We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is indeed the best hotel in Mt. Hagen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlander Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Hagen
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Please ignore some of the unfair reviews, not sure why you would choose to come to PNG and see the justly world famous Hagen Show just to bash what is there.
The Highlander works hard on the obvious security, has a nice lobby and the rooms vary in quality. During the show, all rooms will be sold, of course, the town is full of tourists. Other times, tourists are few, you'll see lots of LNG types here.
Service can be variable but mostly as a foreign guest you will be treated like a VIP, we felt warmly welcomed here and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WallyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear WallyFL,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Highlander Hotel Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Unlike some of the more recent reviewers, I found my room to be pretty clean and comfortable. I was in the 400 block of rooms, so not sure if those are in better state than some of the others. There are also fairly limited options in Mt. Hagen, and apparently this is the best there is. That said, I found it missing on a lot of the little things that I find really important in a hotel.

Given the fairly pricey room rates, the fact that they do not provide guests with a couple of complimentary bottles of water really bothered me. We were also told we would get complimentary tea in the rooms, and despite asking hotel staff more than once and being assured they would give us some, the tea bags never materialized. The restaurant does not always deliver as advertised on the menu, sometimes swapping out ingredients and failing to include certain components of a dish entirely. The manager told me that the chefs and waitstaff do not talk to each other in advance about what is available each day, so you only know what you are going to get when they bring it out to you. That said, there are not many good restaurant options available in town, so it is probably still above the curve.

As for security, the room I stayed in had a safe and a chain lock. Guards checked entry to the main gate and also the entrance to the hotel itself. In that regard, I felt that the security was fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear DCTraveler20009,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. A new Management has recently commenced and your feedback will assist with identifying areas for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Highlander Hotel
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I enjoyed my stay until last night when 3 rascals tried entering my room at 3am.
I was very disapointed as this ruined my otherwise great experiance at this hotel.
Of course when i enquired at the desk in the morning "hotel system was out all night"
Very disapointed with manager and security on duty that night.

Room Tip: VIP rooms above reception maybe more secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlanderManager, Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear James,
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Highlander Hotel.
I can assure you that as Hotel Manager, the safety of our guests and staff is of the utmost importance to us. I do not have a record of any concerns being raised during your stay; I would appreciate it, if you could contact me at highlander@coralseahotels.com.pg, to discuss further.
We aim to provide a safe and comfortable environment for all our guests to enjoy.
Nigel Logue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms are very basic, old, dirty and dark. They also smell like damp. The bathrooms are not great. I had low expectations but still, it managed to disappoint. We were told that the hotel was full because it was the Mt. Hagen Sing Sing but other people complained about their rooms and were moved on the second night.

The gym is awful but necessary because you can't leave the hotel. The bike was broken but I did my best. The pool is not worth bringing a bathsuit for. It's small, it reeks and it didn't look clean. I didn't see any adults attempting to us it.

There isn't really anywhere nice in the hotel to escape from the room.

The food is pretty horrid and the service is terrible. As another viewer mentioned, it takes 45mins-1hr to be served. The buffet is awful but the only way to eat if you can't be bothered to wait. Tables are often dirty, they frequently run out of things (eg. bottles of water, wine) and often the staff seem confused.

This hotel is awful considering the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Constantlyontheraod,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay; it is such feedback that assists in improving the level of service and quality of product provided.
On this occasion, we have fallen short of expectations, please be assured your experience does not reflect the level of service we strive to provide to each and every guest. We have recently appointed a new Regional Manager, he is reviewing service levels and providing additional training in areas as required.
The hotel is undergoing a process of change, new manager, refurbishment and WiFi upgrade. We hope that if you are in Mount Hagen again, you will come back and visit, we are sure you will notice the improvements made.
Regards

Management and Staff
Highlander Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The room we were allocated when we checked in had filthy bed sheets (excrement and pubic hairs), we counted over 40 dead cockroaches on the floor and lost count of the live ones. After complaining to the reception we were given another room in the main block. This was clean and a much higher standard.
The service in the dinning room is abysmal. If you manage to get your order in under an hour then well done, this was never achieved by us. Ordering just a coffee is an ordeal and if you ever manage to get one it will take at least 30 minutes.
Now that my expectations are so low with the standard I have decided in the future to stay in one of the Guest Lodges that are available. At least they do not pretend or charge you for a good service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Drew,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay.

The hotel is currently in the process of redecorating, improving the overall appearance and comfort of our room. It was disappointing to read that we did not provide the level of service expected.

We have a newly appointed Regional Manager in place, he is reviewing services standards, product quality and increasing training as required.

We hope to welcome you back to the Highlander Hotel & Apartments the next time you are in Mount Hagen.

Regards

Management & Staff
Highlander Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As this was part of an organized group tour with Trans Niugini tours to see the Mt Hagen annual SingSing and there was no other choice of accommodation. I had wanted to stay in Rondon Ridge which is an hour away but I was told it was not available to us. We had two nights stay at the Highlander and it was the poorest nights sleep I have ever had and one of the worst hotel experiences we have had. Fortunately the Mt Hagen show balanced out any ill feeling of us having to be there.

Your initial feeling of the outside is that it appears to be focused on security. There is barbed wire around the perimeter but we were told this is standard requirement by the local government for any establishment selling alcohol.
We were given a room in a separate block behind the hotel. I can only describe it as a 1950's school block. It seemed exposed to the outside, had large corridors that echoed and were very noisy. The room itself was very basic but had a kingsize bed and a large fridge. The room seemed clean but dated and a little warn. The bathroom had a problem with the toilet and the first night there was no hot or even warm water. After some time in the room you realise just how thin the walls are. You can hear everything your neighbour is doing and the noise from the corridor seemed to be exaggerated. The internet was non existent. The dining area give you the impression of a school canteen but the roast meats and vegetables were pretty good and wholesome. Again any drinks you ordered had to be paid for and we were unable to put them on our room. Ordering drinks could be a little confusing for the staff at times as we were in a group but paying for our own drinks.

Our main gripes came at night. As previously mentioned you can hear your neighbours every word and visit to the loo. We had to turn off the fridge as it was just free standing in the room and was very noisy. Later in the night there was a commotion outside in the corridor with banging on someones door and shouting between people telling them to be quite and that they had been preventing them from sleeping. Then there was more problems with the water system and air in the pipes. Constant banging of pipes throughout the night kept us awake. We were told the hotel was totally full so they were not able to change our room. The next problem we had with water was that the house keeping must have left our windows open and after a pretty heavy storm the room was full of water and the bed cover was soaking wet. For those English people of a certain age I can only describe our experience at the Highlander to the TV series "Fawlty Towers".
As with Port Moresby we were told it was unsafe to go outside the hotel grounds on our own. I would suggest this hotel only as somewhere to stay which has easy access to the Annual Mt Hagen show other than that it doesnt offer anything else to a tourist.

Room Tip: Looking at the reviews I would suggest a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotter010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Globe Trotter,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, it is such feedback that assists in improving the level of service and quality of product provided.

We hope you enjoyed the Mount Hagen show and SingSing, it is certainly a unique experience.

On this occasion, we have fallen short of expectations, please be assured your experience does not reflect the level of service we strive to provide to each and every guest. We have recently appointed a new Regional Manager, he is reviewing service levels and providing additional training in areas as required.

The hotel is undergoing a process of change, new manager, refurbishment etc. We hope that if you are in Mount Hagen again, you will come back and visit, we are sure you will notice the improvements made.

Regards

Management and Staff
Highlander Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I travelled to Mt Hagen for the annual Sing Sing. We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor before we came and were not sure that we had done the right thing. All the doubts were cast aside. Our room was in the main building, above Reception and we found it to be excellent. Great shower, thick towels, comfortable bed and sufficient room to move about. It was so good to have a hotel with decent lighting so that we could easily read in bed - if only the larger hotel chains could get back to providing this! Housekeeping was at a good standard and the staff friendly. Food in the restaurant was very good, particularly the vegetables, which are apparently sourced locally. Contrary to some other reviewers we found the restaurant service to be excellent. James, in particular, was first class and remembered our names and preferences for every meal. There is a need for security and the steps taken at the Highlander reassured us that we would be well cared for. Considering the difficulties in PNG and particularly those in the Highlands, the management of this hotel is doing an excellent job.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlanderManager, Manager at Highlander Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Adshare
Thank you for your recent review, and positive comments; I will pass these onto our staff who will certainly find them rewarding and encouraging.
The Western Highlanders are extremely proud and very welcoming people. The Hagen show is a great opportunity for them to showcase their culture and to embrace the many overseas tourists who visit the Province.
At the Highlander the Management and Staff always endeavor to create a totally enjoyable stay and experience for our guest, once again thank you for your comments
Nigel Logue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Highlander Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel & Apartments

Address: Waghi Parade | PO Box 34, Mount Hagen SO 251, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Quality Hotel Highlander)
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Highlands Region > Mount Hagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Hagen
Price Range: £92 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highlander Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the western end of town the Highlander is a secure property. The Hotel has undergone renovations which opened in August 2011 adding the new Palmuri Restaurant, the Nu Ming Cocktail Lounge, Business Centre, Boardroom and 20 new Executive rooms. The existing rooms are continuually being improved and updated. Within the new foyer there is a gift shop, hairdresser, beautician and spa treatments.The swimming pool has been retiled and the new gymnasium is adjecent to this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highlander Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel & Apartments Papua New Guinea/Mount Hagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing