We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, but internet intermittent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Ranked #44 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great service, but internet intermittent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here for a week. Its a very nice hotel, the staff are really friendly and helpful, and the restaurant and lounge areas are well appointed and relaxing. My room was on the 9th (top) floor with a great view across the Lagoon. The only reservations I had were that the internet is a bit intermittent, and often doesnt work in the room, and that the food selection in the buffet was sometimes a bit limited, but otherwise I would really recommend it. Its a good central location, which is important given the Lagos traffic!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondonMEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
4
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

due to the refurbishment that was going on in the hotel i can not grade the rooms but hoping it will turn out great as expected, but i loved the food and the services was as great as usually. thumps up by the way i see new things in the hotel. great work please keep it up .

Room Tip: rooms on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calister e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Staff and service are polite but the rooms and activities are annoying. The rooms were too small for that price,it's very noisy from the outside ,we could not sleep because the heater made a consistent noise and the air conditioner was right on top of our faces. The fridge was empty and uninviting.the tv is squeezed into a tiny cabinet

Room Tip: Choose the room closer to the lagoon as opposed to that near the street
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zaraandco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagos hotels

London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Poor service, tatty rooms. The staff do need better customer facing training. We checked in late on a weekday, no bell hop to help with luggage, first room had air conditioning unit leaking unto the bed.Second room's phone didn't work, meant I had to go down to reception everytime I required a service. Took management a whole day to get round to offering a second change of room, despite us reporting the deficiency on the first day. Television stopped working, a technician spent half an hour fiddling and left promising to come back, he didn't. I had to keep going down to reception as the phone didn't work.
I shan't be staying there ever!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, not a lot of choice here, water views are restricted to more expensive suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
242 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Protea Hotel Westwood inLagos Nigeria is a great hotel, I always love returning to the hotel,it is a typical Protea hotel, "where everyone knows your name". The hospitality is great, food good, and the internet works and is free.

it is a fine hotel to base your business from and is convenient and fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, a bit more expensive but if you are hosting clients, worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This wasn't my first stay at the Protea Westwood in Ikoyi and, although the staff remain friendly and fun, the hotel is starting to show some deficiencies that weren't there before. The rooms are small, but adequate. A Protea Gold Card doesn't help as far as an upgrade of the room is concerned. Although reported to reception, there was no hot water for the shower in the room for 3 days. Breakfast has improved and it looks as if the dinner menu has been revamped.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willierJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

$100 less than the Radisson Blu, this hotel offers good value by Lagos standards. The staff are friendly, and I got a sense that they genuinely want to provde good service. The breakfast is great. Views from the to floors give a different perspective on Lagos.

While the pool is a bit shallow in the shallow end, making it difficult to do laps but it is refreshing. The gym is small, so that if more than 2 or 3 guests tried to use it at the same time it would be crowded. I would of liked it to have been larger with more equipment but it did get the job done.

What lets this hotel down is the lack of attention to detail. There was a ominous stain on the chair in my room, and the aspects of the finishing in the room is poorly done. The shaving plug in the bathroom is poorly plastered and the tiles around the toilet look scrappy. The walls in the bathroom only go half way up and there are dirty hand marks on the painted walls.

Even the CCTV camera system looks poorly installed in places with wires hanging out as if the job was not finished with due care. The lift needs a good scrub.

If you can look past these few things, then at this rate, this hotel makes a suitable business hotel, at a very reasonable rate for ths part of the world.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Bogobiri House Lagos
Bogobiri House Lagos
#18 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#13 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Hotel Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Hotel Ikoyi

Property: Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Address: 22 Awolowo Road, Lagos, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood)
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood Hotel Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwood Hotel, Ikoyi Lagos - Simply Convenient. The Westwood Ikoyi is situated in the heart of the bustling business centre of Ikoyi, on the waterfront of the Cowrie Creek Lagoon, with its own jetty. This ten story building offers 18 Suites, 20 Deluxe Rooms and 18 Standards Rooms, all fitted with a DSTV bouquet, state-of-the-art furnishings and free internet access. We are under new management and have been working hard to upgrade and add to our facilities. A new amazing waterside venue will open in October. We have already added a very popular library and a wonderful new wine list. Plus have seriously increased our internet connectivity. Enjoy a wholesome breakfast or indulgent dinner in our stylish restaurant with family, friends or business associates. Whether visiting for business or leisure, be sure to relax by the pool or visit the fitness centre to complete your stay. The airport is approximately 30km away from The Westwood, and is easily accessible from the hotel via the Third Mainland Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westwood Hotel Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing