We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Of Paradise Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goroka
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately there is not much choice in Goroka so you almost have to stay here. It is dirty, badly appointed rooms, the service is terrible and the value is pitiful. Compared to other places in PNG where they are good or at least make an attempt in the customer service area, the Bird of Paradise Hotel has not even looked up the meaning of the words.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The67Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was my first visit back to "The Bird" since 2009. Things have slipped. I came to enjoy the pool and it was empty. I soon came to find out it has been that way for about a month. They are in the process of tiling it.

We ordered food at the restaurant. The prices have gone up dramatically. Not everything listed on the menu is availble. They list a plate of chips as a option. WRONG! They will not let you order just that. but you can get chips with your meal.

The meals took almost an houri to arrive at our table. Most of the meals were good. My wife's club sandwich was inedible. Soggy bread and brown lettuce.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cbukcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Bird of Paradise Hotel is reputed to be the very best hotel in Goroka. It is located only five minutes from the Goroka Airport and smack in the center of town. Across the street is a Chinese restaurant, a super market, a bank and an Internet Café.
When I arrived at the hotel, hundreds of people were milling about the street, many simply standing around, some were going into or coming out of the supermarket, and many were selling souvenirs. From my second-story window that looked out over the street, it seemed as if I were watching a human anthill that someone had stirred up. It was chaotic, noisy, exciting and colorful all at the same time. After all, the Goroka Festival was just beginning and two days hence the locals were going to celebrate their independence.
My room was a few notches down from an American Motel 6 room: a double and a single bed, an old-fashioned TV set that worked well with multiple satellite channels, a large mirror with a neon light above it, and the usual bathroom with a sink, commode and shower. The hotel provided nice, fluffy towels along with a small bar of soap.
Breakfast was including in the very high price I paid for my room, but lunch (US $25) and dinner (US $40) were beyond my budget. I simply bought food from a local supermarket and ate it in my room. Luckily, brew-your-own coffee and tea were provided at no cost in my room.
The hotel has a swimming pool but it was closed for renovation when I was there. There is a small exercise room at no charge to guests.
Security is very tight at the hotel, so I felt quite safe staying there. In the lobby alone, I counted six security personnel, plus the doorman who seemed to kept control about who entered the lobby and who did not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have stayed here for two nights on a PNG-highland tour and it was o.K. Room is spacious, furniture a bit old. The water in the bathroom was yellow to brown, which was not nice - but this is PNG and for two nights I can deal with that. The TV had no remote control, but I wasn't in PNG for watching television. Breakfast was good - I loved the roasted lamb! Opposite the Hotel is a supermarket, where you can buy water and tasty Meat Pies. As I had booked a package, I don't know, what the costs of the rooms have been, but their regular rates are too expensive, for what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

the hotel foyer and restaurant are all pretty okay looking but the rooms upstairs facing out onto the street are truly grim. there were 50+ cockroaches (mixture of alive and dead) in the room - even in the bed. there was a lot of noise from the street also late at night - all contributed to a pretty horrible sleepless night. the buffet was okay in the restaurant but others did get pretty serious food poisoning so caution is required.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When you arrive at a hotel with online booking in hand, you expect you might have a room waiting. Not so with the Bird. Sold out weeks before, I was told. You might expect them to be a bit embarrassed about this. Again, not so. Don't take the risk, stay at the Pacific instead, or the Lutheran Guesthouse, if you're on a budget. The restaurant, by contrast, is fine, and serves good, strong coffee with a reasonable wireless connection.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graeme68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

the rooms are quieter and have a pleasent view,amazing country,great service,breathtaking bill,large and airy hotel

Thank theresa356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bird Of Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Of Paradise Hotel

Address: Corner Elizabeth & McWilliam | St. Eastern Highland, Goroka 441, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Quality Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Highlands Region > Goroka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goroka
Price Range: £74 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bird Of Paradise Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goroka’s Iconic Landmark, the Bird of Paradise Hotel is conveniently located right in the centre of town, overlooking the surrounding mountain range, close to airport. The perfect location for a meeting or conference, providing well equipped function rooms with a friendly efficient team.The Bird of Paradise features an outdoor swimming pool, access to a Fitness Centre with Goroka Squash Club located within the hotel grounds. Enjoy the pleasant surroundings of the Deck Bistro, offering Buffet and A la Carte dining options, featuring mouth-watering modern dishes from around the globe. A popular meeting place and home to renowned Enzo’s pizzas, available dine in or take out.Offering neat, clean and secure accommodation, including Premier Rooms and Suites. For those looking for longer term accommodation, fully serviced one bedroom apartments are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bird Of Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Of Paradise Hotel Goroka, Papua New Guinea, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing