We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bird Of Paradise Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pacific Gardens Hotel(Goroka)(Great Value!)
US$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
13
32
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
32
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationin townpizzaclose to the airportfive minutesplace to stayacross the roadeastern highlandslunch and dinnerfriendly hotelstaff went out of their waygeneral managerfront doorhome away from homethe hotel managerbath and showerdaily buffet
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed at "The Bird" on business and got to appreciate its central location in what is, really, an amazing part of the world.

First impressions aren't all that positive as it's pretty obvious "The Bird" has a few years behind it (built 1966, updated in the 80s). Once you get into the foyer, though, the ambience lifts considerably and the friendly and attentive service begins. That service, really, was the highlight of the stay and seemed very genuine.

Had a room on the top floor facing the street. Didn't find it too noisy and it was certainly spacious and clean. "Slick", no, but perfectly adequate and some nice touches like a coffee plunger and bag of Goroka coffee.

We ate a number of meals in the restaurant. Again great service, huge servings too but definitely not in the gourmet vein (avoid the pork belly - horrendous). Breakfast was excellent and the bar area small but fine for our needs. Interesting set of customers.

Didn't try the pool but it seemed fine and the gardens and picnic tables, chairs etc were well maintained. The security at the hotel is also excellent.

Restaurant choice isn't great in the town (pretty well non-existent). Had a meal across the road at the Mandarin and would certainly recommend it if the BoP fare is starting to lose its appeal. The Mandarin is just like the Chinese restaurant down the road at home so no surprises there and it's just a sprint across the street if you're nervous about being out at night. You could probably get someone to go with you if you asked them nicely.

There's a supermarket next to the Mandarin which is handy and banks and the post office a short walk away. There's a de facto market in front and just along from the hotel a big craft market dominated by women. Colourful, not in the least pushy and a huge range of billims (you have to buy one - great souvenir) at really reasonable prices.

If you get a chance see the Mud Warriors. Amazing.

One final point: Keep telling yourself that you're in PNG before you check out otherwise you could lose consciousness when you read your bill. It's size wasn't necessarily the BoP's fault (hotels are expensive in PNG and we did have a number of meals) but it was BIG! Won't stop me going back, but it's good to be forewarned (and thank God i wasn't paying!).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finistere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Granted rooms are not readily available during the Festival, however, the room wasn't clean. Had a voucher for a premium room , and as it turns out,they were sold out, so we were given one of the cheapest rooms, and no adjustment for the difference in price was made at the time of check in.We were told we had to take it up with the tour company or our travel agent. The room needed to have top to bottom cleaning for bugs .Live cockroaches aren't a favorable addition to any room anywhere. It does have a good location right in the center of town.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenerlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

"The Bird" has been around for a long time. It is supposed to be one of the best places to stay location-wise for the Sing Sing festival in Goroka. Unfortunately, it is long past it's prime in cleanliness. The rooms are filthy, with ants and roaches welcoming you with a parade. Trying to kill them is futile because if you spray your room, they just move next door and then return. The floors, furniture and walls are dirty with hand prints and goodness knows what else, like the chewed gum carefully placed on the wall behind our headboard as well as just plain dirt imbedded everywhere. (We were in room 206, our friends in 205 and 109). The doors and windows have broken locks, torn screens and filthy drapes.
The dining area is open air...and the ants march all over the steam table food. You can't pick up a plate or menu on the steam table without ants lunging for your arms and scurrying all over the fruits and vegetables. The roaches are partial to the bread table. This hotel really needs to clean up it's act. We stayed in 4 lodges in PNG which were clean even though basic and loved it. The Bird should be avoided. Maybe then the management will get the hint and clean up the place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durgaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The most pleasant experience in our PNG sojourn, the Bird of Paradise was my favourite hotel. The rooms are a bit down market but scrupulously clean and the pillows smell great (unlike the previous 2 hotels). The best bit was the staff - they are all really friendly and polite and at the same time doing a very professional job service-wise. We were very impressed by them. The gardens are lovely although the pool is a bit green (it was out of service). The hotel had a choice of restaurants, room service was fast, efficient and friendly, and the chinese accross the road wasn't too bad either. Right outside the hotel is the biggest array of colourful bilums you could find, and the tourist agent in the hotel was great as well - arranging walks, town tours and visits to the Mudmen! I recommend this hotel to all, especially if you are a bit jaded with bad service elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nag088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This hotel has a very central location in Goroka, ordinary rooms, very ordinary bathroom, but good restaurant, bar and pool area.

the main street location means there is some noise in the rooms as most face directly onto the main street on the first or second floor. There are a few larger rooms out the back which face a square off the side of the main street and should be a bit quieter; so may be better going for a better quality room.

The town had a relaxed vibe despite some recent reports of (schoolkid) violence. I felt pretty comfortable walking around (unlike Mt Hagen, where the comfort level about personal security was much lower). Goroka has a reputation as the relatively relaxed place in the highlands and my experience was consistent with that. However as with anywhere in the Highlands, you need to keep your wits about you when walking the street.

The standard room looked pretty tired. The booking referred to a 'premier' room, either I didnt get it or the basic rooms are 'premier'. The drapes and fittings were very sad and tired, but the chairs and bed were ok. Similarly the bathroom looked pretty tatty. You could see the resemblance to the highlander at Mt Hagen; the tiled floors and TVs and the bedspreads were identical.

Didn't try and use wifi anywhere. There was a room marked 'business centre' but I wouldn't be expecting much from that.

The upside was the restaurant buffet and service. There was a good - assuming a 3 star hotel - breakfast buffet, with good local coffee and an omelet man. Similarly the dinner buffet was very satisfactory.

Check in and check out was desultory; the staff were easily distracted.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews