We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a place to sleep”
Review of Hostal Las Rocas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Las Rocas
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here one night, and well, we saw it as more of a necessity. If you are backpacking your way through Aguas Calientes on your way to Machu Picchu and on a budget, there aren't many great options. Travel light (leave your big backpacks with the hotel in Cuzco) and don't leave anything valuable in the rooms. Rooms are dirty and dark, the hotel TV will be at full volume until late in the night - but you'll be leaving early in the morning to catch the sunrise over Machu Picchu anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

The booking was done through a tour operator in Cuzco. We arrived in Aguas Calientes at 10pm. A matrimonial room is quoted at $40. Well, no towels, no toilet paper, dirty. The last time have seen such a room was 15 years ago in Uganda in the middle of nowhere. The staff is willing, but they have no idea of managing an hotel. The breakfast is for nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Granted, the price is very cheap but in the grand scheme of things - and as the say hindsight is 20/20 - this hotel is not even "acceptable"

I stayed there with my girlfriend after doing the Inka Trail (which, to be honest, it's not all that it's cracked up to be; a better 'free' trail is found behind the peak of Wayna Picchu, on the way to the Temple of The Moon - best of all, no tourists! but I digress)

Anyway, after the Inka Trail, all I wanted was a nice hot bath and decent place to sleep in. I never tried the "hot water" but the room alone made us run out of the place.

First, the place is so far up hill that, frankly, after doing the Inka Trail (Km 106 since Km 104 was closed due to fire) is just a bit too much. Worse, since the agency booked us dinner at a restaurant at the BOTTOM of the hill, it was more than we could handle.

Second, the bathroom had no towels or toilet paper for that matter. It had a window...to the hallway! and for some reason, the bathroom door also had a window; what for? I have no idea.

Third, the room had a beautiful view to ... wait for it ... a set of stairs! some kind of apartment complex we're not quite sure but if I had opened the window and stuck my arm out, I would've definitely tripped up someone going up or down the stairs. In fact, we saw several people going up and the downstairs constantly. What an awesome view!

The straw that broke the camel's back was a cockroach that we saw on the wall. Reported it to the front desk and instead of even suggesting a different room (the place looked empty) one of the attendants broke out the RAID and proceeded to spray LOL.

We were very tired from the trek so we just ditched the key at reception - felt really bad for doing that, but there was no one manning the reception desk - and took off.

I can't remember what hotel we ended up staying in (this was back in May 2009) but at least it was closer to the bus station and closer to the restaurant the agency booked for us.

The location is enough for us not to recommend it, but if you are looking for something cheap, I guess this is it? Personally, I wouldn't stay here again, even if the room was free. Not worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quiksilver78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Decent hotel. I don't think you can expect much quality in accomodations in Aguas Calientes. But this place was clean and well run. Hot water was a little spotty, but did get nice and hot once it got going. It's at the top of the hill next to the hot springs, but the town is so small, it's not a very far walk. I would rate this hotel above average just because its a better bargain than the other ones I looked into - we paid $25US for a matrimonial room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We got the bad room, with a window that faced onto the breakfast area. Seriously loud dogs began barking at 4:00 am (wakeup call, anyone?). But considering how overpriced everything else is in AC, it was acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovetheAndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Aguas Calientes is the most touristy town I have ever been to in my life. There is literally no culture and there are certainly no local people. This hostel fit in with the fact that everything is insanely overpriced. However, I am sure this is one of the best/cheapest hostels in Aguas Calientes because it is a problem in general. I am fairly sure that the price includes breakfast but we did not get to stay and experience it because we got to the bus station at 4:30 (it was worth it to be on the first bus to Machu Picchu!). Our tour company booked this for us and they did a good job considering where we had to stay. The location is a bit out of the way, closer to the baths than the bus station or main plaza.

The rooms were clean and the beds had warm sheets. I am sure this was an accident but we did not have any toilet paper in our room. The rooms do have televisions and private bathrooms (clean). The walls are paper thin and it is quite noisy in terms of people walking up and down the stairs. I did notice that the check out time is 9AM so don't expect to sleep in even if it is the night after Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UberLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank catalina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
45.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,913 reviews
45.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,169 reviews
45 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#10 of 85 in Aguas Calientes
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
45 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
278 reviews
45 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Rocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Rocas

Address: Avenida Pachacutec s/n, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £30 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Las Rocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing