We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wheatbaker
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George(Lagos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
235
82
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
82
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasure of stayingexcellent hotelbuffet lunchhis teamclean hotelrooms are spaciousvisiting lagoscourteous staffenjoyed my stayhome away from homevictoria islandsouthern sunsimonnigeriabusinesssecuritygym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is my favorite morning/afternoon/evening-meeting venue in Lagos!
It is small and intimate, the staff are helpful, (and still the same ones since the hotel opened... a huge testament to the establishement), EXTREMELY woman-friendly, (as it is one place a woman can go to on her own, open up a book or a laptop and enjoy a hot coffee without fear of being harrassed), the food is good and it always smells lovely!
A place I'd recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMEGbadebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear MMEGbadebo

Thank you on behalf of The Wheatbaker Team for taking the time to convey your observations of our hotel following your recent visit.

We do try very hard to create a refined oasis of calm and service for our valued patrons.

I am particularly pleased that, as a lady visiting alone, you felt both safe and pampered. We understand the value of creating friends who view us as a home away from home.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great place to unwind and relax after the bustling traffic and congestion of Lagos. By most accounts the best hotel in Lagos, with a boutique-hotel feel and great F&B outlets to enjoy fantastic meals. Very friendly and helpful staff with very visible management throughout. Spacious and well-equipped rooms, with huge bathrooms and all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world.
Superb breakfast buffet with a very attentive team of waiters and chefs. Willie & Francis stand out as the stars of espresso making ;-)
Whether you enjoy a meal in the bar, the lounge, next to the pool or the more formal dining room, the service is excellent and the quality is top. The GM (Simon) always going the extra mile to make every stay memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the pool area are quieter. But rooms facing the pool area have a better view - and sunrise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Riaan71

The Wheatbaker Team are grateful for your comments conveyed following your stay with us recently.

We know that travelers have many hotel choices and therefore never take your satisfaction and comfort for granted.

I hope to welcome you back to The Wheatbaker again when you next visit Lagos.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Centrally located, ultra-safe, really nicely modern decorated rooms, swimming pool, really good buffet restaurant, cosy bar with outside terrace, best steak-house in Nigeria, this is by far the BEST HOTEL IN NIGERIA, ive been going there since it opened, the prices arent cheap but its definitvely worth it, forget all the other places. For business or pleasure in Lagos you cant find better than the Wheatbaker!

Room Tip: Ask a high floor and not facing the swimming pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMEG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear DMEG86

On behalf of my dedicated Wheatbaker Team, I would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel. We are grateful for your patronage.

We are very pleased to see you have enjoyed your visits to us and that we have maintained delivery of your service expectations since we opened in 2011.

Should you ever have any particular requirement of us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We remain at your Service,

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff and amenities were spot on for a little oasis in an otherwise hectic city. I stayed 4 nights while at a friends wedding and do not have one complaint. Very large rooms, good quality bedding and excellent breakfasts. I was surprised at the level of service as well. The small pool is a nice touch too if you are looking to catch a few rays while there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Emma D

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Wheatbaker.

The team and I are happy to welcome travelers both international and domestic and try to ensure every individual receives the best service we can offer.

I hope very much that you will choose to stay with us again if you visit Lagos in the future.

With thanks and best wishes

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently visited the Wheatbaker for lunch and for dinner, also looking at the rooms. We were staying in the Southern Sun, we will not be staying there any more now we have seen the Wheatbaker.

Clean, excellent service and good food! Rooms are lovely too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Oily L

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad your wife and yourself enjoyed your visit to The Wheatbaker.

We are delighted that you were satisfied with the Service we offer and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Lagos.

Thanks again,

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews