We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell sick because of this hotel”
Review of Royal Inti Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Inti Inn
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Hillsboro, OR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fell sick because of this hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed there one night before visiting Machu Picchu. No heater. Nobody talks English here to answer any questions. It gets real cold, and the sheets they provided did not help in my case.
No elevator. Room had only one power outlet. Very noisy room.
We were at their restaurant - which was even worse. We ordered 2 items: chicken fried rice and chicken on skewers. Had to literally wait one hour and after severe complaining, we got one dish: chicken fried rice: which was decent and the chicken on skewers came out real raw... I don't understand the point of making us wait for 1 hour for that. It wasn't like the restaurant was crowded.
Don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srkkreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    24
    20
    20
See reviews for
17
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I found the Royal Inti Inn quite difficult to find. It seemed to lack proper signage and its neighbours had no idea where it was. The lobby looks nice enough but the rooms were extremely spartan. The bathroom smelled moldy and the only thing you got was a bar of soap and a towel laid out on the bed. The room was sketchy enough so that I inspected the bed for bedbugs. Fortunately the bed linens appeared clean however they smelled like the previous occupant.

Clearly the hotel relies on patrons who only spend a night before going to Machu Picchu and it isn't really worth their while to offer anything special. You've paid your money and you're just going to leave the next day.

Few of the hotel staff speak English but this is quite common throughout Peru. Breakfast opens at 6 so if you're trying to get the 5:30 bus to MP you're out of luck.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TermV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very, very bad hotel! We got it through the arrangement we made for visit to Machu Picchu. The hotel is uphill (though we got assistance from the train station). The reception is a joke, nobody speaks English. The room is really basic, to the extent that there was not even toilet paper. It was also very noisy whnever somebody was using water. THe breakfast was also not what is normally considered as breakfast. One of the worst experiences in the last years when it comes to hotels. Avoid!

Room Tip: There is no help if you stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The "hotel" is located in the town at the foot of Machu Picchu (called Aguas Calientes or Machu Picchu Pueblo), not in Cusco.

I did not choose to stay here. We had booked a room for one night at Gringo Bill's, but they were "closed" due to some local ordinance, so they sent us to the Royal Inti Inn. (See my review of Gringo Bill's to see what I think of that practice...)

We would have never chosen to stay here! The location alone was enough to drive us batty because it was way up Av Parachutec toward the hot springs, so you have to hike quite a ways almost straight uphill to get to the hotel with your bags.

The rooms are musty and smell like mold because there is no ventilation in the bathroom and the steam builds up when you shower. We had to keep the door to the hallway open until we went to sleep to try to get rid of the moldy smell.

The rooms are noisy because they have single-paned windows that don't close completely, face the street, and the restaurant on the first floor plays music until 10pm or later.

Our particular also suffered from holes in the cement walls, and cracks around the door frames that let these giant insects into the room! We had to dispose of a huge moth (at least 3" wingspan), a giant thing that looked like a centipede but wasn't because it was slithering like a small snake up the wall, and lots of fruit-fly like gnat things.

Btw, the beds are rock hard -- as hard as the cold tile floor.

Finally, we took one look at the breakfast the next morning and decided to not to risk it. A limp offering of coffee, reconstituted juices (likely reconsituted with tap water), sliced lunch meat and sliced cheese -- buzzing with those gnat things? Ugh. We survived on Cliff Bars that day.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Former_grad_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our experience in this hotel actually was not that bad. The only complaint is about pick-up. Although our travel agent had arranged a pick-up from the train station, after arrival no one was waiting for us. As it was midday and I had the hotel address, we managed to find it on our own. Upon arrival we had to wait some 20 minutes for our room to be cleaned. The room itself was very nice, bathroom had all the toiletries needed, as well as 2 complimentary bottles of water. The breakfast was not the best ve've had, but was OK. When going to Maccu Picchu, left our backpacks in the storage. Overall the hotel is really good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sintija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed there only for one night while going to matchu pitcchu.
The hotel is really clean and the staff is helpful.
The room is really big and has a Mini-bar the bed is really comfortable.
Aguas caliente is really small but this hotel is not good for older people because is about 4 block up on the hill.

Bacal

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leandrobacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel has big rooms, but the value proposal is not nice!. Lobby is a mess and hotel´s personnel, even though they try to be kind, is not well trained. The place is barely clean and should be cheaper!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
#21 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#15 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wiracocha Inn
Wiracocha Inn
#16 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inti Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inti Inn

Property: Royal Inti Inn
Address: Aguas Calientes 211170, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Inti Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Inti Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Inti Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing