We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santuario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santuario Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location and clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Rooms were clean and spacious, the bed was quite comfortable, shower was hot with decent water pressure. The location is convenient to go to the train station and bus station. The breakfast buffet was also comprehensive with cooked eggs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    95
    70
    23
    8
See reviews for
49
96
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Ask for a room overlooking the river. Rooms are double glazed so the roar of the water does not intrude into the room. Internet weak, but room big, clean, good pressure and hot shower -which we needed after the Inca trail hike. Breakfast included and ample food, fresh fruit as well as hot breakfast. Staff very accommodating when we needed to stay in the lounge area because the train was delayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is a great find. The room we had was clean and comfortable with a lovely little balcony overlooking the water. I appreciated the quirky baroque style of decor and the clean bathroom with a good shower and ample hot water. Our luggage was taken from the train station by hotel staff so that we could go directly to Machu Picchu and not waste any time by checking in. We also arranged to have our luggage dropped back off at the train station so that we did not need to return to the hotel after visiting the ruins again the next day. The young woman at the desk helped us with directions to Chullpi's restaurants, also with the room safe and getting us on to the hotel computer. We could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the water. The chairs were so comfortable that my husband fell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneDVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

This was my worst accommodation in Peru. Rooms were clean but front desk staff were unprofessional and not trustworthy at all.

1) Unorganized: When we handed in our 8 passports and immigration papers for hotel's record at check in, the staff misplaced one of our immigration papers. She told us repeatedly that we did not give them all 8 papers, when we were certain everything was handed to them. We asked her to double check and she claimed the 8th paper was missing. We went through every single corner of the check in area, our packs, and even the garbage bin... After some 5-10 min, she just simply said, "Oh, it's here in the pile" without showing any signs of apology.

2) Security issue: As we wanted to write down/draw out the luggage transfer arrangement when talking to hotel staff, she gave us a piece of scrap paper... Only we realizes the other side was photocopy of someone else's passport! We were shocked and speechless.

3) Bad communication skills: We were told inconsistent arrangements by different staff on duty about luggage storage and drop off. We wanted our bags to be store at hotel after check out next morning and be brought from hotel to the train station the next day, a complimentary by most hotels in the area. Although all seemed to be set next morning at check out, 2 of our luggages were missing at train station. Good that we arrived the train station 20min early, so we asked the hotel staff to go back and pick up the missing bags.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights, room on the end facing the water. The lunch my wife thought was tasty, IMHO the meat was tough. The Fruit salad was excellent. The staff pleasant and helpfull. One staff assisted us from the train station to the hotel. We had a room on the end facing the water and the wifi only seemed to connect about 80% of the time and from that we had internet access only about 50% of the time. Possibly asking for a different room would have given us better acccess. However we had already unpacked and settled in. The speed was akin to a good 56k modem conneciton.

Room Tip: If staying connected is important ask for a room closer to the stairs and facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

During my recent visit to Macchu Picchu, we stayed one night in Santuario Hotel.

When we arrived in Agua Calientes by rail from Ollantaytambo, the hotel staff was waiting for us at the train station with a trolley to help us to transfer our luggage and to show us the way to the hotel which was more than 10 min walk from the station.

The hotel staff are very friendly. Upon arrival, we were served coca tea to help us to acclimatise to the altitude of the place.

The next morning, breakfast was ready for us at 4:30 am as we had to leave for our trip to Macchu Picchu at 5:30 am. The breakfast spread was good.

The location of this hotel is along the bus route to Macchu Picchu. So, tourists who go to Macchu Picchu could have waited at this hotel to be picked up by the buses.

Some rooms have a beautiful view of the river which runs along the front of the hotel. My room was not facing the river but it was clean and comfortable.

What I appreciated most was that the hotel even provided service to deliver our luggage which we left at the hotel when we went for our MP tour to the railway station at the appointed time.

This extra service gave us more time to have our lunch leisurely and also to do some last minute shopping at the marketplace near the railway station.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the river,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2uring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke, NZ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Only stayed one night and yes the beds are a bit hard but the hypnotic river sounds quickly send you to sleep. Nice to watch the river. On the same road as the early buses to Mach Picchu. Breakfast was standard. The rooms were clean and tidy. All computers worked while I was there. Nicer than some 4+ hotels I've been in recently.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santuario Hotel

Property: Santuario Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Santuario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Santuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santuario Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing