We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect overnight stay for Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Varayoc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Varayoc
Ranked #18 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
rebekahkelk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect overnight stay for Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hostel was absolutely fine for an overnight stay in Aguas Calientes.

Aguas Calientes is probably one of the most expensive places for hotels and hostels in Peru - no surprise really! But for the price and for the location this was absolutely fine. We had our own room and bathroom (hot showers!), and the room was very clean. The beds were so comfy.
Breakfast is just bread and jam - but at 6am I wasn't really wanting much to eat.

A lot of the reviews speak about how noisy it is because of close proximity to the railway. Aguas Calientes is a very small village with the train track running right through the middle. So wherever you are, you will hear it. It can be loud, but there's no getting round that. Well, maybe ear plugs!!

The hostel staff were so helpful. 2 of our party got seriously ill and couldn't get down for breakfast in time, so they kindly took breakfast up to them a bit later, and checked on them throughout the morning. (Luckily our friends made it to M.P!) They also met us off the train as we arrived very late at night. And the morning we departed, they allowed us to print any documents we need. It has an internet cafe attached to it so it very convenient.

I really can't fault this place - definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebekahkelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    65
    32
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
54
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was fine for the night before we went up to Machu Picchu. We were met at the station and led to the hotel. Inside, there are many unexpected steps to trip you--not a good place for someone who is unsteady on his feet. They gave us soap, which was an unexpected treat, and in some ways it looks a little nicer than other places, but when you look closer . . . there was mildew on the bathroom ceiling; a sloppy paint job on the floor came off on our socks; and the walls and ceilings are very thin.

On the plus side, there was a nightstand and lamp on each side of the bed, a full set of shelves for our stuff, and the hot water worked fine. And there was a TV.

The Peru Rail train goes by right outside, so if you want to sleep past 5 or so, good luck. But it's a good place to get up early, and they serve breakfast quite early: bread, butter, marmalade, juice, coffee or tea. It was OK. They will store your bag while you go to Machu Picchu, but it's just left on a shelf, so if security is a big concern for you, this might not be acceptable.

It was $40/night, and acceptably clean & safe, and only a few blocks from the MP bus stop and the train station, so it worked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Only stayed 1 night in Varyoc in Nov 2012, but enjoyed the experience. Was a very welcome sight after 5 days trekking, the hot shower was awesome!

Amenities provided were standard- towels and soap, there was an internet PC in reception you could use for free but attached to Varyoc is an internet cafe where you can use the PCs for a *very* cheap price- eg. about 75p for an hour!

You will likely need earplugs as Aguas Calientes has a curious train set up- it runs right along the high street all day and night and they do love their horn at 3am! :)

However, it's centrally located and it was a nice stay. They even start breakfast at 0415 which is a nice touch for the poor sods getting the 5am bus up to Machu Picchu!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugPowderDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hostel was a real treat. It has a nice bathroom, with thick white towels, comfortable beds, and a nice staff. The breakfast is not the best, a little bit dry toast with butter and jam, and the train travels right by and loves to blow his horn in the middel of the night. Be aware and bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tine_is_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

5 min walk from train station, hostal varayoc is a clean, basic budget hotel with friendly, helpful owners.
We can't speak barely any Spanish and the owner has limited english - but he gave us a full run down of the town via computer translation!
Rooms are basic yet clean and the ick up point for the bus is just across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunk_pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here one night after our Salkantay trek and before going to MP.

It is workable. It is as a Hostal would be, use sleeping bag liners to sleep ont he bed. The staff is helpful and nice. They gave us an option of packed lunch (Fruit, crackers, water bottle, candies) or Breakfast. They hold your bags. The location is great, 2 minutes from the trail and the Bus station to MP. 5 Mins from the Train Station. Surrounded by Nice Restaurants and shopping.

We had to walk up to the 3rd floor, no elevators.

Definately would stay here again for a night for the location and the price.

Room Tip: Try and request a room on the lower floors. The view is better from the 3rd Floor but not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Location was not bad but i had a room opposite the football field and this seems to be where all the local people hang out and drink at nights. Was bitten by bed bugs all night and kept up by all the noise from the stadium.The toilet was leaking water from the bottom and was rocking. Also if you are planning to go to Machu Pichu really early to go to the sun gate as i did you dont get breakfast and they charge you to hold your bags. Friends stayed at other places on the same night and there stay was much better than mine. I suggest you shop around before booking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pravin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.0 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Varayoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Varayoc

Property: Hostal Varayoc
Address: Imperio de los Incas s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Inn Varayoc is a young company, located in the Machupicchu heart Town. Destined to offer good service and warm attention; so that thus your estadia is placentera and of total affability. Our rooms are comfortable and count on a beautiful panoramic Vista towards the seat of arms, and to mountains where Ciudadela hides beautiful Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Varayoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Varayoc Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing