We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed at the Wheatbaker for over two weeks and I plan to stay there again next time I am in Lagos. I really enjoyed my stay because the security was very good, all the staff were very professional and the hotel itself was impeccable. Best of all, the bed was so comfortable. Even the sheets felt good. It was wonderful to be able to sleep so well in a bed other than at home.And it was quite and peaceful. No loud generators. The water was clean and clear (if you know Lagos, you'll know why I mention that). Everything was perfect.
I am not a fan of big hotels, especially not in Nigeria, because in my experience there are always 'girls' floating about the corridors at night. Nothing like that goes on at the Wheatbaker! It's very civilized. The staff know the guests and the security guards are very discerning.
The hotel is pretty stylish and trendy, designed by well-known architect, Mosun Ogunbanjo. You'll catch the who's-who of Nigerian business meeting at the bar every evening and on Sunday, high-society gather here for brunch. You may even run into a few international musicians and movie stars if you are lucky! It's expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: If you prefer to over look the pool you can ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catherine Moji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Catherine Moji R

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I are very grateful for your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    74
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
36
17
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

In all standards the best hotel in Lagos. The attention to detail, visibility of management, the comfort. The rooms are so clean. The waiters wait on your every need. You can't get lost in the crowd at the wheatbaker! I spent the first few days of my honeymoon at this hotel before leaving for Seychelles. The experience was so warm I decided to spend a few more days. When I called to book the hotel, they were so thoughtful to ask if I was celebrating anything. I told them was spending my wedding night at the hotel and they decided to give me a generous discount and a wedding night surprise of roses, champagne and scented candles and dinner. My wife can't stop talking about the wheatbaker experience, even while in Seychelles.
We definitely will be back at the wheatbaker.

Ayodeji

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dejouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Dejouk

Congratulations on your recent marriage! The Wheatbaker Team and I are honoured to have played a role in making this special occasion memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you visit Lagos again.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I have spent many, many years in Nigeria and eight months out of the year I actually live in Apapa (where my office is located) eight months out of the year. On the weekends all my social events are in the VI area and, not wanting to make the precarious trip back to Apapa in the wee hours of the morning, I prefer to stay at hotels during those times. Consequently, I have stayed in many places from small boutique-style hotels to larger properties in and around Lagos but have never been satisfied with any of these places. A few weeks ago I decided to give The Wheatbaker a try and, trufthfully, I was absolutely floored that this type of property existst here in Nigeria!

The Wheatbaker is an exceptionally clean hotel with very well appointed spacious, conteporary rooms. The rooms are very, very nice with large modern bathrooms. The lighting in the room is well thought out and is tailor-made for creating a mood, which you don't often see in many hotels anywhere. The service at The Wheatbaker is good good for any world standard, let alone for standards here in Nigeria. The restaurant is wonderful and the bar is lively yet not 'over-the-top'.

All in all, I would have to say that The Wheatbaker is heads and shoulders above and beyond every other hotel in Lagos and is absolutely THE BEST hotel property here. I am about to spend my third weekend in a row there...and very much looking forward to it.

Room Tip: For the price differential, I personally prefer the Executive Luxury King room, especially if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nofalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Blazer 1115

Thank you very much for your review which means a lot to the team and I. I note you are a very well travelled reviewer which adds further value to your feedback.

The Wheatbaker team are encouraged by your positive observations and pledge to maintain the standard of service we offer to you and all our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend and this hotel exceeded all our expectations from the friendly, courteous and efficient staff to the superb food and good sized rooms. This is tranquillity in the centre of a vibrant city the location is tucked away from the hustle bustle yet with easy access to the islands main attractions. A manager is always visibly present and customers are treated with the utmost care and attention. Nothing was too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxx186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear xxxx186338

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I are grateful for your patronage and for your positive comments regarding our Service.

We are very aware that our Guests have choices as to where to stay and we value each and every Guest.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I was in Lagos for the George Benson show and decided on the wheat baker based on reviews I had read. It was indeed a pleasurable experience especially for Lagos.
The room was exquisite, the club sandwich I had was tasty and the chapman was truly what it used to be in the days gone by.
I really felt like a superstar.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo40Nigeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Solo40Nigeria

Thank you very much for providing your comments relating to you your recent stay with us on the occasion of the George Benson concert in Lagos.

I am happy to hear that you remain satisfied with our product and service following a year of operations!

Please be assured that all will be done to maintain and improve The Wheatbaker and we hope you will choose us again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Having stayed at a few very average hotels in Lagos, I am pleased to have found a hotel which was very good by international standards and excellent for Nigeria!

Staff were great, room was very comfortable and everything worked. Gym was pleasant, restaurant was ok but nothing special.

All very expensive for what it was, but I guess thats the price to find something comfortable in this city.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_J_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Don_J_London

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos. Your views are all the more valuable given your extensive travel as a Senior Reviewer.

We will endevour to keep our restaurant offerings new and exciting, particularly as you intend to visit us again in the future.

Once again, many thanks for your patronage.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The service was spot on hospitality

The wheatbaker hotel is located in a nice quiet environment. Away from all the noise in the city but very close to the best part of Lagos.

Room service is excellent

Bath room is awesome

And the hotel is so so clean

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear John A

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us - we are always very eager to recieve input from our Guests both good and bad as this is what helps us reach higher and further!

I hope you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Property: The Wheatbaker
Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing