We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Africa”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best boutique hotel in Africa”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Let's explain this simply: when it comes to hotels, there are 3 scenarios that play out: fantastic finishes and terrible servce/great service in not so great atmosphere/ or plain rubbish.

Once in a while though, there is that one rare bird:

Wheatbaker embodies class for a price and is worth it ! Love the human touch from the staff, food is great and they think of everything to make you comfortable.

Gerald-the resident manager-is a true star in hospitality. Hotel schools should give him a lecturing position get his insight!

Note-hotel is in a central position for business conduct.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ravi_K13524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ravi_Kalaichelvan

Thank you very much for your very encouraging feedback which drives us to reach for higher standards.

Your feedback has been conveyed to the Team and we are all very grateful for your patronage.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    74
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
17
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great food, friendly staff, nice facilities and spacious rooms, wonderful manager(Gerald) that is extremely hospitable and went out of his way if there was any requests. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others looking for a place in Lagos!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weater78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Weater 78

On behalf of our Wheatbaker Team, may I thank you for taking the time to provide your impressions of your recent visit.

We are very proud of our Staff and Management and I will be sure to convey your comments to our Gerald.

Thanks again for your patronage.

Kind Regards

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A really good option in Lagos, better than the competition on virtually every measure. It's smaller, the rooms are better equipped the bar feels more relaxed the staff appear to care more and the restaurant whilst far from cheap, where is in Lagos, is very good.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear David H

The Wheatbaker Team and I are grateful for your review and are pleased you found our hotel to be of a satisfactory standard.

We do hope you will choose to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Whether you are seeking a weekend respit from the everyday grind, or traveling to Lagos for business, The Wheatbaker is a very lovely establishment. The rooms are very modern and elegant, and the staff are top notch. I thoroughly enjoyed dinner there, and I must say, my hostess for the evening...can't exactly remember her name..though I think it was Shalewah...was the most exquisite creature I have ever met. Her demeanor and attention to patrons was magnificent!! She should have her own class of impeccable customer service. I would go back there just to have her serve me again and again. Overall, I would absolutely recommend The Wheatbaker as a great place to stay in Lagos, Nigeria.
F. Paul
International Coffee Distributor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear HOT4JAVA

Thank you very much for providing your observations of your recent visit to The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and will strive to ensure we maintain the highest level of Service and Quality in all that we do.

The Team and I hope you will choose to stay with us again if you visit Lagos in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent experience in Lagos.. The hotel is in a very good shape with excellent services. Well secured and very clean. Room space and cleanliness were above my expectations.
The room is a bit expensive and their were noise near my room at 4 AM (probably caused by floor security).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mohamed H

Thank you for your observations following your stay at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I are grateful to you for taking the time to give us your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. However, We have reiterated the importance of maintaining silence on our guest corridors in order to preserve our discreet and serene environment.

We hope you will return to us if you visit Lagos again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Second time in this hotel in a few months.
It is really a pleasure to come back and to appreciate the consistency of the hospitality service provided.
Great staff, perfect and professional management ready to answer to all client's needs.
Good interiors, perfect status of maintenance and cleaning.
Don't miss it if you are in Lagos.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sid_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Sid_italy

On behalf of The Wheatbaker Team, may I thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that you have found our standards of service to be satisfactory during your stays and we know that this requires daily commitment to ensure that valued Guests such as yourself return again in the future.

I am grateful for your continued patronage and invite you to contact me personally should there be anything you require from us during your next visit to Lagos.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Wheatbaker is my first choice for my coffee meetings (the best cappuccino in town!!!); for the many lifestyle and art events which I put up in Lagos ; and most importantly for my valued personal retreats (staycations I like to call them) which I indulge in from time to time when I leave my home in Lagos and check in to The Wheatbaker for peace, sleep and some pamper time.

From the Nespresso machines to the silky bath robes in the rooms; from the most courteous staff in the country to the fantastic conference facilities ; from the best spaghetti Arrabiata I have had outside of Florence to the beautiful art-infused decor...The Wheatbaker is definitely my favorite hotel in Nigeria and I dare say one of my favorites in the world.

It is not cheap but it is definitely worth every Naira!!!

Keep the standard high guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugoma_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Ugoma A

Thank you for your comments about our hotel, we are pleased you have chosen us as your home away from home.

We know that Lagosians have many choices as to where to go for meetings and social events and we are proud you have chosen us.

Consider yourself one of the Wheatbaker Family!

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
661 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 130 in Lagos
136 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Property: The Wheatbaker
Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing