We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Gardens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
8
19
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
19
5
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Travel to this part of the country quite a lot for business, very unhappy with rooms and hot water. The food is not the best but staff are very friendly
Next time will be staying at the bird of paradise

Room Tip: Rooms and beds are not the best & food and hygiene very poor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Obviously in this part of the world, you set your expectations fairly low. By PNG standards, Pacific Gardens is a solid, if a bit unremarkable choice. Rooms are big, clean, and well equipped, if lacking any particular wow factor. Good water pressure in the showers, which is a rarity even at this end of the price scale in PNG. Staff generally friendly, but not hugely helpful when it came to organising tours and onward transport. Food in the restaurant was OK, but a bit pricey compared to the quality. Most of the guests are linked to the Pacific helicopter company - you're not likely to meet many other tourists out here, unless you come in festival week! The rather more shabby and dated Birds of Paradise hotel in the centre of town may well have been a better bet - nicer garden, terrace and a pool. It's worth travelling out to see some of the local villages, and the Asaro Mud Men. Most get visitors very infrequently, so your money goes a long way, and you'll get a pretty authentic experience. It's worth checking the local security situtation - very mixed reports from the embassies about which roads are safe to travel on.

Room Tip: Mid level rooms seemed about the best value for money
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Spent just the 1 night here as part of an overnight visit to the highlands to see the Asaro Mudmen. My son had made the booking through Wotif for a twin room. At check in we had been given a double bed which was immediately rectified. The room was clean and spacious, bathroom- older but clean and toiletries were provided.
We ate our meals onsite ordering room service pizza on arrival ( late afternoon), a lovely evening meal and an adequate breakfast menu. I felt the meals were reasonably priced considering where we were. Location was secure and in a lovely rainforest setting with sounds of bird life.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Compared to many hotels in Papua New Guinea the Pacific Gardens Hotel was a pleasant place to stay. The room was clean. The service was friendly and efficient and the foiod at the restaurant was very good. In fact I have no complaints at all. The hotel is set in a very pleasant garden atmosphere and there are no worries with any security issues. Like other reviewers I would say it is the best place to stay in Goroka and I would certainly come again and recommend it to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: The newer part of the hotel is more aesthetically pleasing
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller060651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Good place to stay, very helpful staff, and good food in the restaurant. I stayed in two different rooms--definitely get the newer rooms--they are much nicer and larger, although the older rooms are clean and fine as well. Both had lovely hot showers and a hotpot to heat water for coffee.
The housekeeping staff were nice enough to clean pounds of mud off my shoes too. The only problem was the credit card machine never seemed to be working so it was difficult to pay my bill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews