We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and good service”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have just stayed in the Wheatbaker on my second visit to Lagos and you would be hard pressed to beat the excellent level of service offered. The hotel itself is very comfortable and the rooms are well designed and equipped, although mine was slightly noisy. The food is good and the staff can not do enough to help you. What is particularly nice is the presence of the managers, even at 7am on Saturday, who are on hand to talk to the guests and to smooth out any slight issues that may occur. If you are visiting Lagos this is definitely the place to stay and I will look forward to returning if or when I am next in Lagos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Geoff S

On behalf of the team here at The Wheatbaker, I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of our hotel.

We are grateful for your encouragement and your patronage. We never take this for granted given the many hotel choices travelers to Lagos now have.

Please accept our assurances that we will continue to deliver the standards valued Guests such as yourself deserve.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have every reason to believe that this is a (the?) top hotel in Lagos, especially if you were to conduct business in Ikoyii. By international standards, it is a good 4-star hotel (although it is priced as a 5-star.) The rooms are clean, and the furnishings are good, but this is not Four Seasons/Mandarin O/St Regis stuff by any stretch of imagination. On service, people are extremely friendly and try very hard to please, although there are lapses (clueless receptionists, questionable timing on laundry as it is outsourced, etc.) The common areas (bar, lobby) are too small, so at peak hours, it cam be hard to find a place to sit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Lam N

On behalf of The Wheatbaker team, allow me to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

Whilst we do try hard to be the best we can be, there will always be room for improvement.

If you could assist us with further detail of your particular experience of Reception and our Laundry service it would greatly benefit us. I will write to you privately in that regard.

You are clearly a very well travelled Guest and accordingly any ideas as to how we can better deliver the standard you deserve would be greatly appreciated.

Once again, many thanks for your patronage and feedback and we hope you will choose to visit us again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay when you're in Lagos. Very safe, clean, friendly & professional staff. Especially the Resident manager who's alway around and vincible to attend to guest.
If you like boutique hotels, I'll recommend The Wheatbaker Hotel.
It's simply beautiful.

MHF

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank MHF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear MHF01

We are all very grateful for your kind comments about our hotel and are pleased that you found our standards at the level you deserve.

I hope to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is as good as it gets in Lagos. The service is extremely good for Nigeria. The rooms are modern and comfortable, they even have nespresso machines. The restaurants are nice, but expensive (what isn't in ikoyi or vi). The only shortcoming is the pool, which is very tiny. There are newer and larger international chains in lagos now, but the service here is still much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Allie F

Thanks from all of us here at The Wheatbaker for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have noted your comments and will certainly ensure we work hard to retain your trust in us as a hotel you would hopefully choose again.

If we build another hotel in the future we will be sure to make the pool bigger for you!

Your support is valued, thanks again.

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in one of Lagos jewels namely the Wheat Baker .The staff and service where always of the highest standard as well as the many varieties of excellent and well prepared meals.

The hotel management was always visible and very approachable and a thank you to the GM and Mr. Sandip who where both very helpful.

All around a great stay and I look forward to seeing you again soon

Raymond

Room Tip: All rooms are very secure with security posted on all floors 24 hrs a day the pool view is nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Raymond E

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us.

The Team and I know that international and domestic travelers such as yourself have many options when choosing a Hotel. We will always seek to justify the trust you place in us.

We hope you will visit Nigeria again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My visit to the Wheatbaker Hotels with my family was amazing. We enjoy every mionute of it. Every thing about the hotel was Pure Class. My Child almost did not want to leave, my Wife who is a conservative was sure she will be back there soon. I am more than impresssed by the place. Keep up the good and quality work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torrynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Torrynno

On behalf of the Team and I, thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review.

We are all very encouraged that your family visit was enjoyable and we will strive to improve and maintain this standard.

We hope you will choose to visit us again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel stands out as an oasis of delight in a desert of mediocrity. The welcome, the ambiance, the quality of decor help ensure that from arrival to departure the customer is King. New hotels come and go - the Wheatbaker remains a clear head and shoulders above the 'also rans'. Room 205 was that good it could have been in a hotel anywhere. The hustle and bustle of Lagos life disappeared for a night and a day. Most welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear CEO G

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I value all feedback, positive or otherwise, as this helps us to maintain and improve our Service to our valued Guests.

We hope you will choose to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 135 in Lagos
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 135 in Lagos
390 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £255 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing