LOCAL ESCORT. Don't be afraid to try the Nigerian dishes, they are spicy but quite good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ppetrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The staff try and are great but the place is really dirty and needs a good clean. It was not my preferred hotel and I wasn't paying. The management need to look after the staff as I was asked for a tip by 5 different people

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wnsuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Thumbs up for the service provided by the staff at this hotel. It really came from their heart. I do come to this hotel quite often, lets say minimum once a month. The staff they have remembered me so I felt very special. Was greeted by everyone who walked passed me. Shousha (The General Manager) he walks around the hotel talking to guests making sure everything was ok so he's not the type of GM that stays just in office!

All in all, I was very happy with my stay at this hotel. Thumbs up to everyone who works at this hotel! Also, Im looking forward to my next visit at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine_McAlpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel three times recently for business and I used it as an example in very good customer service. Many of the staff are delightful and very friendly.
Yes, the hotel could do with smartening up and bits look a bit tired, but to be honets, I'd rather have a hotel that shows its age with good service than one that looks brilliant but cannot deliver.
Food is good to excellent and the public areas are of a high standard.
I would recommend it to any type of guest - business, leisure, couple, single or family.

Room Tip: They have all been good romms for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Seconfd visit in Golden Tulip , For what they charge is not acceptable as the reception area is clean and pleasant , The rooms i have stayed in dont smell healthy and rooms are dirty i just think it could do with up dating and a lot cleaner inside rooms for what they charge . Food is good and so is the staff .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I always had good experience with the hotel. Very friendly staff, neat, clean and a quiet hotel. I always really enjoyed staying here. I much appreciate the many facilities they offer. The pool bar was always a great place to hang out.

Lately, however, because of the airlines it has become a very busy hotel and the focus has shifted to servicing these airlines. Good for the hotel, but less so for the casual business traveler. Food has very much improved, and certainly the morning coffee, but overall, the service offered by the hotel has decreased. The rooms given are not up to the standard as they were before and the service is less prompt and much less personal.

It could very well be temporary. The hotel is very old and undergoing, much needed renovations. The rooms that you get as a business traveller are cleands, the beds are good, but everything is old, you see chips off the walls and/or door posts, wardrobe doors fall out of their hinges, chains on the bedroom door not well screwed on or show marks of forced entries, not giving a safe feeling etc. Bathrooms are in similar state. Often not everything is working as it should be and water from the taps is generally orange/yellowish probably from the old pipings. The fire alarm tends to go off quite regularly, which is a bit annoying when this happens after 10 p.m . Credit card machines behind the front desk don't always work and the ATM machines in the lobby are often out of order. It makes it difficult to pay.

Food is good, but if not ordering buffet and thus ordering a la carte, it can take ages. Last time we waited for over one and a half hours for a simple steak and fries. Same if you would like to have some repairs done in the room, it needs many reminders to the front desk. In general the front desk is not working efficiently. If the evening before you indicate a problem, it doesn't seem to be communicated to staff taking on the morning shift. It's more about inefficiency then unwillingness, so I have good hope that it might improve as I do much appreciate the hotel itself and what it is offering for the price it asks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the swimming pool and/or recently renovated and take along a LAN cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adedotun A, Manager at Golden Tulip Festac Lagos, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Helen,

The Management wishes to thank you for taking time out to review our hotel.
We assure you that all our guest are treated equally as VIP and they are all important to us. We would also like to inform you that an upgrade is been carried out in the rooms and public areas of the hotel. However, because of the capacity (471 rooms) of the hotel, the upgrade will take longer time. We noticed the issue with the ATM machines and as a result we requested for an additional ATM machine to be installed in the hotel by another bank. This brings the number of ATM machines to 3 from 2 difference banks.
We deeply apologize for the delay experienced regarding your a la carte order and will like to assure you that all measures have been taken to prevent reoccurrence.
The hotel is a non smoking hotel, though some guest do not respect this. However, we have created an awareness system to inform all our guest.
Thank you once again for your review of our Hotel and hope to see you in the hotel during your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
5.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Lagos Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunfit
Sunfit
#1 of 3 in Festac Town
21 reviews
6.3 mi away
Welcome Centre Hotels
Welcome Centre Hotels
#15 of 130 in Lagos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#41 of 130 in Lagos
278 reviews
7.9 mi away
Morning Side Suites
Morning Side Suites
#18 of 130 in Lagos
34 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stop Over Motel
Stop Over Motel
#20 of 130 in Lagos
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Festac Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Festac Lagos

Property: Golden Tulip Festac Lagos
Address: Amuwo Odofin, Mile 2, Lagos PMB 031, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Festac Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Festac Lagos, Hotel & Conference Centre is located in one of the most dynamic trade and business districts in Lagos, situated at half an hour's drive from Lagos International and Domestic Airports, and has easy access to Apapa commercial harbour and industrial areas as well as to other business districts such as Ikeja, Victoria Island, Ikoyi and others.The hotel is designed to provide guests with various business and leisure facilities, complimented by international service standards and local gracious hospitality.The Golden Tulip Festac Lagos is a new 471 guest room property The hotel is located in one of the most dynamic trade and business districts of the city of Lagos. Half an hour’s drive from central business districts and the airport, the Golden Tulip Festac Lagos is located near the Badagry Highway which leads travellers by road from Lagos to the neighbouring Republic of Benin. The hotel is set on a 7 hectare site and features beautifully landscaped Tropical Gardens, 471 rooms, a variety of restaurants and bars, the largest and most flexible conference and banquet facility in Lagos, a Gym and wellness centre, tennis courts, squash courts, a bank and shops.Construction Date 2009 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Festac Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Festac Lagos Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing