We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Cehegin, Spain
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location and good value”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel on Victoria Island. Staff are great, food is good, breakfast slightly limited but the evening menu in both the bar and restaurant are excellent. Rooms are spacious and the wifi set up in The rooms is excellent, a local network allows you to connect multiple devices and only pay the one charge,where as a lot of the hotels I stay at in Africa charge per device. Bathroom was a little jaded however biggest draw back, as mentioned in a number or reviews, was the lack of hot water. Tepid yes, hot no.

Overall I would rather stay here than lets say Eko Suites so would recommend it if you are looking for good value for money

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
5
8
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had very long stay in Lagos on my business trip and I've opted this hotel at VI twice. I always remember the happy time when I was here. Very friendly staff, very talented chef, very delightful waiters and very much in budget compared to other hotels. I thank the manager for gifting me a bottle of red wine. Good experience for me!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KishoreKumar-Aquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here for about 10 days recently while on a business trip to Lagos. Overall the stay was good--rooms were clean, good wi-fi, staff were great, and the location was perfect. The restaurant was average though. My only 2 issues were as follows: first, to print a document, I had to email the document to the hotel for them to print, no option to use a flash drive, which I chose not to do; and second, the hot water is at times non-existant...I've stayed at the Sheraton Four Points during my previous 3 visits, and, considering everything, I would stay at the VCP again. I recommend this place for business travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EOP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at a number of the best hotels in Lagos. While the VVictoria Crown Plaza may not be five star it is now my favorite. it is old style and not big. Rooms are a good size. They need decoration but are fine. Internet is fast. The restaurant is very good. It is Italian style with a Labanese chef. The staff are friendly and helpful. I look forward to my next trip.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TunbridgeWellsTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Let's face it, all of the decent hotels in Lagos are expensive, and I think the VCP is no exception. Having said that, I booked through Expeida and saved almost £200. I wouldn't say anything was exceptional, but the staff were very helpful and pleasant, and the room (a Deluxe Suite) was comfortable and clean. The food portions were a little small for my liking but the food was acceptable. There was some confusion over some of my booking though. I was initially told that there was breakfast for one included in my booking, which was confusing as I had booked for myself and my girlfriend, then I was told that there was no breakfast included at all. Not that this spoiled our stay.

When travelling from the hotel, I would recommend asking the hotel to get your taxi for you. I'm sure most people would do this anyway, but I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by the drivers we used. I accidentally gave the first driver an extra N5000 when paying the fare, and he returned to the hotel later in the evening (he'd tried t call me first but couldn't get through) to return it to me.

Then, on our last night, accidentally left my phone in the second driver's car and he also came back to the hotel to make sure I got it back. NOT what people expect when in a place like Lagos but maybe we are too cautious and quick to discredit.

We were there to celebrate Valentine’s day together, which was spoiled by me getting Cryptosporidiosis, which I am NOT blaming on the hotel. Our first driver was very helpful though. He had various contacts at his disposal to help out with information and when he found out about my health issue, he contacted a doctor friend of his who recommended some medication to take, though no diagnosis had been made at this time. He then took me to a pharmacy and helped me find what I needed. He got paid of course, but he WAS helpful all the same. If not for that, it wouldn’t have been so easy for me.

All in all, a pleasant stay and I would definitely consider staying here on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here on a business trip as i got bored of the the other 'rip off' hotels in Lagos, great wifi, really good food, superb chef, rooms okay, aircon good but i would say the rooms are 3-4 star standard and need some spurcing up. Nice little gym with running machine, attentive and warm service. I would stay again. The pool is tiny but i am not a fan of swimming. All in all i was happy

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelguru85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I was at VCP for a short business trip and yet i had the best of travelling experience in the hotel, the security was satisfactory, and the concierge was unbelievable, the rooms were so big, very very spacious and comfortable, the staffs were of an exceptional attitude.
I was supposed to spend just 2 days there for my business meeting but i decided to spend 2 days extra just to enjoy the environment, their swimming pool water was fresh, looks clean and well treated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwin_Martey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel

Property: Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel
Address: 292B Ajose Adeogun Street | Victoria Island, Lagos 101241, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has 39 luxurious appointed classic standard rooms, 4 twin classic rooms, 3 Junior Suites, 3 Deluxe Suites, 3 Executive Suites and our Penthouse Floor. 2 Two-Bed Room Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Crown Plaza Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing