We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Starfire Hotel
Ranked #57 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Lagos
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June 2014 as part of a company of guests attending a conference nearby. A very comfortable stay, courteous staff. I was pleasantly surprised as I have driven past this hotel several times and did not realise what a gem it is. My room was very large and very comfortable although I had issues getting hot water to have a shower. I complained and was immediately given access to a nearby room to have my shower while the water heater in my room was being fixed. All in all it is a comfortable hotel and I would choose it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumbs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
1
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A real budget hotel. The highest point goes to its location: Ikeja GRA nice with a perception of safety and really close to the airport. For these reasons only I may return. Everything else is on a really stringent/ tight budget: shower cubicle which is really tiny, towels which are almost threadbare and well past their service time. And lastly breakfast: the bacon was very very gone!!!! Rotten. Attentive apologetic staff though.

Room Tip: check out the shower stall before you sign on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EseO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, General Manager at Best Western Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear valuable guest,
I thank you for your patronage and review of our hotel. We always appreciate guests comments because such comments direct us on areas we need to pay immediate attention to for continued improvement of our facilities and services. Kindly note that as part of our hospitality culture, we always apply measures that will continuously enhance guests comforts in our hotel. We have immediately addressed the issue of Breakfast Bacon which you mentioned as not quite good and I assure you of high quality foods and excellent services henceforth.
Please visit again and you will be convinced of our improvement, all round for your maximum comforts.
Kind regards,
Chuks O. JP.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have stayed at the Starfire when travelling in and out of Lagos for work for over three years now.
It has come a long way since my first stay.
It now has a best Western franchise and it is of a good standard for Lagos.
The Starfire is not a large hotel, it has a personal feel to it, the service is very good,
The rooms have everything you would require, but the standard of finish is poor when closely looked at, i.e paint work, tiles and grouting, ,wiring, etc but it is getting better.
The menu has been upgraded, but do not expect the same standard of food as you would get in a modern European hotel, breakfast can be unappetising.
There is a small swimming pool which is very private and peaceful.
There is a terrace bar being completed but as yet there is no access to it apart from business use.
Lagos is an oil capital and hence prices are reflected in this for business customers who have to pay top dollar, but it is still a lot more reasonable than most of the big chain hotels Sheraton,Inter-continental, Eko, etc.
It is convenient for both the international and domestic airport terminals, which can take 15 minutes or 1 hour depending upon Lagos traffic.
There is good security and parking.
Try it, you might enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike5727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, Manager at Best Western Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your interest and continued patronage to BEST WESTERN STARFIRE Hotel Lagos.

We value guests’ comments so much because our main purpose is to make you and many other of our guests have maximum comforts of a high standard hotel.

Please be rest assured that we have been on continued improvement actions on our facilities and services. In addition to our high level hospitality culture and ambiance which you commended, we hope that in your next visit, you will experience a more comfortable guest rooms, appealing breakfast and excellent customer services.

We appreciate you and look forward to serving you more.

Kind regards,

Chuks Ogboji JP.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed over night for a business trip.A bit costly on world standards, but I guess that's the way Lagos is. Service was very good.No elevators was a minus point. Didn't face any power cuts.Only problem was I couldn't keep the AC running in the room,as the power operated with the chip of the Key card.So once you are back from heat, it takes some time for the AC to cool down.
Wi-fi was good in the room, didn't face any issues. Dinner buffet was a bit below average for the cost of around $40, but breakfast was good.
Over all better than some other hotels in the vicinity.Actually would rate it a tad below four out of five

Room Tip: I was in Room 402, and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, General Manager at Best Western Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

I thank you so much for your interest and patronage to our hotel. We appreciate your comments because we treat guests opinion with good sense of seriousness. We always listen and apply actions that will bring improvement to our facilities and services in order to maintain high hospitality culture for maximum satisfaction of all our guests.
Please be rest assured that you will experience maximum comforts in your next visit.
Kind regards,
Chuks O JP.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This Best Western hotel in Lagos has a wrong name. It should be Stairfire – not Starfire.

Hmm . . . Where to start? The Stairfire hotel is located within a good looking resort place with a nice and somewhat spacious rooms and a friendly staff. Close to the international and local airport in Lagos and a good system with complimentary pickup for a driver who deserves tip! It’s a fairly new hotel, so it looks nice and inviting.

BUT: This hotel should be named STAIRfire – as there are no elevators, and the guests have to carry their luggage up and down stairs – if there is no one to help . . . So, physically challenged people simply need to find another hotel. The complimentary internet access in the rooms is so-so – get a cable if you need a reliable connection. And, electricity is very, very (and very!) unreliable in Lagos – expect ca one power failure almost every hour . . . and this can be fairly challenging if you have to re-set your air-condition each time . . . The cost for a room starts at ca. USD $150 plus 20 pst charges and taxes, so it is not very cheap. And, if you are a frequent traveler, you know never to change dollars into Naira as their rates are horrible . . .
The rooms are nice, comfy beds and well equipped. The bathroom looks good – but the water supply can be unreliable. No water available for a shower one of my 3 mornings in the hotel. The handle in the bath tub in my room was barely hanging on the wall . . .
The conference room easily accommodates 20+ people with tables and has toilet facilities nearby. The hotel has a rather small restaurant serving guests . . . and their prices for buffet lunches and dinners are simply “criminal” – at ca USD $50 per person if you add up with taxes and charges at what the hotel call “corporate rates.” The menu’s and quality does not in any way justify such an outrageous cost . . . So, if possible, just have a free breakfast and go somewhere else to get tasty and good Nigerian food! And, your credit card to pay the bill may not work (my US card did not) but thankfully the resort across the street also belongs to Best Western and they have a little more customer friendly techie equipment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrArnie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, General Manager at Best Western Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your comments which will surely help us improve further in our services and facilities. On behalf of the management, I most sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

We treat guest’s opinion very seriously and we assure you that we have taken note of all your comments and have continued to work hard in addressing those areas that will improve our services and facilities for you and all our many guests.

Be rest assured that such lapses are not our standard but accidental during the time of your visit to our hotel. It was quite unfortunate that, there were such things as extra ordinary rapid power outages which in turn affected our internet and POS network for a short period of time.
However, adequate measures have been put in place to ensure that such situations will not affect our facilities any other time. We will continue to do everything in our power to impress our guests and make sure that they have a comfortable stay.

Kindly consider a repeat business, and you will be convinced that we are continuously putting things in place to ensure that all our guests-stay is most memorable.

Kind regards,
Chuks O. JP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
12.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#39 of 130 in Lagos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lagos Ikeja
0.9 mi away
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
#51 of 130 in Lagos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#35 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Welcome Centre Hotels
Welcome Centre Hotels
#13 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkview Astoria Hotel
Parkview Astoria Hotel
#37 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Starfire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Starfire Hotel

Property: Best Western Starfire Hotel
Address: 128 Joel Ogunnaike Street | Ikeya Gra, Lagos 00000, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Starfire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel is a special boutique hotel, offering 5 Star conveniences and services in a superb, urban hotspot. The hotel exudes an eclectic mix of contemporary style and African elegance, all within an intimate and relaxing atmosphere in the highbrow neighborhood of Ikeja GRA. The hotel is only five minutes from the local airport and the Murutala Mohammed International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Starfire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing