We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I lodged at the hotel..oh my d services was of international standard, the rooms and public area where well kept. The services was excellent and the staff of the hotel were very friendly and professional. I would like to come back again and I every should visit. Whew I didn't feel like leaving. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane onwuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
4
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
yola
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Having known the Protea brand for many years, this was an obvious choice when I was looking for my one night stay over in Lagos. Since it was just a stay over, location was not my main concern. The room met with nearly all my expectations - it was clean and comfortable and provided a good night's rest. Little things like the missing wash basin plug and the flat batteries in the aircon remote could have been checked before my arrival and rectified - I could even have called down to reception to have it attended to, but I was too tired to do so at 11 o'clock at night.

The reception staff was very friendly and helpful and certainly made me feel welcome.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant consisted of tomato and basil soup (I loved it) followed by a beef burger with cheese (disappointingly bland). The waiter service was prompt, but the kitchen staff did not show the same promptness unfortunately - service from the kitchen was very slow - my soup took nearly an hour.

Breakfast this morning was great. Once again prompt and friendly service by the waiters. The lady serving at the food section was a great disappointment however. She was grumpy and unfriendly and took 15 minutes to top up the cold meats and cheese after I asked for it nicely, and when she did this eventually appeared even more grumpy.

All-in-all I have to admit that this was a one night business stay over (maybe I caught some staff on a bad day), and that all the issues are easily fixable with a bit of attention to friendliness and efficient customer service. I hope that management sees it in that light and get all the staff up to the required professional level that is synonymous to the Protea brand.

I have to come past Lagos again on my way back home. Will I stay here again? I am not sure - there are many other choices in the area.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaldoRheeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The service is not good enough. The staffs try to be polite but one would feel that it would be better to spend more energy on service delivery. The room service was unexpectedly below standard. I do not hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LekanAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Located between army hospital and police headquarters, this hotel is far from anything interesting on the Ikoyi island , has rather poor view of the polluted river or the rundown city quarter opposite.
The rooms are small, badly smelling and troubled with technical issues, such as no hot water in the morning, intolerable smell, and generator noise on the lower floors.
Staff are unsmiling and not forthcoming, trying to make the guests order something billable at every step.
Breakfast is rather repetative but not bad
Gym is the only redeeming feature as it was surprisingly sufficiently outfitted
Absolutely would not recommend,especially at the $350 charged

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors,less street/generator noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about three weeks and for the most part everything worked fine. However I think some of the staff need to be more professional as I was disappointed to see two of the waiters making jest of a guest who was snapping pictures around the hotel.

I had breakfast and dinner all through and it was ok although you might easily run out of options. The hotel has a quite and serene atmosphere which is good if you are staying there for business, especially around ikoyi/lagos island. Fun/entertainment is almost non existent at the hotel....there was live band/barbeque night on one of the fridays while I was there but it was rather dry and unimpressive compared to similar hotels in the city centre. The hotel has a swimming pool and a small gym.

Overall its a good hotel if you are travelling on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifegebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On a jetplane
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is part of the Protea hotel group, so the hotel is as good as can be expected. The rooms are spacious and the beds are large and comfortable. There is a large bath and seperate shower cubicle. The tv system has limited satellite coverage. The dining room and bar is all in the same area. Breakfast is varied, plentiful and good quality. The evening dinner menu is a set menu, fillet steak done to your taste or king prawns are excellent. Overall a good hotel but remember this is Africa, so don't expect the same standards as a 4 star european hotel. Staff are helpfull but don't leave it too late to check-out, if your catching a flight as this can be time consuming if others are checking out at the same time. Security is provided in the grounds and at the entrance, so no problems in this regard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Wow. The protea Westwood Ikoyi, in just two months seems to have gone in reverse. Booking was a nightmare. Arrival, although I was greeted by all non desk staff as a visiting dignitary,the desk staff were particularly tardy, slow and inefficient. There seems to be a whole bunch of new staff? On entering my room, the A/C in the rooms lounge did not work, the safe did not work, the fire alarm was beeping and faulty- this was repaired by ripping it of the roof and removing the unit altogether. The TV in the bedroom was not programmed correctly, the LAN connections in the room did not work. The bar in the dining hall was badly stocked. The service in the dinning area was poor. The room was partially cleaned and used glasses not removed. Soaps and shampoo left on the floor. Expensive and not like it used to be. I love this hotel, and most of the staff but I am not sure I will return.

Room Tip: Any room that is clean, and has wireless is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.9 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
53 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Sojourner By Genesis
The Sojourner By Genesis
#22 of 130 in Lagos
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#25 of 130 in Lagos
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
1.6 mi away
BWC Hotel
BWC Hotel
#35 of 130 in Lagos
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Hotel Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Hotel Ikoyi

Property: Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Address: 22 Awolowo Road, Lagos, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood)
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood Hotel Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwood Hotel, Ikoyi Lagos - Simply Convenient. The Westwood Ikoyi is situated in the heart of the bustling business centre of Ikoyi, on the waterfront of the Cowrie Creek Lagoon, with its own jetty. This ten story building offers 18 Suites, 20 Deluxe Rooms and 18 Standards Rooms, all fitted with a DSTV bouquet, state-of-the-art furnishings and free internet access. We are under new management and have been working hard to upgrade and add to our facilities. A new amazing waterside venue will open in October. We have already added a very popular library and a wonderful new wine list. Plus have seriously increased our internet connectivity. Enjoy a wholesome breakfast or indulgent dinner in our stylish restaurant with family, friends or business associates. Whether visiting for business or leisure, be sure to relax by the pool or visit the fitness centre to complete your stay. The airport is approximately 30km away from The Westwood, and is easily accessible from the hotel via the Third Mainland Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood Hotel Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing