We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hostel Would go there again”
Review of Hostal Las Rocas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Las Rocas
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at las rocas hostel one night before visiting Machu Picchu And it was one of our best nights in Peru.
The room is very confortable, very clean and we had an amazing view of the river. It was more like a good hotel than a hostel! breakfast is simple and is included in the price and is not expensive. There may be cheaper options but sure there are much more expensives ones and I got a really good impression of las rocas. I totally recomend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TacianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked this hostal,through the same lady who put us on to Hostal Huaynapata in Cusco. We were met at the train station,the wrong name was on the board,luckily it had the hostal's name on it also,then took up a steep climb to Hostal Las Rocas,glad we only had small rucksacks with us!! It is right beside the hot springs,if you fancy a dip,you can hire swimwear & towels,if you haven't your own. The room was ok,wifi,shower with hot water,staff were nice, breakfast was included, all for 90soles.
Some really nice places to eat,with tourist menu. But,don't pay the tax if they add it to your bill,as they did ours(and we did pay it) unless you have been in Peru for over 59 days,it doesn't apply.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Las Rocas and it was excellent value for money. We took the advice of other travellers and decided not to book in advance but to look around until we found something we liked. Up near the entrance to the hot springs we found Las Rocas. We asked to see a few different room types and selected our favorite which was on the top floor. The room had a wonderful view of the valley and we had the sounds of the cascades coming through the windows to help us sleep every night. The beds were so comfy and the sheets were so soft it was hard to get up every morning to go exploring. The heavy blankets kept us warm too. The family that runs the hostel was more than happy to help with anything we asked for - extra towels, pillows, toilet paper, laundry and they even organised lunch for us for our trip to Maccu Piccu and called it breakfast (which is included in what is an excellent rate for Aguas Calientes). Excellent value for Aguas Calientes. As is the case with most Aguas Calientes places, the hot water is notoriously unreliable but when it was working, it was one of the best showers we have had in Peru - great showerhead and water pressure.
Tips: Ask to view the rooms available first and make sure you get one at the back of the hostel with a view (Some rooms don't have views and others are close to the breakfast area which would be noisy at 5am every morning). Im not sure if I would stay here after doing the Inka Trail - its a bit of a climb up the hill - but if your after value for money, a comfy bed to sleep in and a nice view - this is a great place.

Room Tip: Ask to view the rooms available first and make sure you get one at the back of the hostel with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here one night, and well, we saw it as more of a necessity. If you are backpacking your way through Aguas Calientes on your way to Machu Picchu and on a budget, there aren't many great options. Travel light (leave your big backpacks with the hotel in Cuzco) and don't leave anything valuable in the rooms. Rooms are dirty and dark, the hotel TV will be at full volume until late in the night - but you'll be leaving early in the morning to catch the sunrise over Machu Picchu anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The booking was done through a tour operator in Cuzco. We arrived in Aguas Calientes at 10pm. A matrimonial room is quoted at $40. Well, no towels, no toilet paper, dirty. The last time have seen such a room was 15 years ago in Uganda in the middle of nowhere. The staff is willing, but they have no idea of managing an hotel. The breakfast is for nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Granted, the price is very cheap but in the grand scheme of things - and as the say hindsight is 20/20 - this hotel is not even "acceptable"

I stayed there with my girlfriend after doing the Inka Trail (which, to be honest, it's not all that it's cracked up to be; a better 'free' trail is found behind the peak of Wayna Picchu, on the way to the Temple of The Moon - best of all, no tourists! but I digress)

Anyway, after the Inka Trail, all I wanted was a nice hot bath and decent place to sleep in. I never tried the "hot water" but the room alone made us run out of the place.

First, the place is so far up hill that, frankly, after doing the Inka Trail (Km 106 since Km 104 was closed due to fire) is just a bit too much. Worse, since the agency booked us dinner at a restaurant at the BOTTOM of the hill, it was more than we could handle.

Second, the bathroom had no towels or toilet paper for that matter. It had a window...to the hallway! and for some reason, the bathroom door also had a window; what for? I have no idea.

Third, the room had a beautiful view to ... wait for it ... a set of stairs! some kind of apartment complex we're not quite sure but if I had opened the window and stuck my arm out, I would've definitely tripped up someone going up or down the stairs. In fact, we saw several people going up and the downstairs constantly. What an awesome view!

The straw that broke the camel's back was a cockroach that we saw on the wall. Reported it to the front desk and instead of even suggesting a different room (the place looked empty) one of the attendants broke out the RAID and proceeded to spray LOL.

We were very tired from the trek so we just ditched the key at reception - felt really bad for doing that, but there was no one manning the reception desk - and took off.

I can't remember what hotel we ended up staying in (this was back in May 2009) but at least it was closer to the bus station and closer to the restaurant the agency booked for us.

The location is enough for us not to recommend it, but if you are looking for something cheap, I guess this is it? Personally, I wouldn't stay here again, even if the room was free. Not worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quiksilver78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Decent hotel. I don't think you can expect much quality in accomodations in Aguas Calientes. But this place was clean and well run. Hot water was a little spotty, but did get nice and hot once it got going. It's at the top of the hill next to the hot springs, but the town is so small, it's not a very far walk. I would rate this hotel above average just because its a better bargain than the other ones I looked into - we paid $25US for a matrimonial room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
45.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,913 reviews
45.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,170 reviews
45 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#10 of 85 in Aguas Calientes
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
45 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
278 reviews
45 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Rocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Rocas

Address: Avenida Pachacutec s/n, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £30 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Las Rocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing