We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 2 in Lagos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Lagos
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The intercon tries hard to topple The Wheatbaker as the best hotel in Lagos. The service is very good. Food is OK but the restuarant still has this little "smell" to it that might be well worth getting rid off. Room service doesn't work too well - could not understand what the man was saying.
The issue they will face is sustainability of the building and service. But so far so good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear bulgenes,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to your standard. I apologise that our room service felt short of your expectation and I have also shared this feedback with the relevant department. We appreciate all feedback as it give us the opportunity to improve on them.

I trust we would be welcoming you back soon I look forward to meeting with you on your return visit.

Best Regards,


Elizabeth Olawoye,

Guest Experience Champion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The title says it all… the hotel has potential… the hotel appears to have been built then like many other projects stopped due to what was probably a funding issue. Then you can see the hotel was finished but with a smaller budget. The final fit/finish just does;t match the rest of the hotel. The lifts are atrocious - the theory is good - you press your floor on s keypad and the programming routes a lift that will only stop on your floor and others nearby. So in theory it should be faster. But in reality the programming gets overloaded in peak hours and especially when he hotel is full. You can wait over 10 mins for a like (and with a 22 story hotel walking is not really an option).
Some of the staff is very good… they take personal ownership of your issues and they resolve it. But others need a good kick pin the rear… no drive, seem like they are doing you a favour when you ask for something (e.g,, At breakfast when you ask for a cup of coffee).
Sleep quality is OK - on some nights. The bedding is very nice.., and you can ask for different pillows if the ones in the room do not suit you. But some of the pillows you get smell sour - like they've been in a damp room for too long. And (sorry to say)unfortunately they are sometimes delivered by a person that is in desperate need of a bath -- and that permeates the pillows that are delivered. Also, there is an annoying noise coming from the loud speakers every few hours. This happens in ALL rooms.. so there is clearly something wrong with the system.
An of course there is the power issue. Yes this is Nigeria and power drops are common -- but this hotel does not have a generator. So you may be in the gym running and the machine loses peer and you are in the dark. Or in your room and then suddenly in the dark. The lifts lose power and you are stuck - either inside or outside waiting while the system re-boots. There is even a rumor that in February a global CEO was at her company's conference at the hotel and the power dropped - and she was stuck there for 10 minutes. Sounds very possible!
In my view the hotel has a long way to go to meet Intercontinental standards - both with physical and staff issues. The expectation with the Intercontinental brand is high -- hopefully the hotel can get there. But until they do, they should NOT be charing Intercontinental prices. They are just too high for what is delivered.

Room Tip: At the end, away from the lifts. Rooms 02,04 and even 06 are near the lifts (where you will hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMOost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear MMOost,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a comprehensive review on your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it is an opportunity to improve on our services.

Thank you for positive comments on our team members and their taking ownership,I will be sure to pass the compliment to the team. Additionally we are glad you found the beddings' in the room rather comfortable as well as your room. We however regret that your overall stay was less than perfect. I will be sharing your comments with the appropriate departments as we work on the areas flagged.

Thank you for choosing to stay us, and we hope to welcome you back when next your travel brings you to Lagos.

Best Regards,

Elizabeth Olawoye

Guest Experience

InterContinental Lagos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been travelling to Lagos fairly frequently and I have stayed in a numerous hotels. Intercontinental is definitely the best. It is a new hotel so all equipment is high technology. The rooms are spacious and I loved the window separation between the bathroom and bedroom. Nothing like watching tv while taking a bath. All of the staff is very knowledgeable so you can ask anyone anything and they can fix it for you or refer you the right person. I want to particularly mention Peter from the swimming pool bar who was very friendly and explained me how to subscribe to the rewards program, which I certainly will.
overall it is certainly worth the price.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metebalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Metebalam

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Lagos. I was glad to read your positive review.

I am particularly glad to read your comments regarding our room design as well as our level of service. I will certainly share your comments with the team, especially Peter who made your stay a memorable one and for enrolling you to our program.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and I am look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kevin Kamau

Executive Assistant Manager

InterContinental Lagos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I was happy to revisit the hotel and confirmed that its the best base in VI .
The facilities and service are of top standard.
Special thanks for the amsizing team of the 21st floor club lounge who made my stay a real treat, who are there for any need and assistance.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Shlo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Shlo73

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this great review of the InterContinental Lagos.

We are delighted to constantly be meeting your expectations and are happy that you find our facilities and services to be excellent. Thank you for your comments regarding our Club InterContinental Lounge, it is an area something our staff take pride in and i will certainly pass on your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for being a loyal guest.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Kamau,

Executive Assistant Manager

InterContinental Lagos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Except for the lifts -- just 4 and not enough for a hotel this size. But clean, food was reasonable (club sandwich good) and safe - only Nescafe in the rooms but that's normal enough. Shower water does not smell as it does in a couple of other decent hotels. Only one morning was it so scalding that could not be used. Teething problems to be expected. Wifi worked well. Decent swimming pool with quite a good view

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear CharlieNorthLondon

Thank you for sharing your overall review of InterContinental Lagos.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel food and the good view from the swimming pool. I will be sure to share this with the entire team.

I am however disappointed we did not meet all of your expectations and have addressed the issue of the hot water. We are also working to improve the efficiency of the elevators and currently have technicians working on this. In addition, we will soon have the elevators on uninterrupted power supply which will reduce the delay experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Lagos. We trust it would be an exceptional stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental.

Best Regards,

Kevin Kamau
Director of Rooms Division.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is very secure and safe. The service is really good. Rooms well equipped and spacious and clean. Definitely more upmarket from most hotels in Africa. Nice restaurants in hotel with good food. Staff well trained. Also one of the more expensive stays in Africa.

Room Tip: No specific preference. All rooms seem to be well equipped and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Marius L

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your stay at the InterContinental Lagos.

I was pleased to read your comments as we appreciate when our guests share their experience with us as it helps us to continuously improve our level of service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for complimenting our security, service and our rooms. We are also delighted to hear you were pleased with our staff. I will be sure to thank them all for exceeding your expectations and making for a warm experience.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Lagos.

Best Regards,

Kevin Kamau

Director of Rooms Division.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I cannot believe this is the Real Thing.

Intercontinental Lagos lacks grace, charm and elegance.It is a massive shrine to indifference and low quality.The food is served without style or any sense of decorum and the buffet offering is ordinary at best, horrendous at worse.

This is an uber-expensive,charmless experience with appalling service and a strong sense of dodginess.Is it seriously part of the Great IC family?I have my doubts.
Simply awful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Cambridge2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLagos, Manager at InterContinental Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Cambridge2711

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

While I am disappointed that you had less than a perfect stay, your feedback will help us work better on the areas you mentioned. I would appreciate an opportunity to garner more feedback about your stay and have sent you a separate message on the same. .

At the InterContinental Lagos, our first priority is guest satisfaction so please know that we take your comments seriously and have shared them with our team to ensure that future guest experiences are perfect. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Best Regards,

Kevin Kamau

Director of Rooms Division.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
2.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 135 in Lagos
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 135 in Lagos
709 reviews
1.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lagos

Address: Kofo Abayomi Rd. | Plot 52, Victoria Island, Lagos 101241, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £202 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lagos 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing