We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santuario hotel, Agua Calientes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santuario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santuario Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Santuario hotel, Agua Calientes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

During my recent visit to Macchu Picchu, we stayed one night in Santuario Hotel.

When we arrived in Agua Calientes by rail from Ollantaytambo, the hotel staff was waiting for us at the train station with a trolley to help us to transfer our luggage and to show us the way to the hotel which was more than 10 min walk from the station.

The hotel staff are very friendly. Upon arrival, we were served coca tea to help us to acclimatise to the altitude of the place.

The next morning, breakfast was ready for us at 4:30 am as we had to leave for our trip to Macchu Picchu at 5:30 am. The breakfast spread was good.

The location of this hotel is along the bus route to Macchu Picchu. So, tourists who go to Macchu Picchu could have waited at this hotel to be picked up by the buses.

Some rooms have a beautiful view of the river which runs along the front of the hotel. My room was not facing the river but it was clean and comfortable.

What I appreciated most was that the hotel even provided service to deliver our luggage which we left at the hotel when we went for our MP tour to the railway station at the appointed time.

This extra service gave us more time to have our lunch leisurely and also to do some last minute shopping at the marketplace near the railway station.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the river,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2uring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    96
    70
    23
    8
See reviews for
49
97
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, NZ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Only stayed one night and yes the beds are a bit hard but the hypnotic river sounds quickly send you to sleep. Nice to watch the river. On the same road as the early buses to Mach Picchu. Breakfast was standard. The rooms were clean and tidy. All computers worked while I was there. Nicer than some 4+ hotels I've been in recently.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

If you get a balcony side room you are in luck. The view and sounds are breathtaking. I have never fallen asleep more peacefully than here. Otherwise, the hotel is nothing exciting. Standard room amenities. The beds were a bit hard but nothing to get too worried about, especially after a long hike at MP.

Room Tip: Get river side rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This Hotell was near the end of the village and therefor easy to catch the bus up to Machupiccu.. It had wiFi but only one of the computers in the lobby worked at a time. The rooms were fine and clean. The continental breakfast was wonderful and included your choice of eggs. There was no elevator, so if you were on the top floor it meant lots of stairs(preparing you for MP. Good storage.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

No, this isn't a luxury hotel, but they do their best to make you comfortable. First, they put us in a room in back, but when we asked happily changed us to a room with a balcony at no extra charge. I loved being able to sit on the balcony and look at the river. To me, the noise of the river is part of the experience and charm of Aguas Caliente. I liked the location very much. Easy to walk up the road to the entrance to Machu Picchu. You don't need much room for luggage if you've come for a short visit to Machu Picchu; we left the rest in Cusco. Towels folded as swans on the bed were a nice touch.

The bartender was a trip, we really enjoyed chatting with him while he prepared 2 spectacular (but expensive) drinks. It's two for one happy hour, so it was fine.

The town is small so no problem walking anywhere from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We came during the slower season in January 2013, and had a great experience here. It was very clean and quiet (except for the roaring white water outside). We had an easy check in and check out, our room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was extremely intermittent, super cold, then super hot. Our room faced the street, so at first I was worried we wouldn't be able to sleep with the sound of the roaring river. But if you shut the door, it just sounds like white noise so I slept fantastic. I was also exhausted. I thought they had a great breakfast in the morning, and the lobby was nice and well appointed. If you're looking for luxury in Aguas Calientes, this isn't a luxury hotel, but if you want a nice place comfortable and convenient place to stay, this place works just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed here after the 4 day Inca trail with the family (2 children 11 and 8)- was assigned a 4th floor room-no elevators so had to tough it out climbing up.

The room was comfortable and quiet, the river Urubamba flowing outside the hotel in its full fury was serene and comforting. However the shower was poor and we were looking forward to it after 4days w/out shower in the trail. Toilet backed up and the receptionist backing up as a maintenance person came with a basic plunger to fix the issue- did not fix it!

We did have a good night rest, so have mixed feeling abt this hotel given we paid over $170 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santuario Hotel

Property: Santuario Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santuario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santuario Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing