We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Ranked #50 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A good choice in centre”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have stayed here a few times. Its a nice hotel; the rooms are not fantastic but they are good enough if you are here on business. The lounge and dining areas are nice, with a lovely view over the Creek. Its nice to sit int he comfy chairs in the lounge area and have coffee (or beer). There is free wifi although the connection is not always great. The staff are friendly, reliable and helpful

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondonMEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIKOYI, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood. It is important to know what we do right and more important to know what we do wrong. My STAFF will be happy to hear that you enjoyed there service. We are currently upgrading the rooms and looking at possible ways to improve connection of the internet.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood.

Yours in Hospitality

Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
4
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blandford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Protea for a week and wasn't sure what to expect on my first visit to Africa. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, my bedroom (a standard room) was comfortable and everything worked most of the time including free wifi. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was decent enough, although the menu was slightly limited. The hotel organised a driver for me to get around, who was very good. At present there is a lot of building work going on as the hotel is being refurbished. Although the advertised times were 9 to 5, on some days it started before 7 and went on to midnight! My room also suffered as it was on the front of the hotel and there is a lot of road noise. It is definitely worth asking for a room at the back of the hotel. The biggest problem was trying to check out, as the credit card machine refused to work, even though I checked with my own bank.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIKOYI, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Geoff,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback on your "first time experience" in Lagos. I am please to hear that you were pleasantly surprised at the Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood. My STAFF will be happy to hear that you have appreciated there efficiency and friendlyness during your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the disturbance from maintenance at the late hour. Please note that rennovations are at its final stage and is scheduled to be completed by the end of October 2012. We are in the process of procuring a permanent solation for the noise.

Please ask for me when you are in Lagos or the area during your next stay so that I can upgrade you to a room of your choice.

Regards

Jacques de Jager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
264 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We did a Technology update at the Protea ikoyi westwood Lagos Nigeria.
This was the second at the same hotel in two years, we came back because the last time the help and serrvice was so good.

The arrangements service and help that the catering and function staff gave us were superb.
Mr. Orji the catering manager was absolutley great. He proved to us what good service means

Room Tip: Get a corner room with Lounge attached, (suite)ask for LAN cable, wireless is still poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIKOYI, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear ColmV,

Thank you for your review about the Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood. My STAFF are delighted to know that you complimented them on their service. We have resolved the issue with the wireless intenet and I am happy to announce that we have increased our bandwith too.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood.

Yours in Hospitality

Jacques de Jager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Was in this new addition to the Protea family in Lagos Nigeria. This new hotel with a good view of the ocean was however very cramped. First of all parking is so inadequate and most have to park outside or in the nearby Creek Hospital.Toilets in the cramped lobby were terrible, looked clean but stench was bad. My wife had similar experience in female toilet.the staff looked stiff and tired. The restaurant was very ordinary and the menu very plain. Won't be coming back here in a hurry.they need to go to the other Proteas in town for a lesson or 2.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Femorata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proteaikoyi, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Femorata

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you and your wife experienced. We are in the process of renovating all our facilities to meet GUESTS'S expectations. I will personally ensure that we rectify the short comings.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Excellent service, and a good value for very expensive Lagos. Undergoing renovation, so a bit of a bustle during the day. Lagos is NOISY, so if you get a room facing the street, it can be a bit of a bother, but not overwhelming. Very good breakfast, which was included in my room rate. My room was on the top floor, and was quite small, but comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower, but individual water heaters means no long showers.The TV did not fit into its alcove, and was at a funny angle, but I got creative, and managed to pull it out and support it on the cabinet doors below it. Pretty good food on the regular menu. Nice outdoor seating area right on the river with views out to the US Embassy - they even have their own jetty at the hotel, although I don't know how practical it is. Small pool, but very clean.

Again, the highlight is the top notch service and the access to car hire service and airport transfers (for a fee.)

Room Tip: Noisy on street side and lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mithlondir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Lagos, Nigeria might not fit into the tourist travel destination category. That being said, this city is vibrant and very different from anything I've come across in Europe, America or Asia.

Lagos is in fact the first place I've visited on the African continent and I've been there 6 times all together.

A good reason to come back to Lagos is of course to have something to do there, but I think having a good and secure place to stay while being there is important too.

No to forget food. If you are staying a few days, then you are forced to try your body's resistance. So having found a good place to eat, is definitely the third important factor to consider.

Protea Hotel Westwood Ikoyi is a decent place that combined with a good reason to go to Lagos can be recommended.

The hotel is a 9 floor building with 6-8 rooms pr. floor. There is a police station on one side and a hospital on the other. River in the back and big walls on the front. The staff is always nice and the food is always good and safe (my experience).

Internet available in the rooms and anywhere else. Sometimes not the best connection, but I've skyped home every evening from my room. Bring a cable as the LAN connection is better than wifi in many rooms.

Espresso is served right! Everything else is a bit slow. You'll be waiting for anything, but STAR beer.

The boss, a South African, keeps everybody and everything in shape including himself. The GYM is alright.

One favorable thing to mention is the lack of people who don't live at the hotel. No buying or selling of anything.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are better and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasnils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here for a week. Its a very nice hotel, the staff are really friendly and helpful, and the restaurant and lounge areas are well appointed and relaxing. My room was on the 9th (top) floor with a great view across the Lagoon. The only reservations I had were that the internet is a bit intermittent, and often doesnt work in the room, and that the food selection in the buffet was sometimes a bit limited, but otherwise I would really recommend it. Its a good central location, which is important given the Lagos traffic!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondonMEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Bogobiri House Lagos
Bogobiri House Lagos
#19 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#10 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Hotel Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Hotel Ikoyi

Property: Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Address: 22 Awolowo Road, Lagos, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood)
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood Hotel Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwood Hotel, Ikoyi Lagos - Simply Convenient. The Westwood Ikoyi is situated in the heart of the bustling business centre of Ikoyi, on the waterfront of the Cowrie Creek Lagoon, with its own jetty. This ten story building offers 18 Suites, 20 Deluxe Rooms and 18 Standards Rooms, all fitted with a DSTV bouquet, state-of-the-art furnishings and free internet access. We are under new management and have been working hard to upgrade and add to our facilities. A new amazing waterside venue will open in October. We have already added a very popular library and a wonderful new wine list. Plus have seriously increased our internet connectivity. Enjoy a wholesome breakfast or indulgent dinner in our stylish restaurant with family, friends or business associates. Whether visiting for business or leisure, be sure to relax by the pool or visit the fitness centre to complete your stay. The airport is approximately 30km away from The Westwood, and is easily accessible from the hotel via the Third Mainland Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westwood Hotel Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing