We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow-Up Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cour Hotel Cooper
Ranked #1 of 774 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Just a small note to add to my previous review of this hotel. During a recent stay at the La Cour, I went to the bar/lounge area and had a cup of tea while reading my book, then left to return to my room about an hour later. While making my way up the stairs, one of the staff ran after me to let me know that he had found my wallet while cleaning up, (it must have fallen out of the shallow pockets in my trousers.) He handed the wallet to me and I was obviously relieved and only too happy to give him a very good tip. This is a glaring example of the quality and honesty of the staff at this hotel. (Thank you and well done Raph. You're a credit to an already excellent hotel.)

Room Tip: Try to find time to walk around the hotel and enjoy the plants and greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Many expats who live in Lagos consider this the best value for money hotel in Lagos. As a result it is used for regular meetings, drinks and dinners by various diplomats as well as business people.
I have been staying at regular intervals since last March and have been very happy here. It is a very well run, friendly and secure hotel with free internet and good food and drink including Captain Morgan's Rum ! My experience in the past since the 1970's in visits to Lagos was not a happy one from a cost and comfort point of view, from 5 star to what I would label one star hotels. The La Cour, Cooper Road has therefore been a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: My preference is the second floor (UK) East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMobsby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I have spent approximately 90 nights at the La Cour Cooper in last year. It truly is my home away from home.

Excellent service starts the moment you check in. A member of the management staff takes you to your suite and makes sure all is well. Most of the rooms have a sitting are and one or two bedrooms. All are large and airy and the cleaning staff is fast and efficient. (Sometimes the room is made up when I return from breakfast.)

Horst, the general manager is always on site and does not shut himself behind a closed door. He is always in the lounge or the restaurant, and his goal is customer satisfaction. (There was a water problem one time for a couple of hours. Later that day, he gave me a bottle of wine for my inconvenience.) Each room has free WiFi and it is very conducive to getting work done.

Each suite has a king-size bed, two flat screen TV's, refrigerator and, in some rooms, a wet bar. The bathrooms are large and have either a large tub and shower combo or a large shower.

The grounds of the hotel have lush, naturally growing plants: from 20 foot palms to climbing vines. The landscaping gives a feeling of a paradise in the midst of a busy city.

The restaurant has a wide selection of preferences and everything is excellent, and cooked in a European or American style. The service is impeccable. I drink Diet Coke, but the hotel serves Pepsi products. When I check in now, there is Diet Coke available.

I can have my pick of any hotel in Lagos, but the La Cour is more than a hotel, it is home.

Room Tip: Rooms 39-44 have the best WiFi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DougA709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I am on a long term business trip in Lagos. Since I'm staying at this hotel I'm enjoying my stay much more.
The main reason why the hotel is so comfortable is the organization. It's organized in all areas. The rooms are clean and in a great condition. The Restaurant serves very good international food. And the life is safe and quiet . The Area Ikoyi is a perfect place to stay in Lagos.
In a European country La Cour would be one of the top hotels, but here in Lagos, the hotel is outstanding in accommodation.
Because it delivers everything that you can expect from a Hotel.
It's the little things making the difference between a very good and an excellent hotel. For example it has a special water filtration system. The result is that you don't have any fear of the water quality, doesn't matter if it's under the shower or in the pool. That is normal in most parts of the world but it is excellent in Nigeria!
The complete hotel service delivers what the guests are requesting. And the general manager always finds time to take personal care about his guests.
All those make the change from a standard hotel to an excellent hotel. And that in a chaotic city.
It is a place like home.

Room Tip: If you contact the hotel direct, they are open for your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at this fantastic hotel for just over a month whilst in Lagos. It is very clean and secure, with well laid out and equipped bedrooms which are extremely comfortable. My room had two flat screen T.V's, a fridge, a good-sized desk and internet connection. The restaurant has a very good menu and room service is prompt and friendly. There is a courtyard garden, a gym and a very nice pool. The laundry service is very prompt and can be "same day" if required. The General Manager, Horst runs an excellent team of professional staff and he is genuinely interested in his guests. I agree with previous comments that the hotel has an almost family atmosphere. In summary, this hotel represents excellent value for money coupled with very high standards. I will not hesitate to stay here again. In fact, I very much look forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I am a long stay tenant in La Cour Cooper (in previous years also La Cour Glover, which was also very good). I return twice a month and I always enjoy the personal treatment. Although there are five star international hotels in Lagos that I could use as well, La Cour offers a private and almost family-related atmosphere, something everybody who's regularly in Lagos, will enjoy after having survived everyday's Lagos business and traffic environment. Lagos is an exciting place but sometimes the excitement can make you tired. La Cour and their team, especially the very committed and professional General Manager Horst provide guests with a family-style run hotel in which the client is the centre. You feel a bit like getting home after a long and usually challenging (in many ways) day in Lagos.

The quality of the rooms is good even if the general conditions that Lagos offer makes it challenging to keep it everyday at high level. But La Cour's team react fast and in a very effective way, if you report any issue. The bath rooms are spatious and also offer sometimes Whirlpool bath tubes, but guests should be aware of what can happen in every five star Hotel in Lagos, for example that it takes time until hot water arrives. Also, some bath rooms will be refurbished, according to the GM. Also here, the team will make everything to please you.

The garden and pool facilities are top end and give you a feeling of an oasis in a unsually crowded city that does not take so much care of nature and gardens.

All-in, a recommendation for everybody who prefers to stay in a privately-run hotel that offers all standard requirements of top-class hotels (spatious bed rooms, bath rooms, flatscreen satellite TV, kitchenette, separate living room, lounge, restaurant) but in which you feel that people take really care of you. And all this at reasonable cost (what is not usual in Lagos)!

Do not miss to enjoy La Cour's cuisine! You can trust that the General Manager also looks everyday that the kitchen provides home-made, well assorted and freshly done meals. Ask for the GM's recommendation of the day.

Florian

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I would recommend any business traveller whom is arriving for the first time in "the Lagos Jungle" to stay at La Cour hotel where you will feel welcome and where the General Manager Horst has gromed an excellent team of people to look after you. It is a refreshing experience. After being in Nigeria for now 3 years I can still vouch for the very good service provided.
Congratulations to the team. Well done.
Andre-Regis Claeys.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
10.8 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#30 of 135 in Lagos
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Citilodge Hotel
Citilodge Hotel
#31 of 135 in Lagos
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#28 of 135 in Lagos
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
10.5 mi away
No photo provided
Aerol Hotel
#45 of 135 in Lagos
1 reviews
12.2 mi away
De Lawrence Court & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cour Hotel Cooper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour Hotel Cooper

Address: 3 Cooper Rd. | Ikoyi, Lagos 101233, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 774 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: £186 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Ikoyi Island of Lagos La Cour Hotels offers a home from home. We offer one bedroomed suites with separate lounge and bathrooms, two bedroomed suites with separate lounge and bathroom. We have a superior deluxe with three bedrooms separate lounge and bedrooms on-suite Lounge dining room and bar in main building Swimming pool area Full Gym facilities Conference facilities Business faciities ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing