We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Bunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesney Hotel

Chesney Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chesney Hotel
Ranked #7 of 411 Lagos B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best of the Bunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in 3 hotels during my stay in Nigeria, 2 in Lagos. The Regent Hotel and the Chesney. Our stay at the Chesney was far better than our stay in the Regent. They offered a good breakfast, free wi-fi (although connection wasn't always consistent), good water pressure and hot showers (which were not so easy to find), a full bathroom and a half bath in each room. Very clean and relatively modern amenities. Great service. The only negative I had was they fumigation that they did while we were staying here was pretty unpleasant. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for people traveling to Victoria Island.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were good enough, I traveled with 11 people split between 5 rooms. All 5 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GR8MCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is perfect for the business traveler. It is located within Victoria Island, one of the best places to live and work within Lagos. The hotel offers free WiFi, it's not that fast though but usable. The hotel staff are always friendly and happy to assist. The kitchen could however do with some improvement. Firstly, most of the foods in the breakfast buffet are too oily and they keep getting finished. Secondly, there always seem to be insufficient utensils. Sometimes there are no bowls for cereals, no plates for the buffet, no forks and knives on the tables etc. You almost always have to ask the waiters to bring you the utensils or cutlery. Apart from that, Chesney is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This is a clean Oasis in the heart of Victoria Island, I came for business and stayed for a week. Very clean, very quiet, centric, nice decoration, perfect matrix, pillows, bath tube that you can really use, hanged flat TV, proper table to work, the internet works properly!, safe in your room, etc, all you expect for it price that really worth. You really wont feel in lagos. P.S. good quality full breakfast is included, but meals (30-40 usd), however there are a few restaurants walking from the hotel and a big chain supermarket.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_Rodriguez_Lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Was glad to stay here, nice location, good food, pleasant staff and excellent rooms. A good business hotel if you're in Lagos and I wouldn't mind going back. Not too far from some good local bars and restaurants and we felt safe enough.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here for an afternoon while on a trip to Nigeria for work. Never stayed the night but the rooms are fantastic and the place is very very chilled out. The staff who takes your bags to your room don't expect a tip like most places. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and defo the best hotel I've stayed while in Lagos

Room Tip: Ask for a suite! Massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Beautiful, Mordern, clean and secured hotel in a great location in Victoria Island. Friendly staff, spacious room, good rate in comparison to hotel standard in Nigeria. Could not find any fault with this hotel, look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

One of the friendliest hotels I have come across in a while. The staff are courteous and have a big smile at all times and ever willing to serve even at odd hours. The food is good, the breakfast buffet has a nice mix of continental and local cuisine and the rooms are comfortable, cosy and clean. Due to space constraints the pool and gym are small and serve more to say they have the facilities rather than serve the purpose. An excellent place to stay in Victoria Island where hotel rates are exorbitant. There is adequate place for parking and security is good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isaac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#22 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#29 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#39 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.9 mi away
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesney Hotel

Property: Chesney Hotel
Address: 37 Saka Tinubu | Victoria Island, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chesney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chesney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing