We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at The WheatBaker last year and was impressed with the level of service and staff. Everything ran like clock work, the complementary bottle of wine and fruit basket was the icing on the cake.
Keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Stephen B

Thank you for your very kind feedback following your recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker.

We are very grateful for your patronage, especially given the many choices available to guests such as yourself.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the Wheatbaker for five days and have nothing but praise for the hotel. I would say people are friendly, especially in this hotel, staff helped with all information I needed, service was good and quality of food was more than good.

Positives:
1. Good security, which is a must in Lagos.
2. Comfortable room, nice king size bed, spacious and decently equipped bathroom, all other basic amenities like swimming pool, gym and restaurant fully functional and well maintained.
3. Good food and decent menu.
4. Located in Ikoyi which is not too far from main business locations in city.
5. Clean and well sanitized.
6. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Opeyemi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Opeyemi B

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback - it is only through the comments of our Guests that we know if we are getting it right.

The Team and I will strive to never disappoint each and every one of our Guests, without whom The Wheatbaker would not be where it is.

Thanks again

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have, during the past year, used the Wheatbaker on many occasions - for social as well as for business purposes. I have experienced the service as very good and the catering of good quality. Simon Grindrod, the GM, and his team is always available to offer assistance where and when needed. They have good knowledge of the local environment and shares this information appropriately. I would certainly recommennd The Wheatbaker Hotel in Lagos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMLAGOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear GMLAGOS

Thank from us all for your comments which, good or bad, help us to maintain and improve our offering to you - our valued Guest.

We are grateful for your patronage and hope you will choose to use us again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I am coming to Lagos for business more than 20 times during last 4 years and stayed in various hotels. Wheatbaker is by far best hotel in Lagos. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is great. Last week I had great steak in restaurant with some friends.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Ivo B

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us.

The Team and I take all feedback very seriously as a barometer of our efforts to provide the highest standards possible.

We are pleased to enjoyed your stay and very much hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The best hotel in Lagos by far. The rooms are very comfortable, and are complete with their own coffee machine. The bathrooms are luxurious. The buffet restaurant has top quality food and a tremendous menu. Reception staff are very friendly and efficient, as are the doormen and bell hops. Rooms are competitively priced for Lagos, though bar prices can be a little expensive. No complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_Ingamells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Peter Ingamells

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you found our Service and facilities to be of a satisfactory standard and this encourages us to strive harder to maintain and improve our offering to valued Guests such as yourself.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have been making the long trip to Lagos on business for years, having stayed in at least 8 different hotels. The Wheatbaker tops them all, not just in comfort and cuisine, but in the highly trained staff. They listen, they understand the issue and they come up with a solution. The cost of good hotels in Lagos is high, but The Wheatbaker provides a good return on the investment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear TR3

Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your stay with us. We never take for granted the patronage of each one of our valued Guests as we know there are many other hotel options to chose from.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

[This review is only for the restaurant, not the hotel.]
The Wheatbaker was a nice restaurant. For Lagos. But it probably wouldn't make it on the level that it is trying to exist in any other major city. It was clean, and the food was decent, and the selection was more than fair. The service was very good; however, I attribute that more to the waiters' recognition of my travel companion, rather than just good service, since I saw others vying unsucessfully for their attention.
The atmosphere was noisy and a bit crowded. When full, and it appeared the type of locale that was ALWAYS full, it was a bit uncomfortable manipulating the buffet without hitting patrons' tables.
The restaurant gave the impression of trying too hard to be the "it" place to be and be seen. The patrons obviously wanted to be seen as being in an extremely upscale and haute couture restaurant, and this one didn't fit the bill. It wasn't a bad restaurant - far from it - but it was rather pedestrian considering the prices it charged and the attitude it attempted to present.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Amnesty1

The Team and I thank you for your valuable feedback following your visit to our Deli restaurant and your impressions which are shared with the our team. Your observations are critical to our delivering the service distinguished patrons such as yourself expect from us.

We do hope you will visit us again when next in Lagos.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 135 in Lagos
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 135 in Lagos
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £263 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing