We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Baked Wheat!”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Baked Wheat!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I went on Christmas Day as part of my honeymoon travel, and I did enjoy the 2 day sleep-over. The facilities are top-class, well built and very functional (I would be surprised if otherwise).

The location is serene and in a quiet corner of Lagos, away from the daily hustle and bustle. I got to know that the hotel management re-constructed the length of the road in front of the site as part of their corporate social responsibility, and it added value and ease to its accessibility.

The food, particularly the breakfast is the icing on top of the cake. I had to invite my family and friends (14 in no.) for a Thank-You lunch on our last day of our visit, and they were blown away with the variety and superb taste of the food available.

Well done to Simon Grindrod (Wheatbaker MD) and his crew, and I know they would maintain the high standards they have set.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Ayo T

Thank you for your feedback. We rely very much on detailed observations from all our valued Guests.

The Team and I are further encouraged to maintain and improve our offering to Guests such as yourself as we know that you have many other choices of Hotels.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    76
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
18
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was really superior. CLEAN!! Loved it! LOVED THE NESPRESSO MACHINE IN THE ROOM!!!! The staff were very friendly and i looked forward for breakfast in the morning (freshly baked bread and pastries!!!!!!!!) I think I gained 1KG (or more..) in 4 days... :) Will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rza03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Rza03

Many thanks for your encouraging and valuable observations regarding your stay with us at The Wheatbaker. The team are pleased you found our service to be satiisfactory.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and i stayed for a week, totally enjoyed our time there. The service was one of the best when compared to european standards and so was the decor.
Would totally stay there again.

Room Tip: The pool view is nice. We stayed in a Standard King and that was totally fine for us, did not feel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Daniel A

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback. Please contact us again should you ever have plans to return to Lagos.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 130 in Lagos
141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
365 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Property: The Wheatbaker
Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing