We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant staff nice rooms shame about the food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff nice rooms shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have stayed here several times as a business traveller and during my first trip the food was ok, now I have to say that it is awful... The breakfast is wonderful with fresh fruit and toast meats and cereals but the evenings is not good - I had chicken that tasted of something else??? And an uncooked burger pasta is ok but a girl can't live on pasta alone... The staff are tremendously polite and welcoming and the rooms are standard and clean - probably will try somewhere else next time though I'm afraid as of course like most my movement is restricted so I can't just pop out and get food elsewhere - good food is important in a business hotel

Room Tip: If you like watching the world go by ask for a room looking out on the road - I love watching everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisahelenakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Mrs Lisahelenakelly

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. Unfortunately this experience did not meet your expectations.

I am taking note about your suggestion and I am glad that you really enjoy our Breakfast and the ambience of the hotel. Let me assure you that we will take the appropriate measures to address the concerns about the food.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    54
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
5
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Welcoming staff (apart from some of the guys in front desk) - a special thanks to Jimoh for excellent customer service every time. The bar is my favourite part of the hotel, cozy, comfortable, good selection of drinks and snacks - it can get smokey at times though ( why do they let people smoke indoors these days!) The restaurant is poor - dark and dingy, with no ambience. A bit of music will do wonders. An unbelievably basic menu which hardly ever changes (it must be the worst I've ever come across) they could do so much better ! But importantly the restaurant is clean - never had a problem eating here. The pool area is nice - never crowded. The rooms are basic with dark furniture. Bed is very comfortable though. No mozzies in the room. The bathroom is OK but the shower is terrible. Don't order room service- they take ages to deliver. Limited choice of tv channels - can get boring for long stayers. Laundry is far too expensive - priced in USD. All in all this is an average hotel which can do so much better with a bit of initiative.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratagiyadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear client Ratagiyadub;

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

As you mentioned in your comments places like the bar, the swimming pool area and rooms are very cozy and comfortable, we offer a haven of calm in the bustling city if Lagos.
Also I will extend your comments to our Front Officer Jimoh and the team about his excellent customer service.

Thank you for your suggestions and comments, we will take them in consideration. Your feedback is very important to us and let me assure that we are taking the appropriate measures to address this situations and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have been going to The Moorhouse for many years as a resident guest and as a bar lounger (great wine list)

It's the only hotel were I can get FRESH ORANGE JUICE at anytime of the day and that's a big deal to anyone in pursuit of an easy 5-a-day option.

The lounge is ultra cosy with ambient amber tones; the bar staff are the friendliest in Lagos; the lobby is full of beautiful art and in the same lobby there is gorgeous grand piano which definitely does not get enough play (hint hint get a jazz pianist in there asap)

The gym is tiny but very serene and does the job.
The rooms are well appointed, beds divine and very very comfy and have given me some of the best hours of sleep I have had in Lagos outside of my own home.

The hotel is cute, quaint, with lots of flora and vegetation and definitely has a little bit of the old Ikoyi charm...I would highly recommend The Moorhouse to both business and leisure travellers as well as residents of Lagos looking for a refreshing weekend or ''stay-cation'

P.S Love the complimentary bar nibble mix which has wait for it.....plantain chips. Deilightful!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugoma_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Ugoma:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. I am very glad you enjoy a lot our hotel

I will share your comments with our team and as you mentioned this place is a haven of calm in the bustling city of Lagos.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

The Moorhouse is well located, at the heart of the business district. This is very important given that traffic in Lagos can come to a complete standstill.
But the hotel is far from a decent business hotel...
Rooms are of regular size, but some are a bit cramped. The water in the bathroom is either super hot or cold and nothing in between. There were a couple of times when water ran out and you are left with brown muddy water. There are also several niggles - wardrobes leak water, swipe cards don't work...
Breakfast spread is decent. And the bar at the reception is a good place to get a drink and get some work done - which is helpful since movement is quite restricted for many. The quality of food has a lot of scope for improvement, and do not try room service - they can forget completely, forget some, or provide stuff which can't be eaten!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Avik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Avik D

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos,
we are glad to know that you enjoy our bar and the ambience of our reception.
My appologie for the technical problems you had experienced in the room and in the bathroom, these have been taking care.
Please rest assured that we are taking also the appropriate measures to address the issues you mentioned on the room service in order to prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate a lot, your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

A top international hotel should check you in quickly. This one didn't and set a bad tone to start with. Very good rooms, as they should be. Nice little pool. Good bar. Expensive limited restuarant - and not that good breakfast selection either. Overall, not as impressive as it should be.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Onward Traveller:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos, It is always good to receive feedback from our clients, in order to keep improving in our service.
About the check in time let me assured you that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. I am glad you have enjoyed our spaces like the swimming pool area, bar and rooms.

We hope to have you here again in your next visit to Lagos.

Sincerely,

Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The food was awful. Even standard things like a steak were absolutely terrible. That didn't stop the hotel for charging between 30 and 60 USD for a meal.

The service was ok. Some staff were professional and friendly. The guy who cleaned my room was great. The front desk staff was generally discourteous however.

Amidst all this, you could say that the environment was good and the gym was excellent. I felt safe, was close to work on Banana Island, and the power didn't go out often at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkay_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 131 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#23 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Property: The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lagos
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Ikoyi residential district, just 5 minutes from the new business district. It offers 90 rooms and suites, a cigar bar, MBar, MBar Garden, four meeting rooms plus a board room, swimming pool and fitness facilities. Perfect for business, romance or tourism, 10 minutes from Victoria Island, the commercial center of Nigeria, and 45 minutes from the airport. Discover this exclusive international boutique hotel and its high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com and ACCOR so you can book your The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos Hotel Lagos
Sofitel Moorhouse Ikoyi
Sofitel Lagos
Sofitel Hotel Lagos
Lagos Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing