We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, stylish and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Elegant, stylish and great service”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It was the first time I stayed at the Protea Hotel on Victoria Island during my trip to lagos last month. After a perfect welcome, seamless check in I was whisked to my room. Nice, spacious and with all the functionables on needs during a business trip. Good WiFi, hot shower, great food service (a special thanks to the executive chef, who personally checks on all the guests during morning breakfast serving). In all I had a wonderfull stay (even extended for an additional 2 days instead of moving to another hotel further in Lagos). I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "old" building as the new extension rooms are not yet totally ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mr. Frederic, thank you for your most positive comments regarding your stay and I will pass on your kind words to our Exec. Chef. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    49
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
2
12
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed 3 nights here on my first trip to Lagos. Safe and secure with plenty of security to make first time travelers to Nigeria feel really safe and welcome. Centrally situated to my business destinations and main city businesses. Staff are friendly, especially reception - waiters on the quiet side but still pleasant and helpful. Wi-fi free for guests and worked immediately with no hassles during my stay. Rooms are well equipped for business needs. Clean, with great shower and bath. Aircon is a must here, so was pleasant to find a really cool room and Aircon worked well throughout stay. Even with power outages, hotel would kick back on immediately - I'm assuming generator. Breakfast was a little on the light side with a limited offer on cereals and yogurts, but had a full offering of the usual hot, fried breakfast fare. Poached eggs were done to my satisfaction. The surprise was the prawn curry I ordered in my room one night - not typical Indian style, but rather a Thai type of prawn curry. Was excellent! Nice pool area for those who want to enjoy a poolside cocktail. No gym.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony (if they all don't have one) if you're a smoker as there are no sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mr. Yusuf, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Island and we appreciate your kind and honest comments. I will follow up as to why you were not informed about our gym on check-in, as it is attached to our annex building at the back. We hope to see you back in the near future where your stay will be as, if not more enjoyable.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

stayed here last week, Charmaine and her team, including Chigozie, Friday and the others go out of their way to make you feel welcome. lovely hotel with good food. twas my second stay here and will definately be coming back. keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: request a room in the old building and avoid the new building which has a conference centre and busi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

A very friendly staff and a comfortable room.
However some lack of communication between the folks in the resturant and bar. We ordered our evening meal from the bar and made three requests when our meal would be ready. We then discovered by chance it was on a table in the Resturant all the time! By this time it was stone cold! We had to reorder!
The room was ok but one curtain was hanging off the rails. Are the rooms ever checked?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Protea Hotel Victoria Island in November and I apologize for the delayed response as I have recently resumed. Every effort is being done to rectify your valid comments and we wish to host you again in the near future.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Protea in Victoria Island and where very happy with the great service and great food supplied by Eleanor and Charmaine both of whom where highly visible and very interactive with the guest.

The stay was very relaxing and at a very reasonable price not to mention the very friendly staff members

Thank you for a great stay

Raymond

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Raymond E

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will convey your message to all the STAFF. Chef Eleonor is training and cooking up a storm with her new menu which she will be implementing at the hotel in December. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very nice rooms, great staff and not bad food! The hotel was quiet (maybe a little too quiet when confined to our hotel). I am going to be coming to Lagos again soon and i will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandoneisie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-VictoriaIsland, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Brandoneisie31

Thank you very much for your review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Victoria Island in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have been travelling to Lagos for the past 30 years on business and usually stayed at one of the main international hotels; this was my first stay at the Protea VI.
Anyone reading the TA reviews can get the message; this place has great service, it has clean, comfortable and stylish rooms, the food is excellent, everything works and it is very secure.
In fact, it is a little island of calm!
OK if you want glitz and action then it is not the place for you.
The only disadvantage for my work is that there is limited space for meetings; just the (small) bar area and restaurant, because this place has no lobby in the traditional sense.
But, it will certainly be my base of choice in the future on VI as I really liked this place.

Room Tip: Pick on in the main block looking out over the pool with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-VictoriaIsland, Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Andrew B, Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Island, this is like always much appreciated. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. During your next stay please let us know, as we do have a board room which our GUESTS normally use for small informal meetings.

Kind Regards
Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.0 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#9 of 130 in Lagos
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Victoria Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Victoria Island

Property: Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Address: Plot 1700, Violet Yough Close | Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lagos
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Victoria Island 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning boutique hotel arguably offers the finest accommodation in downtown Lagos. Conveniently situated right in the heart of Victoria Island's hotel district, everything is near at hand, with Kuramo Waters and the Atlantic Ocean being in easy reach of the hotel. Designed for the discerning traveller, the hotel offers fine dining in elegant surroundings while the secure location ensures peace and quiet from the surrounding hustle and bustle of the city. In the normal Protea Hotels tradition, nothing is ever too much trouble to ensure our GUESTS enjoy all the facilities needed by today's traveller. If you use a little bit of street savvy, Lagos can offer you a number of unique experiences. It has more night clubs and live music than just about any other West African city and is chiefly known for its music. The late Fela Kuti came from an outer suburb of Lagos. Sunny Ade, king of juju music, still calls it home as does the Afro-reggae specialist Sonny Okosun. Sunny Ade's club,Ariya Night Club, is in Yaba and is worth a visit - as is the open-air Jazz 38 where, if you've had the foresight to bring your own musical instrument with you, you might score an invitation to jam with the band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Victoria Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing