We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel
Ranked #56 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Mozimboa Da Praia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Whenever I have any official visit to Lagos, Star-fire has been the choice of my company. I have stayed there several times and has all been pleasant memories. Even when I left behind a valuable personal effect, it was kept for me and was glad to always remember such a good gesture from the hotel. The staff are good and check-in and check-out processes are excellent.

Room Tip: Nice place to be whenever you have any business to do in Ikeja. Also very close to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel Omotun... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
1
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have stayed here several times, and while the Starfire is expensive by most standards, not really by Lagos's. It would be, at best, a 3-star by any international standard, but they do at least try hard. Management is pleasant and present, and staff are mostly helpful (although they are occasionally slow, absent and/or dismissive). Rooms are patchy too, literally...though not very old, the shoddy (Chinese ?) workmanship and fittings have not worn well. I had a maintenance issue which was well attended to. Be warned, the Nigerian taste in mattresses is super-firm. I see another review moans about the towels - they have improved recently. The pool area is nice enough. WiFi is fairly good. Food is adequate, but mostly steeply priced (a steak is around US$50). Close to the airport and well-located for business in Ikeja. Overall, it is definitely better than the (only slightly cheaper) Lagos "roach motels", and unless you're willing to pay double (at the international hotel chains), I'm not sure you'll get much better...just adjust your standards slightly.

Room Tip: Try for a quieter one at the extremities of the hotel. Don't expect windows. And ask to be moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were initially excited that there was a BW hotel in Nigeria and expected the quality of service we have typically received in the States but were shocked upon arrival. 1. After a 13 hour flight, we were told to wait (about 45 minutes) in the lobby because they could only find 1 of 2 reservations that we made. 2. The rooms they finally got us into was not fully ready, the bath was not running hot water and the faucet was broken. The internet and power was sporadic. 3. On two occasions (in one day) we found large live roaches in both bathrooms. 4. At check out they would not accept our Amex which was used to book the reservation. They would not accept $$$ we had stating they were printed before 2006 (don't ask because I still dont get it). They would not help to figure anything out and so we had to call on friends and family to come from the Island with cash in Naira and come pay for our rooms before we could leave. The only part of the stay that was worth any good is the service at the restaurant. The waiters were very courteous and friendly with our kid too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your patronage and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. I humbly apologize for such discomforts you stated and assure you that I have commenced necessary actions to ensure that you and our other guests will have a more pleasant stay.
The Management always treats guest’s feedback with utmost seriousness because we regularly work hard to improve in our facilities and services.

Please do not hold such faults as our standards as we maintain very high standards in our hotel.
We fumigate and sanitize our premises both interior and exterior at regular intervals. It was therefore quite strange to hear from you that you had such an experience.
On the payment with American Express, our hotel actually does not accept American Express card payment for now due to network difficulties assessing it in Lagos, Nigeria. We accept VISA, MASTER CARD and cash payments in any major currency.

Please be rest assured that with our immediate actions, you will definitely experience better services and adequate comforts in your next visit.

Kindly consider us and visit again, I will personally be available to receive you Sir.

Sincerely,

Chuks Ogboji JP.
General Manager
DL: 234 8023405033
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagos hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lagos
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June 2014 as part of a company of guests attending a conference nearby. A very comfortable stay, courteous staff. I was pleasantly surprised as I have driven past this hotel several times and did not realise what a gem it is. My room was very large and very comfortable although I had issues getting hot water to have a shower. I complained and was immediately given access to a nearby room to have my shower while the water heater in my room was being fixed. All in all it is a comfortable hotel and I would choose it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumbs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A real budget hotel. The highest point goes to its location: Ikeja GRA nice with a perception of safety and really close to the airport. For these reasons only I may return. Everything else is on a really stringent/ tight budget: shower cubicle which is really tiny, towels which are almost threadbare and well past their service time. And lastly breakfast: the bacon was very very gone!!!! Rotten. Attentive apologetic staff though.

Room Tip: check out the shower stall before you sign on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EseO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear valuable guest,
I thank you for your patronage and review of our hotel. We always appreciate guests comments because such comments direct us on areas we need to pay immediate attention to for continued improvement of our facilities and services. Kindly note that as part of our hospitality culture, we always apply measures that will continuously enhance guests comforts in our hotel. We have immediately addressed the issue of Breakfast Bacon which you mentioned as not quite good and I assure you of high quality foods and excellent services henceforth.
Please visit again and you will be convinced of our improvement, all round for your maximum comforts.
Kind regards,
Chuks O. JP.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have stayed at the Starfire when travelling in and out of Lagos for work for over three years now.
It has come a long way since my first stay.
It now has a best Western franchise and it is of a good standard for Lagos.
The Starfire is not a large hotel, it has a personal feel to it, the service is very good,
The rooms have everything you would require, but the standard of finish is poor when closely looked at, i.e paint work, tiles and grouting, ,wiring, etc but it is getting better.
The menu has been upgraded, but do not expect the same standard of food as you would get in a modern European hotel, breakfast can be unappetising.
There is a small swimming pool which is very private and peaceful.
There is a terrace bar being completed but as yet there is no access to it apart from business use.
Lagos is an oil capital and hence prices are reflected in this for business customers who have to pay top dollar, but it is still a lot more reasonable than most of the big chain hotels Sheraton,Inter-continental, Eko, etc.
It is convenient for both the international and domestic airport terminals, which can take 15 minutes or 1 hour depending upon Lagos traffic.
There is good security and parking.
Try it, you might enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike5727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your interest and continued patronage to BEST WESTERN STARFIRE Hotel Lagos.

We value guests’ comments so much because our main purpose is to make you and many other of our guests have maximum comforts of a high standard hotel.

Please be rest assured that we have been on continued improvement actions on our facilities and services. In addition to our high level hospitality culture and ambiance which you commended, we hope that in your next visit, you will experience a more comfortable guest rooms, appealing breakfast and excellent customer services.

We appreciate you and look forward to serving you more.

Kind regards,

Chuks Ogboji JP.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed over night for a business trip.A bit costly on world standards, but I guess that's the way Lagos is. Service was very good.No elevators was a minus point. Didn't face any power cuts.Only problem was I couldn't keep the AC running in the room,as the power operated with the chip of the Key card.So once you are back from heat, it takes some time for the AC to cool down.
Wi-fi was good in the room, didn't face any issues. Dinner buffet was a bit below average for the cost of around $40, but breakfast was good.
Over all better than some other hotels in the vicinity.Actually would rate it a tad below four out of five

Room Tip: I was in Room 402, and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuks O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

I thank you so much for your interest and patronage to our hotel. We appreciate your comments because we treat guests opinion with good sense of seriousness. We always listen and apply actions that will bring improvement to our facilities and services in order to maintain high hospitality culture for maximum satisfaction of all our guests.
Please be rest assured that you will experience maximum comforts in your next visit.
Kind regards,
Chuks O JP.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lagos Ikeja
0.0 mi away
African Sun Amber Residence
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#23 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkview Astoria Hotel
Parkview Astoria Hotel
#40 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bogobiri House Lagos
Bogobiri House Lagos
#16 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel
Address: 128 Joel Ogunnaike Street | Ikeya Gra, Lagos 00000, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel is a special boutique hotel, offering 5 Star conveniences and services in a superb, urban hotspot. The hotel exudes an eclectic mix of contemporary style and African elegance, all within an intimate and relaxing atmosphere in the highbrow neighborhood of Ikeja GRA. The hotel is only five minutes from the local airport and the Murutala Mohammed International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Starfire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing