We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Blowfish”
Review of The Blowfish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blowfish Hotel
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is good one.And these was the place my company put me up when I first landed in Lagos.The ambiance is very good a combination of africo-arab styles greet you to the reception area and the dinning area.
The pool side is fun and you can enjoy the evenings in a pleasant way.
Food takes time to arrive and you should place your dinner well in advance.
Good hotel with a helpful staff and more than a helpful lady in the reception.

Room Tip: The Tourists should always try to get a room surrounding th epool
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinshuk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for The Blowfish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent a night at the Blowfish and had a good time. The staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. The room was quite well appointed - soft pillows, good sofa and cable TV. However, the most impressive thing for me was that the management had the thoughtfulness to install de-humidifiers in all rooms to counteract the effects of tropical weather. This meant the room smelt fresh at all times. Breakfast was okay although more variety would have helped. There was a beautiful and clean swimming pool.
On the flip side, I was disappointed with the bathroom in my room. The water supply from the taps was coloured and salty. The drain was partially blocked leaving a pool after every shower.
But on the whole, I had a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Its a good, small hotel in a calm area of Victoria Island. Conveniently located with most offices with in 3-4 kms. Cozy rooms with very decent beds. The food options are good too. Swimming pool is great and the tie-up with a near by Gym makes things pretty complete for a sizable stay. Parking etc is a huge problem as areas outside the hotel is very limited.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanket_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice boutique hotel , nice pool and breakfast was good . Rooms are clean and staff are friendly and not pushy. As they say in africa , they stay out of your business. Arrived at 3 am after a long night and staff were around and still helpful

This is outside the bussle of lagos so give it a try .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

when we arrived at the unpretentious gate,i felt it would be a mediocre hotel,but i was in for a pleasant surprise!What The Blowfish lacks in terms of space and size,it made up for with impressive welcome and reception;the staff are so friendly,warm,and attentive,they have a way of making one feel like royalty!The room isn't very spacious but it's spotless,AC is powerful,bed comfy but could do with more or bigger pillows.The bathroom is spotless and boasts of all the amenities,with some extra thrown in!I liked the decor and ambiance too...very arty.
Nice pool too,but the icing on the cake was the menu....Italian,Indian,Chinese,you name it,i had Chinese for lunch and Indian for dinner...absolutely divine.
Would definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touristbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at Blow Fish for a night and will say it was an average hotel with a good price. It has a nice swimming pool which I was unable to use as it rained in the morning. The breakfast buffet was good, not a lot of options but what was available was good. The staff were also friendly and helpful. The toiletries (shampoo and conditioner) were used by the guests before me and not replenished. At night, I also had the problem with the tap water that others complained about. When I used it to brush my teeth, it tasted. The internet was also very slow.

Blow Fish like most hotels I have been to in the country seem to struggle with the small details that help it maintain the standards it began with. I think if they can pay attention to details and sort out these little issues it'll be a much better hotel. You can't argue about the price though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spillhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Was a guest in this hotel on business for 3 days.
Staff very friendly and looking to help - not pushy at all as in some places in Nigeria.
Also had a problem with yellow tap water which was weird but it was fixed after a day.
Room was small but sufficient and it had a balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. My room was over the parking lot and close to the street so it wasn't very quiet but not too bad.
Loved the added conveniences that i wasn't expecting -small fridge, slippers, dehumidifier,big shower head with good water pressure and excellent WiFi.
They also have a pool - nice size and very clean.
Breakfast could be better. It's complimentary which is good but it doesn't offer much- pastries and cornflakes with cheese spread and za'atar and if you make it on time you might have a small selection of fruit left. There are a few restaurant choices at the hotel itself. Sampled the Thai menu from the purple restaurant and it was good.
All in all a good experience - wouldn't mind coming back (:

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper make sure you don't face the entrance/parking lot. Noisy until late n...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walid-El-Zyr, General Manager at The Blowfish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing your feedback, and for the comments about the water and the breakfast.

We had an issue with our water filters, and this was rectified within 48 hours, as you kindly mentioned in your comment.

With regards to our breakfast, we do offer as well hot items such as bacon, sausages, beans, and eggs. It is also included in the complimentary breakfast.
You can find it on display at the bar of the restaurant. Our waiters were supposed to guide you and ask for your preferred omelet, which is also included in your complimentary buffet breakfast.
I will brief the restaurant manager to retrain this team on being informative and offer the necessary assistance to our guests at breakfast.

Thank you once again for staying with, and we look forward to welcome you again at The Blowfish Hotel.

Best regards,

Walid El Zyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 133 in Lagos
54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#28 of 133 in Lagos
20 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#29 of 133 in Lagos
293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 133 in Lagos
692 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blowfish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blowfish Hotel

Address: 17 Oju Olobun Street | Off Bishop Oluwole Street, Lagos 2347066, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blowfish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blowfish Hotel is the ultimate oasis of comfort and style, where sophistication and attitude seamlessly blend with timeless design. A modern boutique hotel in Lagos, the Blowfish Hotel is proof that the new rules of elegance are crisp, clean, and modern, without fuss or complexity. With chosen furnishing, floor lighting and bedside lamps that harmoniously balance history and modernity, the Blowfish Hotel is more than a place to stay, it is THE place to be. Our luxurious amenities including fine cotton linen, plush down comforter and pillows, flat screen TV, in-room wireless internet connection and a soothing bath will leave you relaxed and refreshed. Enjoy our fascinating swimming pool, gym and WiFi in all areas. Conveniently located in the heart of Victoria Island, we offer indoor and outdoor facilities and we always aim to achieve the highest standards in our service delivery and customer relations. Our professional staff are devoted to satisfying your needs with passion and attention to detail. Welcome to The Blowfish Hotel, where service meets taste and comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Blowfish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing