We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unpleasent Stay”
Review of BWC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BWC Hotel
Ranked #33 of 133 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 30 November 2013

the hotel is very and looks old. the breakfast is very poor and you can't find anything to eat except the egg station even the french bread is not available. the internet connection is almost disconnected all the time, the TV channels stayed off for a whole day, the pool is not working, the power cut-off maybe 10 times per day, but the only thing that it makes you up that the staff is a little bit friendly. if you have the option don not stay there

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for BWC Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

When you say "Best Western", has some standard expectations that you could expect. That was not the case here, the let down was on the room, very damp hence was smelly, Did not fell good at all for the 2 nights that i stayed. Toilet was also not that good. Its a old property. Expensive.

Positives - Big room, Good hotel staff, prompt and quick. Breakfast was sufficient and has a decent spread. Good service.Clean restaurant. Veg options very limited.
Would avoid staying on my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are facing the front side of the hotel, they may be better.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amodbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

While I could never fault the friendliness and help from the staff, the hotel is way below par. The bedrooms have only the tiniest windows but unfortunately only looking inward to the internal (covered) courtyard where meals can be eaten. I had to change rooms 3 times due to things from the tv to the wifi not working or due to the bathroom not having a functioning shower. Each time they were accommodating, but this is not a luxurious establishment by any means. The rooms themselves, due to a complete lack of natural light, are either very dark or make you feel like you are in some kind of interrogation room such is the harsh brightness.
Meals were mediocre and on one day they ran out of burger buns completely, something I would have thought was fundamental.
Located directly across from what is intended one day to be reclaimed land on a beach or the style currently dominating Dubai at the moment, but right now it is more akin to a construction site. Completing this atmosphere was the emptied pool looking quite derelict.
I really wish I had spent less time here, but there is nothing nearby and walking alone is not recommended anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewirvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I moved here for 2 days from the overpriced and dated Sheraton Ikeja. Was surprised to find a refurbished place with nice, clean rooms. Stone floors, no nasty carpet. Marble bathrooms, nice design. Staff very helpful, restaurant makes good African food. Breakfast and fast wifi internet included in rate. Famous Nigerian actors were here shooting a movie during my stay - nice distraction. Hotel is in the middle of Bar Beach, walking distance to Michael's restaurant and Silverbird for those not afraid of walking (I felt safe but it is dusty). Only glitch was that none of my credit cards worked for payment, so better travel with a wad of cash if you come here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRManagerBWL, Manager at BWC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Good Day
It was our pleasure to have you here,we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed our wonderful view of Bar Beach. We hope to see you again and also appreciate the kind comments

Tayo Dongo
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 133 in Lagos
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lagos Kuramo Waters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#11 of 133 in Lagos
111 reviews
7.5 mi away
Oakwood Park Hotel
Oakwood Park Hotel
#55 of 133 in Lagos
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BWC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BWC Hotel

Address: Plot 1228 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos 234, Nigeria (Formerly The Island Hotel)
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 133 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BWC Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BWC Hotels provide world class services and facilities that meet your need to achieve the delicate balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BWC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing