We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Lagos”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The new Wheatbaker in Lagos is by far the best option now in the city. Good rooms, albeit fairly small, clean, good wireless, excellent breakfast and very good service from the staff. It will get good competition from the new Intercon soon, but it can stand its ground.
Well done in market that needs more professiona business hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Bulgenes

Thank you for making the effort to provide feedback on your stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Your comments are much appreciated and have been carefully noted to ensure we improve.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have been to the wheatbaker hotel for about a month in total in the last 9 months, and what a brilliant place. The Nespresso machine in each room and the brand new fittings, not to mention the great big bath makes it the perfect place to stay if you have to spend time in Lagos.
The food is excellent, and I would recommend the line fish. Breakfast is pretty much the same every day, but of good quality.

Room Tip: They are pretty much all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Nicholas K

Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker.

It is very useful for us to have such input as it greatly assists us in constantly striving to improve and refresh our offering.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have recently stayed for a couple of weeks at the Wheatbaker. Simon, Gerald and the whole team made the stay extremely enjoyable. No sign of the tiredness that one so often sees and experiences at other hotels in Lagos. Fantastic, new and fresh, with great service to back it up. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Willem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Willem R

On behalf of the Wheatbaker Team, may I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are not only grateful for your encouraging comments but also for your patronage which is never taken for granted.

We know that our Guests have many options and will always try to go the extra mile for each and every one of of our valued customers.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If i had the money i would stay at the Wheatbaker everytime. It is owned and managed by Legacy hotels with a competent management team. The hotel is located centrally in Ikoyi. The rooms are extremely well appointed, immaculate and luxurious with blisteringly fast wifi internet connecitivity. The food is very good but standby for extremely high prices in the restaurants.

There is a nice pool area but similar the bar area is quite small and a little cramped. The gym is really good with modern equipment. there is an abundance of private secuirty guards both inside and outside the hotel, i felt safe at all times. They have a monster on site 'cat' generator, so when the mains power cuts (as it always does in Lagos about 30 times a day), the inconvenience is minor.

If you can get a cheap rate, go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelguru85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Hotelguru85

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

We have carefully noted all the points you have raised in order that we can ensure discerning Guests such as yourself receive on the best we can offer.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lagos soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

If I had to sum it up in one sentence, then it would be very simple - this is the best hotel I've ever been to in Nigeria. Period.

And I stayed in many different hotels, usually favouring the Protea chain, simply because there was nothing better available. Until now.

Essentially, this will be my home away from home, whenever I am in Lagos - I don't even want to try anything else.

The rooms are spotless and well laid out, staff are super courteous, with management offering to resolve any issues immediately, breakfast is free and decent, the location is great - what more can someone ask for?

As the icing on the cake, every room comes complete with a Nespresso Cube machine and coffee capsules. Being a Nespresso owner and lover, I find that to be a very nice touch. I'd go for different flavours of coffee, than what they have, however I now know I can bring my own.

Definite repeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear DrSavant

Your review received yesterday created great excitement amongst the Wheatbaker Team as it is encouraging to know that Guests such as yourself - having reviewed in 40 cities - have found our hotel to be to your liking.

We will also extend our range of coffee pods in the event that a Guest requests one outside the range we offer in the room.

Your words meant a great deal and we genuinely appreciate your input.

Thank you.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Quality build, good amenities & friendly staff. Rooms are spacious, clean and well serviced.
Excellent location on Ikoyi Island. Security etc are consistent and conspicuous. The restaurants are good & food has a good variety. Overall, nothing is cheap in Lagos - but it was value for money compared with most of the competitive set. Having previously lived in Nigeria I have seen a fair selection of hotels and restaurants there. Recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank ALP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear ALP777

All of us here at The Wheatbaker were thrilled to receive your review and it has been circulated to the team to both assist and encourage us to maintain and improve our offering to discerning guests such as yourself.

We are very grateful and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Previous reviews spot on - I particularly liked the fact that the location is in a semi residential area so very quiet location. Staff were excellent in all areas, gym well equipped and rooms very comfortable. Being a coffee addict, the nespresso machine was a welcome start whilst getting ready in the mornings. Breakfast offered everything required and room service club sandwich, one of the best ive had. Burgers in the bar pretty decent as well. Costs, well Lagos isnt a cheap place to do business but ive paid more and paid less in West Africa previously. Hotel was busy so clearly not putting people off. Unfortunately they had a drain problem on my last morning but there was a lot of banging going on so sounded like they were taking immediate action to sort the problem. Usual credit card machine problem that I have suffered previously in Lagos, again seen here, so when paying had to do manual transaction.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Middlegam

Thank you for providing this review of The Wheatbaker, Lagos. your comments are particularly appreciated given that you have obviously travelled extensively.

Every individual team-member here at the Wheatbaker is dedicated to ensuring you return and it is feedback such as yours that helps us improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Lagos.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 135 in Lagos
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 135 in Lagos
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £263 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing